Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whata gift for grandkids
I have tried it once on a young grandchild and his parents, with immediate success. It is an artful book that has the feature of allowing the reader (or the parent) to project the constellations using the flashlight and the cards that come with the book. There is mythology and entertainment at the same time. There may be more of these in some Christmas stockings this...
Published on November 1, 2001 by JOS

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Purchase
The cards and book that come with this are nice, but the credit card-sized flashlight is so flimsy and breaks so easily that it's not worth the money. My 7-year-old daughter recently purchased this book with her own money at a national park book store. The flashlight immediately broke, so she exchanged it for a second one. It didn't work either, but we didn't discover...
Published on June 19, 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whata gift for grandkids, November 1, 2001
By 
JOS "J.M. O'Shea" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
I have tried it once on a young grandchild and his parents, with immediate success. It is an artful book that has the feature of allowing the reader (or the parent) to project the constellations using the flashlight and the cards that come with the book. There is mythology and entertainment at the same time. There may be more of these in some Christmas stockings this year. Besides, you come away with a cool flashlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Gift Book!, April 6, 2002
By 
John (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book, because it expands the notions of what a book can be, making it more fun and interactive. The storybook recounting the myth of the Andromeda constellation is enhanced by interactive cards and a flashlight that allow a kid to project the constellations on the wall of ceiling or a dark room. This makes it really accessible and entertaining. Very innovative.
A great gift book! I gave one to a six-year old friend and she loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars defective flashlight?, December 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
if you call Chronicle Books, the publisher, they will be happy to replace the flashlight for you. the customer service number is 1/800/722/6657.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, May 31, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
Wonderfully creative presentation. I love this book. It's great gift book for kids and adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Purchase, June 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
The cards and book that come with this are nice, but the credit card-sized flashlight is so flimsy and breaks so easily that it's not worth the money. My 7-year-old daughter recently purchased this book with her own money at a national park book store. The flashlight immediately broke, so she exchanged it for a second one. It didn't work either, but we didn't discover this 'til we'd already left the park and couldn't return it. My daughter was extremely disappointed and wished she purchased a different book with her hard-earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction to the Constellations!, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky (Paperback)
We adore looking at these every night before bed. Using this in conjunction with Google Sky has made stargazing more fun for my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky
Seeing Stars: An Introduction to the Night Sky by Charles Hobson (Paperback - August 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.