Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got the choice? Go with PC.
Aside from the occasional lag (which happens regardless of the card, I've got a GTX 580 @ 800mhz core), the game is amazing. Having played both console versions the choice is clear - just make sure to hook up your 360 controller! You'll be able to play at 1080p resolutions or better, get 60fps and much better anti-alliasing. The added framerate does wonders for the...
Published on November 10, 2011 by BuyingEverything

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A game that starts off strong, but quickly fizzles out
I never had a Sega Genesis growing up, but that didn't stop me from going over to my friends' houses and playing the fantastic Sonic the Hedgehog series on theirs. For that reason, I have very fond memories of Sonic's first 4 console outings, from Sonic the Hedgehog up through Sonic & Knuckles (let's just pretend that 3D Blast didn't exist). Unfortunately, Sonic and I...
Published on January 9, 2012 by Putts


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars SO FAST, IT GOES INTO THE PAST!, December 2, 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
During the Console Wars of the 90's Sonic was SEGA's answer to NINTEDO's Mario: it was the blue hedgehog that sped through its acrobatic levels to showcase Sega Genesis' processing speed. Judging by the fact that there are no more SEGA consoles, the outcome of that war is pretty obvious. However, just like the losers of WWII, one should never turn its back to Sonic.
It is fast. And it has spines.

HAS IT REALLY BEEN 20 YEARS!
This game borrows heavily from most Sonic games of the past. You will be reminded of favorite levels of Sonic games past, meet old friends, relive old adventures and fight old bosses. And all this with just the right measure of nostalgia, a game redesigned to keep fresh and interesting without falling into the trap of simply recreating the old levels.
This Sonic game will appeal to old and young players alike.

CHOOSE YOUR DIMENSIONS
The game is a platformer, with an equal mix of rings to collect, enemies to survive and puzzles to solve in a flash. This is where it gets interesting: you can choose to play each level as either a classic 2D side-scroller or a modern pseudo-3D Third-person action racer. Both are fun so this will bring you back to replay the game again and again. But you better come equipped.

SONIC IS TOO FAST FOR A KEYBOARD
I tried playing the game using the keyboard and although it can be done it is not how one enjoys the game. I am a purist PC gamer so I refuse to use a controller to play a PC game. Whenever a publisher releases a game for the PC, it better be PC-optimized. This is where SONIC GENERATIONS looses its 5th star: it really needs a controller such as the MS 360 Controller for Windows. Otherwise, instead of controlling Sonic, you simply try to follow him around the screen.

A nostalgia trip that goes by in a blur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's probably a good game...., June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
I downloaded the game for my son to play, but found out afterwards that my computer doesn't have the right graphics card to play it. Hopefully, with an update or new computer, we'll be able to play it someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best modern Sonic game so far!, April 10, 2014
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
From the mind blowing speeds to the breathtaking graphics, Sonic Generations is an incredible game, just make sure you have the hardware to back it.
To start off, classic Sonic's engine was the closest replica to the one from the 90's made in the modern era. The rev-able spindash was an excellent touch, one I wish they would include in more modern Sonic games, and bouncing from one enemy to the other felt just like it did in the original games. the stages are well built to host classic, and the remixed music is incredible.
Secondly, my favorite style of game play, modern Sonic. This may be because I was born after the Genesis era, but regardless, it is awesome! The stages are built to keep Modern moving as maximum speed, and the boost engine is well constructed. It is really interesting to see the classic 2-d stages in modern 3-d style.once again, the soundtrack is fantastic.

Overall, this is the best Sonic game I have ever played, but there is one drawback. If you don't have a Ps3 or X-box 360 (like me. Nintendo all the way man!) You most likely have a PC. Because of this game's incredible graphics and fantastic engine, it takes an incredibly powerful computer. Be sure to READ THE SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS! Its best not to spend your money and find out that your computer can't even handle it. However, if you have the hardware, this is a must play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
I like sonic but recent sonic games disappointed me. They had slow speed, weird stage level...

But It is great sonic game.

You can meet cool and awsome sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
No comparison to Sonic Adventures 2. Even with a wired controller, the response is too slow and unpredictable to effectively play the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mod this game!!!, October 25, 2013
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
This game is great! The mod support for it is top notch! Also, ignore the 1 star reviews (they don't know what steam is or play on windows 98). Search up some character modifications on google or youtube to get your favorite character playable or complete conversion mods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Support Sonic Support SEGA, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
I am a big big sonic fan since I was in childhood. You won't miss this amazing game. Recommend you guys MUST having it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for offering, it did not work on my updated computer, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
But it's the name that counts. I later used Steam for Civilization V, and that did work. I think the controls for this got confused while being set up the slow way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY WITH FAITH, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
I purchased this game for my son.This game didn't give any problem yet.I HOPE YOU WILL LIKE THIS GAME TO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a great game., June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations [Download] (Software Download)
As a game, it's fun. But following what seems to be the pattern with Sonic The Hedgehog in general, the gameplay elements are the only thing that really stands out. Sega seems to think that adding a complex plot to a simple platformer is okay. The voice acting is embarrassing; they added a cast of all the major characters that only say one line, two if they're lucky. The cutscenes are childish, but well done. The only thing that matters is how the game plays, and it plays well. The IMPORTANT part, the GAME, is really fun and addicting. It's a pretty good game and if you're a fan of Sonic or racing style games, this is definitely the most solid Sonic game Sega's put out in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.