Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging Regency romantic suspense
Daphne Beaumont has always been there for her family as she loves them. When her brother inherits a title and estate in Cornwall, she expects a rise in their standard of living. She hopes the new affluence will enable her to find happiness.

Charles Weston has come to Cornwall looking for closure; he wants to know more about the death of his odious younger...
Published on July 3, 2008 by Harriet Klausner

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Didn't "Become" This Reader
Mildly entertaining read--would have been way better without the stereotypical sex scenes and the forced attraction between the hero and heroine. The mystery was what I ended up reading it for, just to tie up the loose ends. I liked the supporting characters way better than the main ones since they weren't forced into the expected models of current romantic interests...
Published on February 23, 2009 by YankeeChick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging Regency romantic suspense, July 3, 2008
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
Daphne Beaumont has always been there for her family as she loves them. When her brother inherits a title and estate in Cornwall, she expects a rise in their standard of living. She hopes the new affluence will enable her to find happiness.

Charles Weston has come to Cornwall looking for closure; he wants to know more about the death of his odious younger half-brother Raoul. When he and Daphne are trapped inside a cave by an avalanche, he knows they must marry to avoid a scandal. Daphne is attracted to Charles, but has doubts about marrying him as she just wants time to take care of herself following years of family responsibility. However, someone else has caused problems for Charles and Daphne that makes a scandal seem like a Hyde Park picnic; he assumes his sibling the "Monster" who allegedly died two years ago somehow survived his lethal wounds and still lives.

SEDUCTION BECOMES HER is an engaging historical romance starring two likable protagonists who fall in love, but the potential scandal, their family histories, and an unknown villain make it seem that they will never be together. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Charles, obsessing with a need to know, arrives in Cornwall; the locale adds freshness to this fine Regency romantic suspense that fans will want to read Shirlee Busbee's fine tale of love and danger.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seduction Becomes Her, February 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
Charles Weston, troubled by events from his past, came to Cornwall looking for answers. The last thing he expected on his quest was to encounter Daphne Beaumont. Caught in an unavoidable compromising position, Charles knew he had to do the honorable thing and marry the beauty he encountered on the beach.

Daphne, the guardian of her two youngest siblings, has always had the worry of protecting her family and looking after them financially. When her brother is named heir to relative's estate in Cornwall, Daphne felt the burden was finally being lifted from her and she could live her life for herself, but then Charles happened along.

Daphne and Charles soon discover that society scandals are the least of their worries when demonic secrets from their past threaten to destroy them.

Seduction Becomes Her is the follow-up to Scandal Becomes Her and a very intense follow-up at that. It's been more than two years since his brother's death and Charles is still disturbed by the evil his brother was capable of and is having a hard time dealing with it. I really liked that Julian and Nell had a presence in the sequel and seeing where their life was after the last book ended was really nice. Charles and Daphne's love developed over time and the pace of it fit well with their characters personality. As with the prequel Seduction Becomes Her is filled with suspense, and Daphne brings to it a paranormal aspect. Seduction Becomes Her is a very fascinating story, but to fully enjoy it I suggest reading the prequel first. Readers looking for more than just a historical romance will enjoy Seduction Becomes Her.

Ley
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great!, October 13, 2008
By 
Camille E. Davis "Camille's books" (Beaumont, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
To get the full effect of this book, read "Scandal Becomes Her" first as it's the first book in the series. Both of these books are fabulous! Full of a real love story, action, mystery, and ghosts(wasn't too over the top here). You won't be able to put this book down. I can't wait for the next installment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seduction become her!, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Shirlee Busbee work! Seduction become her, is the second book i had read from her. So far she haven't disappoint me, I'm looking forward to read more of her work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average romance book!, September 9, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
This is only the second book of Shirlee Busee's that I have read with the first one being "Scandal Becomes Her", but it certainly won't be the last!!! These two books are packed full of excitement! The love stories are great, but with the addition of the serial killer in both books and ghosts in the second one, there isn't a moment of dullness anywhere in either book! I can't wait to read the next one that is hopefully about Marcus. Now I'm going back and read all of her other books and hope they will be equally as good as these two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grab it - but don't give up on it too soon., October 4, 2011
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Shirlee Busbee - but it won't be the last. She threw so much into this story that it was impossible not to like it. There's romance, seduction, ghosts, murders, and so much more! I was shocked that she got it all into one book - it almost reminded me of 'The perfect County & Western song'.

That being said, it was really difficult to get into the first several chapters. The prologue stuff, recounting the previous book, and the inheritance bits were quite, well, boring to me. It could have been a mood. but honestly I was a quarter of the way through the book before I started to enjoy it. However, I know without a doubt that it's a comfortable book I'll read again & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Didn't "Become" This Reader, February 23, 2009
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
Mildly entertaining read--would have been way better without the stereotypical sex scenes and the forced attraction between the hero and heroine. The mystery was what I ended up reading it for, just to tie up the loose ends. I liked the supporting characters way better than the main ones since they weren't forced into the expected models of current romantic interests like the leads were. The ending was very silly but at least it was kind of fun. There were way too many predictable bits and the bad guy being named Raoul was too silly for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Otherworldly Romance, July 30, 2008
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
This book is a follow up to Ms. Busbee's delightful, "Scandal Becomes Her". Ms. Busbee tells an entertaining tale which mixes elements of romance, horror, and suspense. The main characters, Charles, an aging rogue, and Daphne, an "on the shelf" older sister/guardian, are compelled to marry when they are caught in a landslide and trapped together overnight. Charles and Daphne's affection and eventual love for one and other is carefully developed over the course of the book and thus is satisfactorily believable.

As Charles and Daphne's relationship develops they discover that each has threatening secrets in their past. Hers are of an otherworldly sort and his of a more earthly, but no less frightening, nature.

The book moves along nicely and is a highly entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one Ever!, July 25, 2008
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
I really loved this book. It kept my interest all the way through. I passed it on to my mom and she can't put it down either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAGE TURNER YOU WILL NOT PUT DOWN, August 11, 2008
This review is from: Seduction Becomes Her (Paperback)
This book was absolutely different from most Regency romance that I have read. It offers romance, mystery, ghosts and a murderous madman. I highly recommend, but advise you to read Scandal Becomes Her first, since characters are in that book and will help you understand the hero better and other characters that appear again in this book. I really loved this story and the one before. I look forward to her next book, hopefully it will be Marcus' story. Great read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seduction Becomes Her
Seduction Becomes Her by Shirlee Busbee (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 2010)
$6.99 $6.29
Usually ships in 9 to 13 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.