Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book...NOW!
Dave Kahle is one of the best writers on selling skills on the country. While there have been enumerable books written on time management, this is the best one I've seen on time management techniques that are of direct and immediate value to someone in sales. Best of all, while most people read books on time management, few ever put the information to work...Dave makes it...
Published on December 5, 2002 by QuoteNotes

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Basic
Talk about stating the obvious! Very lacking in usable content. In short this could have been one chapter not a whole book!
Published 15 months ago by E S Klaff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book...NOW!, December 5, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
Dave Kahle is one of the best writers on selling skills on the country. While there have been enumerable books written on time management, this is the best one I've seen on time management techniques that are of direct and immediate value to someone in sales. Best of all, while most people read books on time management, few ever put the information to work...Dave makes it simple enough that readers are much more likely to implement his suggestions. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, April 10, 2003
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
Dave Kahle adapts many now common time management processes for the specific use of salespeople in the field. His underlying assumption is that it is much more difficult for outside salespeople to apply the usual techniques, since their lives are so filled with uncertainty. Plus salespeople tend to be action-oriented, so they don't commonly want to spend time planning or setting up systems. But, Kahle argues, such organization is critical to success in sales. While Kahle claims that most time management principles and tactics "totally miss the unique challenges of the field salesperson," the material he covers in the book sounds very familiar. It echoes many other books about goal setting, problem solving, decision making and effective selling. We from getAbstract find that while this may be a helpful review of fairly common material in the guise of time management, the information is hardly unique - although its focus on salespeople's needs may give it additional value for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, June 11, 2004
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
Dave Kahle adapts many now common time management processes for the specific use of salespeople in the field. His underlying assumption is that it is much more difficult for outside salespeople to apply the usual techniques, since their lives are so filled with uncertainty. Plus salespeople tend to be action-oriented, so they don't commonly want to spend time planning or setting up systems. But, Kahle argues, such organization is critical to success in sales. While Kahle claims that most time management principles and tactics "totally miss the unique challenges of the field salesperson," the material he covers in the book sounds very familiar. It echoes many other books about goal setting, problem solving, decision making and effective selling. We find that while this may be a helpful review of fairly common material in the guise of time management, the information is hardly unique - although its focus on salespeople's needs may give it additional value for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step By Step To The Top, April 5, 2004
By 
Wayne Perreault (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
This book is a powerful tool. There are many tools out there that profess to help you to set and achieve your goals, however, they lose credibility when it comes to planning and putting the plan into action. This book actually contains executable steps that, when followed, provide the missing link to the execution of your plan. I cannot recommend this book strongly enough. Get it and then get on with it. You will be glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worker Smarter to Accomplish More in Less Time, February 6, 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
I have read many time management books, but never seen one that looked at the issues of applying those concepts to salespeople. Mr. Kahle obviously has been there and done that when it comes to selling, which makes his concepts, recommendations and examples compelling.
If you only read and apply the ninth chapter, you will probably double your effectiveness.
One of the book's strengths is that it could be used by an individual to improve their selling . . . or by a sales manager to help a whole sales team improve.
The basic concept of the book is to spend more time working on what pays off . . . and less on what does not. Makes sense, doesn't it?
But how do you do that? That's where the book has a high payoff. It gives you simple techniques, questions and forms you can use to analyze where your best opportunities are, to plan what to do next on each of them and to get help so that you don't have to do all the elements of the important work. At the same time, he has equally effective materials for how to get rid of what's totally irrelevant.
How do you get the time to make these changes? You start spending 20% of your time planning your work and assessing what you just did. This may increase your workload temporarily in the beginning, but I suspect that within 90 days you will see a big decline in the hours you need to spend.
Many sales people may not want to become as organized as this book suggests. That's all right. You can just ease into this book's suggestions as far as you want, as you are ready to change. Just be sure to keep your copy on hand, so you can make the bigger, more valuable changes when you are ready to do so.
The book is easy to read, entertaining and simple. A good way to begin is to read one chapter a day . . . and begin to apply what you have learned.
As I finished the book, I was reminded of an old belief of mine that the book espouses . . . go after what delivers the most revenue soonest as your first priority. If you don't have time to read this book, keep that concept in mind. It will help you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time's a wasting, March 29, 2004
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
Wow. I have made up the time it took me to read "10 Secrets of Time Management....". This book cuts to the chase and gets you doing what you need to do. I passed mine on to my regional manager and he has read it and passed it on to the next level. I'm already seeing results in my time and the time that is requested of me from the region and corporate people. This is an absolute must read even for long time sales people. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Distributor Sales Reps!, March 26, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
There are many time management books out there, and many about sales time management. But David Kahle's book is specifically helpful to distributor sales reps working a territory in a fast-paced environment. Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely book and a useful tool..., December 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
Time Management has got to be a key issue for salespeople. What a timely book and a useful tool. Well done to Dave Kahle, one of the foremost leaders in sales trends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected - Fully recommend, April 18, 2006
By 
Susan (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
I was a little hesitant about purchasing this book. I feared it would be one more fluffy time management book. But Mr Kahle has clearly walked the salesmans walk which lends great crediblity. I found his point of view and suggestions to be refreshingly candid and hands-on. One of my favorite passages in the book reads:

"You can choose not to do this. You can be like most of the mediocre salespeople in the world. You can allow yourself to become reactive... or you can choose to work far more effetively by implementing the disciplines of thinking about it before you do it, and thinking about it in the right way. It's a free country. It's your choice."

I am very glad I bought the book and will use it as a reference for motivating my team on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a holistic approach to life time management, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople: Gain the Competitive Edge and Make Every Second Count (Paperback)
This is a different way to look at time management then most sales books in that it stresses balance and values. I have used this several times as a read together or book club type exercise with some of my sale reps over the years and it always is a hit.

Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.