Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Seeking Justice (Blu-ray + DVD)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2012
"I represent an organization that deals with people like the man who raped your wife and we would very much like to take care of him for you." On her way home one night Laura (Jones) is violently attacked and raped. While visiting her in the hospital her husband Will (Cage) is approached by a stranger who has an offer for him. Will agrees but soon regrets his decision as it begins to take a serious toll on his and Laura's life. I don't think it comes as a surprise to anyone anymore that I am not a Nicholas Cage fan at all. I have liked a handful of the movies he has been in but not because of him. This is a movie I can add to that list. Cage is a little over the top in a few scenes, but overall this is a very entertaining movie that I really liked. I tend to like the vigilante type movies and this has that aspect to it. The cast is really good in this (Cage was...Cage) and it kept you guessing and entertained the whole time. Overall, for a non-Cage fan this is one that I would recommend. I liked it. I give it a B+.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
Shot in New Orleans, SEEKING JUSTICE is an entertaining action-thriller that evokes memories of THREE DAYS OF THE CONDOR and other classic films of that conspiracy genre.

Nicolas Cage, in an unusually well moderated, low-key performance, plays a happily married high school teacher whose wife (January Jones) becomes the victim of a brutal rape. While waiting in the hospital, he is approached by a concerned stranger (Guy Pearce) who offers to get justice for his wife in exchange for a favor, sometime in the future. Distraught, Cage agrees to the vigilante course of action and, within hours, word comes that the rapist has "committed suicide".

Six months later, Jones has recovered from her physical injuries, yet is still on edge from her horrific experience, when Cage is summoned by Pearce to return the "favor" by killing an alleged child pornographer. And, if he doesn't do it, there will be dire consequences.

There are a few surprising plot twists in this fast-moving film, which is actually a lot better than I expected. True, there are moments where your believability quotient may be slightly strained, but with these kinds of movies, you either go along with them or you don't, and in the case of this Roger Donaldson-directed thriller, the tendency is to just enjoy the ride.

The DVD from Anchor Bay Entertainment contains a "Behind the Scenes" featurette.

© Michael B. Druxman
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 8, 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
You gotta hand it to Nick Cage...he constantly gets himself into movies that knock him down that he has to redeem himself for (or should I say Seek Justice for?). However, he actually does a fine job of finding a role every now and then that picks him right back up. The last really redeeming movie that Nick was in was certainly Kick-Ass. While Seeking Justice is no Kick-Ass, in my opinion Seeking Justice was a severely underrated movie that entertained me from start to finish.

And Nick has an excellent supporting cast of recognizable actors that help make Seeking Justice an above average hour and 45 minutes of well spent time. Nick plays a dude whose wife (played by Mad Men's January Jones) is assaulted by a thug. Guy Pierce runs an underground (is there another kind?) vigilante service and offers Nick some "free help" to settle the score. But of course nothing is really free, and Nick finds himself in hot water with the vigilante when the vigilante comes knocking for a return favor that Nick isn't very favorable to.

The storyline seemed very familiar, and the movie was a bit predictable. And in the last half hour of the movie, Nick's mild mannered character seems to develop a lot skills that someone like the character he plays would never have. But still, I found myself enjoying the movie enough to suggest that any fan of a good action thriller should put this in their queue for a viewing.

3 ½ stars. Check it out.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
I'm a Nick Cage fan and have been disappointedly watching his films slide into "B" status for years. I sighed with relief while I watched Seeking Justice, as I found it quite a bit above a "B" movie. While it is unmemorable when measured against Con Air, Matchstick Men, Adaptation, City of Angels, The Family Man, and, of course, Moonstruck, it is highly watchable and has just enough thriller to justify its signified genre. Guy Pearce is a very nice bad guy and January Jones is adorable as the action heroine/damsel in distress. Seeking Justice has a decent script with a few twists, chase sequences, plot variations, and, for us Nicholas Cage fans, this one gets 4 stars just because it doesn't suck.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 11, 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Will Gerard (Nicholas Cage) is a naïve English teacher at Rampart High in inner-city New Orleans. His beautiful wife Laura (January Jones), a musician at Mahalia Jackson Theatre, is brutally raped. At the hospital, Simon Adams (Guy Pearce) tells Will that he represents a vigilante justice group that promises to kill the rapist provided that he does them a favor. A stressed Will agrees and the rapist is shot dead. However, six months later, Will's life becomes a living nightmare when Simon demands that he push a child pornographer, Alan Marsh, from a bridge.

"Seeking Justice" asks the question: How far will you go to obtain justice when a loved one is violated?" There have been numerous films depicting the actions of a lone vigilante; they range from the classic "Death Wish" (Death Wish) to the more current release "The Brave One" (The Brave One [Blu-ray]). I enjoy vigilante films because our judicial system is designed to protect the criminal. Ask Sondra Lock's character, Jennifer Spencer, in "Sudden Impact" (Dirty Harry: Ultimate Collector's Edition (Dirty Harry / Magnum Force / The Enforcer / Sudden Impact / The Dead Pool) [Blu-ray]). However, Will Gerard becomes entangled in a vigilante group that tries to turn him into a murderer, which he is not. This theme was also explored in "Point of No Return" (Point of No Return [Blu-ray]) when Bridget Fonda's street-wise character, Maggie Hayward, is sent to a secret, government-operated school to be trained as a seductive assassin. Her training eventually failed because deep within her heart she was not a murderer.

Will refuses to become a part of Simon's vigilante organization. (This theme was also explored in "The Star Chamber" (The Star Chamber), starring Michael Douglas; he portrays Superior Court Judge Steven R. Hardin whose conscience won't allow him to belong to an organization that sanctions the assassinations of criminals who've escaped the justice system.) It is obvious that Simon experienced a tragedy that left a loved one seriously injured or dead; perhaps he feels that the justice system betrayed him. His reaction was vastly different from Will's. Will and Simon exist in all of us as spiritual entities that constantly battle, forcing us to choose between good and evil.

"Seeking Justice" is a slick, psychological thriller in which Will Gerard finds himself trapped in a twisted, endless game of cat and mouse. (I could feel the tension coming off of Will in waves; Nicholas Cage and the other lead actors gave excellent performances.) Some of the police officers of the NOPD belong to Simon's vigilante organization. Will doesn't know who he can trust as he is chased throughout New Orleans--a chase that ends in a bloody showdown at an abandoned mall near the superdome. The ending is a creepy one that made me shiver with fear. This film is perfect for conspiracy theorists. Will reminded me of poor Rosemary Woodhouse in "Rosemary's Baby" (Rosemary's Baby) when she discovers that everyone around her is a witch.

Anchor Bay's DVD release of "Seeking Justice" is a mix bag. The film is shown in its theatrical aspect ratio of 2.35:1 with Spanish subtitles and English Subtitles for the Deaf and Hearing Impaired (SDH). As far as extras are concerned, there are a short feature, "Seeking Justice: Behind the Scenes" (approximately seven minutes) and a trailer. There is the absence of audio commentary, deleted scenes, outtakes, etc. The "Seeking Justice: Behind the Scenes" has some interesting interviews with the director and lead actors. However, I was disappointed that there were no in-depth discussions concerning the shooting locales and the spectacular stunts.

Fans of Nicholas Cage, vigilante justice films and action thrillers will want to watch "Seeking Justice." If you enjoyed this film, you may want to watch some of the others I referenced above. A lesser known gem is "The Ladies Club" (Ladies Club,the [VHS]). A group of vigilante women, led by a female doctor, obtain vengeance against their rapists through abduction and castration. I'm surprised Anchor Bay hasn't released this 1986 classic on DVD. Those with strong stomachs may want to watch the 1978 classic shocker, "I Spit on Your Grave" (I Spit on Your Grave [Blu-ray]) starring Camille Keaton, and its 2010 remake (I Spit on Your Grave [Blu-ray]). In both films, a young woman systematically kills the men who viciously gang raped her.

Joseph B. Hoyos
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2012
Any Nick Cage movie is expected to be good. At least by me. But his latest string of 'not so wonderful' movies has left me wondering what his strategy is. I have followed this man from a punk rocker on a date, to 'The Rock'. He's a superb actor, in my opinion, yet wasted talent in the recent past. Seeking Justice, I will admit was your everyday, run of the mill, predictable adventure. Yet, I liked it. It held my attention, which is what I seek in a 'good' movie. It probably couldn't have been pulled off using the same script, with different actors. The movie isn't 'The Rock', but it keeps you entertained for the duration. Grab some popcorn and a coke....enjoy the ride.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 11, 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Seeking Justice turned out to be a better film than I had anticipated. The plot, while being quite familiar for an action movie, has some unexpected psychological twists and turns that grabbed my attention early on. The action is fast-moving and the story line remains interesting and intriguing throughout. It's a really decent "What Would You Do?" movie. The acting is good. If you are a fan of Nicholas Cage, you'll love the film. But even if you're not, the film itself will engage you and possibly surprise you. January Jones does a great job in her role, and Guy Pierce is quite believable as Simon. Definitely worth the watch!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
A vigilante story with a twist! If only we could take matters into our own hands only to find out that there may be a better option instead. Be careful what you agree to because when it comes time to collect a return favor it may be too difficult to complete. To make matters worse you find out just how many people are involved in the same opportunity that you were given. A scary thought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 29, 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Seeking Justice is, at times, a suspenseful if also fairly implausible and poorly acted movie. Nicholas Cage is merely passable in the role of the man-in-too-deep character, Guy Pearce is flat as a smooth talking bad guy, and January Jones is tepid as the victim/wife. I never felt engaged in the characters and this made the hundred minutes or so seem longer despite some fairly quick pacing once the movie turned from suspense to action.

On the whole, the flat acting, a shortage of truly unique twists, inexplicable scenes (the Superdome....why??), and an unsatisfying end left me feeling disappointed in Seeking Justice. It's not an awful movie by any means, but it's not anything I'd care to see a second time. I'd not recommend buying it until after you've had a chance to see it for free on cable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
This is NOT the action film I thought it would be, BUT I am very glad that I purchased it. Seeking Justice is about a secret organization that offers to do the things which the police will not. The storyline is not perfect but it will not cause you to walk out or turn the dvd off. Nicolas Cage and Guy Pearce due a very good job at making you feel what they feel. Harold Perrineau deserves honorable mention for his performance. Last but not least, there is action of varying levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.