Buy Used
$5.49
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind/Watchers on the Hill/Footprints on the Horizon (Pine Ridge Portraits Series 1-3) Hardcover – October 1, 2008


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$8.77 $2.23

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

New Adult Fiction by Rainbow Rowell
Acclaimed author Rainbow Rowell's latest book, Landline, offers a poignant, humorous look at relationships and marriage. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 704 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House (October 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764206524
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764206528
  • Product Dimensions: 2.1 x 6.2 x 9.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,616,176 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

With Secrets on the Wind, Whitson begins Pine Ridge Portraits, another of her romantic series set among the Lakota Sioux. Her arresting opening scenes bring to mind many a traditional western: two soldiers come upon a burned-out farmstead and discover a female lunatic locked in the cellar. After she tries to kill herself, they drag her back to Fort Robinson. She's nursed to health by a kind old woman and at last gives her name as Laina Gray. She has suffered a great deal and distrusts all men. She is also pregnant. Luckily, the soldier who rescued her, widower Nathan Boone, is a patient man. John Mort
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Stephanie Grace Whitson, bestselling author and two-time Christy Award finalist, pursues a full-time writing and speaking career from her home studio in Lincoln, Nebraska.

More About the Author

She writes historical fiction ... and rides a motorcycle. Stephanie Grace Whitson has made a career out of playing with imaginary friends, and it all started in an abandoned pioneer cemetery. This one's graves are scattered on a tiny corner of land near where the Whitson family lived in the 1990's--mostly providing comic relief for the real country folk in the area. That cemetery provided not only a hands-on history lesson for Stephanie's home schooled children but also a topic of personal study as she began to read about and be encouraged by the pioneer women who settled the American West. Since writing had always been a favorite hobby, it was only natural for Stephanie to begin jotting down scenes in the life of a nameless woman crossing Nebraska on the Oregon Trail. Eventually that story took on a life of its own and Stephanie sent off a query letter--expecting instant rejection.

God had a different plan. He blessed Stephanie's beginnings, putting two of her three first books on the ECPA best-seller list and making two of her first nine books finalists for the Christy Award. With the spring 2012 release of The Key on the Quilt (Barbour Publishing), she will have over twenty novels and two non-fiction books to her credit. Along with antique quilts and pioneer women's history, French, Italian, and Hawaiian language and culture remain passionate interests. In May of 2012, she earned her Master of Arts degree in historical studies.

"The flip side of writing," Stephanie says, "is being asked to teach writing and/or speak at various church and community events." She has developed a menu of lectures and workshops that "provide opportunities for me to travel and get to know not only other writers and history lovers, but also students and quilters. I love sequestering myself in a library to do research, but the
speaking part of my career has provided some unique and wonderful memories."

And then there's Kitty, the Honda Magna. "In some ways I'm 60," she says, "in others I'm probably about 26. It all depends on the day." On days when her virtual age leans toward the younger side of that equation, she's been known to wake up in the morning and decide to ride Kitty to Canada that day. And then she comes home and descends to "the catacombs" (the basement office in her Victorian-era house) and heads back into the past to play with more imaginary friends.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 7 customer reviews
"This was a great book with three wonderful stories in one.
Scooby2
He has a temper and some habits that make you want to alternately shake him and hug him.
Bonnie McKinzie
Like her other books, this is another wonderful story from Stephanie Grace Whitson!
L. Nichols

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful By L. Nichols on October 16, 2003
Format: Paperback
Like her other books, this is another wonderful story from Stephanie Grace Whitson! She isn't afraid to break out of the Christian historical fiction format, and do something different. This story makes you really get into the characters, and you are sorry when it is over, despite the fact that the ending is great! It also has a great theme about getting over grief and fear. I'm already looking forward to the next book in this wonderful series!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By E. J. Whyte on January 6, 2004
Format: Paperback
Capturing a slice of history set in an outback U.S military post, the first book in the Pine Ridge Portraits series tells the story of three very different people who all want to make a new start in their lives. Saved from certain death, Laina struggles to overcome her hideous past and all the nightmares that resulted, with the gentle wisdom and support of Granny Max. Still reeling from the death of his wife two years earlier, Sergeant Nathan Boone endeavours to help Laina regain her footing, all the while unsure of how to move forward with his own life. And then someone who figured in both Laina and Nathan's past re-emerges with a new identity...
Stephanie Grace Whitson tells a story of hope and redemptive grace in the midst of 1870's Nebraska, bringing to life characters with heartache and determination. SECRETS ON THE WIND sets the pace for a gripping new series by this award-winning author. Recommended for fans of Janette Oke, Stephen Bly, Al and Joanna Lacy, Alan Morris and Gilbert Morris. ~~Ellie Schroder, owner of The Christian Fiction Site
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Bonnie McKinzie on September 13, 2004
Format: Paperback
Stephanie Grace Whitson has done it again with this one! Indians play a part, the Army an even larger part-- as well as various and sundry "orphans and abused victims" all of which sway the reader one way or the other.

She portrays Laina in a positive light in spite of her infamous and horrible past. Boone is a leader in the Army who just cannot move on past the death of his wife 2 years earlier. The reader gets geared for a relationship that keeps you guessing, wondering and finally letting out a big sigh of surprise. Everyone's hero is Granny Max, her faith,healing touch and counsel and patience never waver. Tears will spill over Granny in this book, trust me.

Another "little lamb" who is running is Jackson, a young soldier with a past. He has a temper and some habits that make you want to alternately shake him and hug him. Good job, Stephanie!

When Laina feels she has done it all, borne it all and is finally is on her way to recovery from her dugout ordeal and her earlier past, she finds out she is NOT disconnected yet, and will be asked to bear the ultimate humiliation. Can she-- in this small, close-knit community? She has a plan. Is it God's plan, though?

Whitson definitely has another winning series and I am out the door to purchase book number 2, thanks again Steph, for your courage and determination to keep love, history, Indians and Christ all woven throughout this book and most likely the rest of the series if I know you!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Shellie on May 2, 2007
Format: Paperback
I really liked this book. It only took me about 5 days to read it (and that was with my time being limited by life being busy!!) I liked how it started, it caught my attention. I liked the end too, a little surprising. I thought the characters were realistic and interesting. I love this time period too, historical fiction is always fun! I think the book was easy to read and very enjoyable. If you like this book you would probably also like Treasures of the North by Tracie Peterson (also about the gold rush - but only in Canada).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?