Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $25.99
  • Save: $6.27 (24%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book has already been loved by someone else. It MIGHT have some wear and tear on the edges, have some markings in it, or be an ex-library book. Over-all it is still a good book at a great price! (if it is supposed to contain a CD or access code, that may be missing)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy) Hardcover – November 9, 2010


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, November 9, 2010
$19.72
$1.94 $0.01

A Court of Thorns and Roses
"A Court of Thorns and Roses"
Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! Learn more | See more from Sarah J. Maas
$19.72 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy) + Earthseed (Seed Trilogy) + Farseed (Seed Trilogy)
Price for all three: $37.69

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Returning to the world of Home, which humans colonized in 1983's Earthseed and where they split into two cultures in 2007's Farseed, Sargent continues exploring the nature of violence and rivalry. The farmers along the great lake and river lead low-tech lives, while the dome dwellers try to maintain the remaining bits of imported technology. Then the sentient Ship that planted the colony returns, triggering fear and suspicion. As the few mature dome dwellers try to repair their radio and keep their uncaring youngsters from rebelling, teens Bian and Arnagh make the journey north from the river to find out whether the dome dwellers have betrayed their agrarian brethren. With prose as spare as the unadorned clothes and tools of her characters, Sargent digs down to the raw emotional roots below the contentment of a materially satisfied life. (Nov.) (c)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

Sargent’s young adult novel Earthseed (1983), featuring a group of teens raised inside a massive sentient starship called Ship, received widespread critical acclaim, but not until 2007 did Sargent produce a sequel, Farseed, about a society of primitive-leaning explorers who detach themselves from the original, more technology-dependent settlers populating the planet, Home, that Ship civilized. Now the story continues with two teenage girls, Bian, from the primitive settlements, and Safrah, from the decaying domed villages. When a light appears in the sky one evening, everyone on Home suspects that Ship has returned. For Safrah this arouses fear, since the radio Ship once used to send news is broken, and other settlements will think her village is concealing information. For Bian, it arouses curiosity and entangles her in a looming showdown between the villages. Sargent makes a valiant effort tying together some loose ends in Ship’s saga, but overall the storytelling here is dull and will only appeal to readers nostalgic for the series’ far superior first installment. --Carl Hays
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 77%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Seed Trilogy (Book 3)
  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; First Edition edition (November 9, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765314282
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765314284
  • Product Dimensions: 5.8 x 1.1 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,482,896 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Steven Brandt @ Audiobook-Heaven on October 22, 2013
Format: Audio CD
A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away the inhabitants of a planet called Earth built a sentient starship to carry their progeny to the stars. Ship's purpose was to find inhabitable planets and seed them with humans in order to ensure the survival of the species. Ship did indeed find a suitable planet. It deposited a colony of humans on a planet they named Home and carried on with its mission, promising to return one day to check on the colony's progress. And so several hundred years, and many generations, passed.

On the planet Home, the humans soon split into two groups. The first group stayed inside the habitat dome, remaining cut off from all outside influences, so that humanity would remain in its original "pure" condition. The second group moved out of the dome, breathing the native air, eating the native food, drinking the native water, becoming one with their new home. Over the years, the two groups butted heads on more than one occasion and even came to the brink of all out war at least once. It seems that people just can't get along, no matter what planet they live on.

Now a new star has suddenly appeared in the sky; a bright, unmoving star. Both groups have seen the star and both know that it could signify the long-awaited return of Ship. But this presents several problems. The radio in the habitat dome was recently destroyed by an unknown person for unknown reasons so it is impossible to send or receive any potential messages from Ship. Those who live outside the dome assume that the "inside" group are already in contact with Ship and may be plotting against them. Both groups fear that Ship will see how they have failed to live in harmony and will destroy them all and try again with a new group of humans.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on November 11, 2010
Format: Hardcover
The sentient space traveling vessel Ship plants the human seeds on many worlds. Before disembarking, Ship always promises to return to judge humanity. On the planet Home, Ship left behind humanity (see Earthseed), but after he left the species divided into two branches (see Farseed). Inside of the dome left behind by Ship lives the Dome Dwellers who believe they only abide to the creator's admonition of being "true humanity" while waiting for the second coming. Those who left the dome to live off the land near the great river as farmers and hunters are technologically low. These River People believe Ship's vision for mankind is to live in harmony on Home. Each side believes strongly the other side is "contaminated".

The River People see the strange light in the sky they assume means Ship has returned for Judgment Day. Inside the dome, excitement and fear is high that Ship has come back to see how humanity has fared. However, the dome radio operators find their communication devices fail to make contact with Ship. The River Dwellers are concerned that the Dome Dwellers have sold them out as impure. Teenagers Bian and Arnagh begin a journey to the dome to learn what is going on.

With obvious religious implications of a second coming judgment day in which each side of humanity expects Ship to choose their way of life over the other as Pamela Sargent provides a deep science fiction story in which she lucidly makes the case that materialism (Dwellers) without purpose is futile. The reactions to the anticipated return is fascinating since the Dome Dwellers insist they are "true" yet fear Judgment while the River People fear the Dome Dwellers have left them to be condemned. Although the characters are somewhat interchangeable except for the teens, readers will enjoy this philosophical look at two cultures in which regardless of what Ship rules life will never be the same as the creator has returned.

Harriet Klausner
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Seed Seeker by Pamela Sargent

Seed Seeker is Pamela Sargent's third book in the Seed Series.The first two set the tone for the series and this one follows through with the same tone capping off the series that is more character driven than innovative.

In the first book the Ship which is both a generation ship and sentient AI, has raised generations of humans with the goal to deliver them to their new home where she would seed the new world. She was doing so in the belief that she was completing the work of some of the finest minds Earth had to offer. Saving mankind by preparing the generations to survive on a potential new and wild world.[The sentience of the ship seems to be minimized throughout the series though the main thread of the moral dilemma is tied to its sentience.]

The story starts with a generation that has some conflicts amongst its members and as they come close to reaching their destination they discover that the ship has had a previous generation in suspension because the first world she stopped at was not suitable. The waking of that generation causes more conflict and sets the stage for strife in the near future when they are all dropped upon the new world. At the same time Ship discovers that the original group that set her on her mission may have been the missfits of Earth rather than the great minds she'd been programed to believe.

In the second book the colony of three disparate groups attempt to survive while ship goes on with her mission to create more generations and continue to seed the universe. The story begins with a few of the original colonist still arround, but centers on the next generation. A generation that might contain some who have some dramatic adaptations to the new world.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy)
This item: Seed Seeker (Seed Trilogy)
Price: $19.72
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?