Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A profoundly influential work written by a world-class security expert
For the typical busy security professional, reading a 900-page tome cover to cover represents an investment of time that may be difficult to justify. Frankly, security books that are worth the effort are few and far between. Security Engineering is one such book, for several reasons.

First, Ross Anderson's vast knowledge, experience and insight on the subject...
Published on November 17, 2008 by Jacob Gajek

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Explanation of one-time pads is ... sorry ... WRONG.
I read on page 133 that "the price of the perfect secrecy of the one-time pad is that it fails completely to protect message integrity." Actually, the lack of message integrity shown in the author's example is solely a construction of his naive implementation.

Although a character-wise or bit-wise application of an OTP appears in common explanations today, it's...
Published 12 months ago by Marc W. Abel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A profoundly influential work written by a world-class security expert, November 17, 2008
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
For the typical busy security professional, reading a 900-page tome cover to cover represents an investment of time that may be difficult to justify. Frankly, security books that are worth the effort are few and far between. Security Engineering is one such book, for several reasons.

First, Ross Anderson's vast knowledge, experience and insight on the subject are well known, and his reputation as one of the top security experts in the world is well deserved. No doubt a reflection of this, his book covers a very broad range of security topics, the discussions ranging from high-level policy issues, all the way down to details of smartcard hacking and the mathematics of cryptography. The topics are well researched and described at a level of detail useful to the non-specialist. Concise summaries and occasional nuggets of insight indicate an in-depth understanding of the subject matter. The book is well written, easy to follow, and devoid of the vagueness and platitudes so typical of much of the security literature.

Second, the book exposes the sheer difficulty of engineering secure systems in the face of the many forces at play in a typical product development lifecycle. Through many case studies of success and failure, the author illustrates the numerous pitfalls that may befall even a well-intentioned design. Lessons learned from deploying products in the real world include the negative impact of perverse economic incentives, the importance of designing security features for maximum usability, and the need to look at a security problem from many different angles in a holistic manner. The book is a treasure trove of wisdom for the aspiring security engineer.

Lastly, the book brings together insight from many diverse areas of research. Disciplines ranging from economics, psychology, sociology, criminology, banking and bookkeeping, safety research, electronic warfare, to politics are all mined for ideas and results that could yield a better understanding of - and novel approaches to - difficult security problems. It is perhaps in this aspect that the book will prove to be most influential. Since the first edition was published in 2001, security economics, security usability, and security psychology have emerged as fertile areas of research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, readable, current, January 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Certainly a top 5 in its space. Especially notable for its broad coverage and excellent references to other more detailed material. This is a very worthwhile update from the first edition (which is freely available from the author's web site as a PDF).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, May 4, 2012
By 
Witek Radomski "freakmod" (Prince George, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
I've had this book on my shelf for a while because the beginning of the book kept losing me, but after getting through the first couple of chapters it starts getting very interesting and I found it to be extremely mind opening. Loved all the various topics ranging from Cryptography to "Nuclear Command and Control" (yeah) to cheating in online video games. Examining these many different genres of security helps you think about security from more angles. An essential book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid security book, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
Houses several of the most concepts in a readily accessible fashion. Outside of the CISSP book this one I a solid second to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Textbook Purchase Review, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
I have just started a course in Security Engineering with the recommended Security Engineering Textbook which I am reviewing. I found the text simple to understand, full of examples that illustrate concepts and I think I enjoy using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Info, February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
A superb guide to the vast field of security in our technology. Excellent writing style & very informative. Definitely recommend this book if you are into computers and/or security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Security Book, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
This has got to be, hands down, one of the best security books that I have ever read. I ended up in a class where this was the text and groaned when I saw how thick it was, but it really doesn't read that way. It's full from cover to cover of great examples, including everything from infosec to physsec. It's definitely written to be a textbook, but is completely readable and will leave you with a much better understanding of how security engineering works. Awesome read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource, October 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
This book has been the definitive guide for my embedded and distributed cryptosystems projects thus far. The writing is good--easy and fun to read. The content is incredible, and Bruce Schneier's approval doesn't hurt. I don't think I've ever learned as much in as few pages before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book covers many topics thoroughly, March 12, 2014
By 
D. Behrman (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
It goes very deep into the heart of security with many technical examples and real world security issues that companies have faced in the past as well as how they were resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am satisfy with the way i was treated especially with the online support and i am enjoying the reading, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems (Hardcover)
I am satisfy with the way i was treated especially with the online support and i am enjoying the reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Security Engineering: A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems
$80.00 $63.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.