Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2011
There are three main reasons why I consider this to be better than the average true crime book. First, the author writes skillfully--there are no awkward passages or unnecessary padding. Second, there is a good balance between background, details of the case, and description of the trial. (Too often true crime writers linger over the gruesome aspects of the case, such as the crime scene and autopsy reports, and divulge irrelevant information about the principle characters, and either skip over the trial itself or offer pages and pages of redundant testimony). And third, the author takes a neutral attitude toward law enforcement--the investigators' mistakes aren't glossed over, but at the same time the author doesn't indulge in hagiographic treatment of the police.

This is a fairly straighforward, chronological account of an interesting case set in Alaska and the two trials that resulted.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I saw this murder on 48 Hours Mystery and decided to read this account of it. Good read, very well written and a compelling story line. A twist at the end is always a plus. Did she do it? Me thinks yep. True crime readers will enjoy this one
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2011
I watched a program about this case, and found it to be very interesting, and was anxious to read more about this case. I think Mechele Linehan is truly evil, and had it not been for her, Kent Leppink would be alive today. This is a fast and interesting read.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
Unfortunately for author Fleeman - a name I might consider seeking to amend in the courts- I live in Alaska and was here when the Leppink trial took place. This reads like someone jotting down the recollections of a 3rd party who is entirely unfamiliar with the area or the case. An unconscious Kitty Kelly would have done a better job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
This book is a true crime book based on the story about a stripper in Alaska by the name of Mechele Hughes Linehan who had known how to captive men and 3 men thought they were engaged to her. Then one spring morning in 1996 one of the men Kent Leppink was found in the snow shot in the head.
Days before his death he had removed Mechele's name from his million dollar life insurance. He had also written a letter to his family stating that and should he meet foul play Mechele would likely be involved. This book was absolutely a page turning true crime book. If you enjoy reading True Crime books then this book is for you. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
This book is an interesting read: I know I'm in the minority -- but I feel that the state of Alaska has not proven guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Michele may be manipulative, when it comes to men. Nonetheless, there is a wide chasm between using sexual attractiveness to gain advantage, and cold-blooded murder. I wish I knew how to get more, updated information, on this case. At any rate, I know I'm in the minority here! My view -- not enough evidence to convict.

When, reading this book, I can't help but to look at these sorry males [the clients & suitors of Michele] as utterly confused. Many words come to mind:
Desperately Lonesome
Financially Reckless
Just Plain Sorrowful

Mechele Hughes-Linehan
Freed on: August 8, 2012
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Seduced by Evil: The True Story of a Gorgeous Stripper-Turned-Suburban-Mom, Her Secret Past, and a Ruthless Murder
Mechelle Hughes was a mom and respectable member of her community otherwise known Bobby Jo , a very attractive former stripper masterminded the murder of her fiance, Kent Leppink with the assistance of John Carlin IV, her lover who was an ex-marine and steelworker. As a stripper ,men showered her with money and presents."Like all the dancers, Mechele had to reveal just enough of herself so the men would shower her with money and valuables , but hold back enough so they would come back for more."
Mechelle wanted money and had no misgivings about how to get it-Kent's, $ 1 million insurance policy was modified after his murder to make her and John the beneficiaries of his estate. While John's passion for her meant he would do anything to have her.
This is the story of a love triangle that ended tragically with murder.It was a cold case
which was solved after ten years ,thanks to the latest advances in forensic software technology.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
I could tell this was a very tough case to write about, and I commend the author because true crime stories like this one can be hard to make sense of with these confusing events. The author tried so hard to make this story intriguing and mysterious to keep the readers interested but the crime itself was all over the place that I just lost interest in the plot. It is pretty clear that Mechele Linehand used all these men to get whatever she wanted at the moment. It is unclear why considering she was stripping and supposedly making a lot of cash but I’m convinced that she has some psychological issues that needs addressing. After hearing that she was let out of jail on a technicality I couldn’t help but think of the double standard in America’s justice system for pretty women.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2011
Knowing absolutely nothing about this case when I purchased Mr. Fleeman's book I found that one read through is not enough. I like that because most of these true crime books are just predictable with nothing interesting at all other than the normal fleeting emotions of the lovesick. I have many started and unfinished 'True Crime' books simply because they offer me very little in entertainment. I'm still having problems understanding parts of the caper that produced 2 murder convictions with parts of the crime unsolved-even as the second trial of Mechele approaches. I admire Mr. Fleeman's neutral attitude that I must admit is difficult. I have known women like Mechele and their sociopathic love of themselves and they are consistent in a lot of ways. The most glaring thing they have in common is of course blatant stupidity. In the mold of Scott Peterson this whole caper had very little chance of ever being the big "payoff" Mechele was looking for. Insurance company's are not of the habit of paying out a million dollars in such bizarre circumstances. The sociopaths common ability to never learn from mistakes and gamble on scenarios being produced by their own warped view of others has never been so clear. I understand that Mr Fleeman needed some candy coating for this story however the definition of Mechele as "Gorgeous with a killer body" hardly describes a flat chested short big hip young women. No doubt that Mechele is pretty however this may be explained by the location and how men outnumber the women-in other words gorgeous by Alaska standards.
Although Mechele is stone cold guilty, as Mr. Fleeman never suggest one way or the other, her second trial-in Jan 2012-will more that likely lead to her acquittal. TT was a weirdo and a buffoon no doubt with lots of similar emotionally channeled persona's around him and that leads me to think that Mechele's time has been served. Again, a very well written book about a bizarre crime involving some incredible examples of human stupidity.

Patrick
1212 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
I have just started reading this book. So, far it has been an interesting book. I can't seem to put it down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse