Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After Patch
I bought this game recently when steam had a sale and I wanted to give people another perspective on the game after the 4gb update was applied in May. I played this game when it first came out and like everyone was really let down by the glitches, graphics and gameplay. I just played the updated version and I must say Colonial Marines feels and looks much better. Whatever...
Published 6 months ago by GABRIEL D LAQUIS

versus
121 of 126 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the Biggest of Fans...UPDATED
Man it hurts to write this review. For over 6 years I have been waiting for this game and I had high hopes.
Even with my high hopes I was concerned. This is one of the strongest franchises today but as we have seen with the latest of Alien movies (Resurrection, Alien3, AVP) and games, it's one of the easiest to mess up.

Sadly folks this has happened...
Published 14 months ago by Susan Miller


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 126 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the Biggest of Fans...UPDATED, February 13, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
Man it hurts to write this review. For over 6 years I have been waiting for this game and I had high hopes.
Even with my high hopes I was concerned. This is one of the strongest franchises today but as we have seen with the latest of Alien movies (Resurrection, Alien3, AVP) and games, it's one of the easiest to mess up.

Sadly folks this has happened again.

When I heard that Gearbox was making this game, my hopes rose a bit. Their Boarderlands games were pretty good all in all so how could they screw this up? Right?

As soon as you start playing Aliens: Colonial Marines you realize that every inch of the game screams how much Gearbox tried to make it everything it should be. They cared about the franchise and they wanted us to feel the same emotions that we felt from the Aliens movie. It has a million different pieces from the movies but fails to connect them properly.

Unfortunately they failed and they failed badly!

All that you cared about from the Aliens movie is hard to find in this game.
The emotion is gone.
The tension is gone.
The atmosphere is gone.

What a shame!

The game does have potential and that is seen in the game as quick glimpses but it never mounts to much. Sadly these rare moments are just that; RARE!

The Graphics are extremely dated and this brings this title down another notch. As one reviewer said already, it's like playing the first FEAR game which is insane really. While better than the consoles, the PC version still has low res. textures. Suffers from odd glitches and has some TERRIBLE A.I.

Speaking of the A.I. ...... What on earth? Why is it so bad? Your fellow marines in the game will behave in the most idiotic of ways. Sometimes standing completely still while the world goes to heck or they will shoot through each other while never actually killing anything. They will walk into walls, run around in circles.... It's bizarre! The xenomorphs also don't seem to care about anyone else other than you. Apparently they know you are the leader which makes this game feel that much more unrealistic.

By the way, the story makes no sense what-so-ever and the game will tell you that during the cutscenes. One Character will ask a question as to how this is possible and the other will say that it doesn't make sense and it basically doesn't matter. (0_o) Nothing is explained.

Overall this game can be completed in about 4 hours on the hard setting. Hard is recommended since normal is abnormally easy.
The Dialog is horrible. I promise you this; you won't care for any of the characters.

Ultimately my friends, if you are going to purchase this game you better forget about comparing it to the 1986 James Cameron movie. If you do that you will be so utterly disappointed you will probably be seeking a refund almost immediately. If you can look past the graphics, the odd A.I. and laggy multiplayer and play this game as a simple FPS with some Aliens lore mixed in; you might actually enjoy it. If you are going to get this game you better make sure to get it for the PC. The graphics for the PS3 and the 360 lack in a major way.

----

Animations are jerky.
Animations are messy.
Incomplete and ugly.
Completely unpolished.

Co-Op seems tacked on. Very arcade-like in nature and overall it's ok.

There is a leveling system and it's not bad. You gain Xp and rank up and then can purchase upgrades. These upgrades are questionable...I don't remember a red dot on the battle rifle........

Also why can your character carry so many weapons all at the same time? You would think that it would make it very hard to go through doorways. Just a random thought.

Multiplayer is fun when it's not lagging. Humans against Aliens. Players take turns in being the enemy.
Sadly the Aliens aren't the easiest to control and the move slowly. Also the maps don't provide any good hiding places.

So for my review consider it a very disappointing game. It could have been more but it failed.

My Rig: Rig: Intel i7-2600k @3.40 GHz, with 16GB of RAM, GeForce GTX 580 GPU (SLI)

: ** UPDATE ** :

On 2013-03-19 Gearbox released a retooling of this game in the form of a HUGE patch. The long rumored patch for Aliens: Colonial Marines has finally dropped and it's finally available for PC. It includes patches introduced to the console version as well as texture improvements, an overhaul to the AI systems, difficulty adjustments, animation fixes, and a ton of other bug fixes that one would have expected a complete game to have. The patch is 3.5GB, compressed. That in itself is still big enough to be a game all its own, so Gearbox obviously did some major retooling to the game, which should enable it to have a completely different look and feel from before. If not, then they still have a ways to go.

Aliens: Colonial Marines was a pretty big festering blot on the image of Gearbox Software and it looks like the company is at least making some amends to one of the biggest controversies of the year. The headline feature of the patch is improved textures, with other "various visual improvements" promised. Additional fixes patch up audio bugs in cutscenes, players falling through the map, and a bug that caused players to occasionally spawn without a weapon.

The patch notes in full:

General

- Improved texture resolution.
- Various visual improvements.
- Added mouse smoothing to options menu.
- Fixed crashes tied to launch and motion tracker.
- Added additional safeguards to better protect save data.
- Resolved an issue where a player's level could sometimes appear incorrect when backing out of a party.
- Addressed several scenarios under which players could spawn without a weapon.
- Changes to better prevent audio from sometimes cutting out during end of mission cinematics.
- Fixed issue where Xeno death animation was not properly calculating momentum of the killing blow.
- Smart Gun animation now properly tracks targets.
- Addressed some instances where Xenos would display erratic animations.
- Increased light radius for player's shoulder lamp.
- Adjusted aim assist to better reflect player input.
- Addressed an issue that could sometimes cause co-op player revival to not work under certain circumstances.
- Addressed issues with players not spawning into a level properly.
- Fixed a marine player invincibility exploit.
- Resolved several instances where players could walk or fall outside of maps.
- Addressed an issue where Ripley's Flamethrower (bonus content) would sometimes fire continuously without player input.
- Fixed an issue that could cause localized text to sometimes display incorrectly.
- Addressed an issue where weapon ammunition was not always highlighted properly.
- General user interface improvements.
- Miscellaneous bug fixes.

Campaign

- Tweaked enemy and friendly AI to be more aggressive and responsive.
- Modified campaign difficulty to account for improved AI responsiveness.
- Improved enemy collision detection regarding doors and Power Loader.
- Addressed some issues that could cause improper warping for co-op players.
- Various tweaks to address instances where NPC characters would not always properly navigate to objectives.
- Players will no longer bleed out immediately when downed in a Power Loader.

Versus

- Fixed issues that could cause clients to report inaccurate results and statistics.
- Addressed instances where a map would appear to "pop in" when loading into a new match.
- New Xeno appearance customization added.
- Multiplayer teams should now correctly auto-balance between rounds.
- Increased duration of Lurker Pounce Challenge "Cat-Like Reflexes" from 10 to 20 seconds.
- Fixed issue where certain multiplayer challenges would not unlock properly for all characters.
- Crusher pick-ups now correctly appear as highlighted for clients.

.......................
: ** MY THOUGHTS ** :

Patch installed, noticeable graphical improvements with better lighting, additional fogging / mist as well as a sort of 80's grain film effect added. Anti aliasing however seems to be off (lots of jagged textures now) so had to force it 'on' @ 16x via Nvidia Control Panel. Its a marked improvement to what the game looked like on release and definitely looks a lot closer to the demo that we all thought it was going to be.

Also the alien AI is remarkably better. The Xenos don't run straight at you like they used to do and attack with a lot more variety.

Since the price has dropped down to $32 I would recommend this now to the average shooter crowd. There have been improvements made and the game is closer to how it should have been but there are problems that will never be addressed; example: The Story is so messed up that there isn't any fixing it. If you are big on stories...miss this game! The story sucks and makes no sense what so ever! Only purchase this if you COMPLETELY understand what you are getting! I will update in the future with further updates.

: ** UPDATE 2 ** :

Continuing to inspect the game post-patch and there is a huge difference in AI and in difficulty. On a medium setting there is a real challenge now. This is much improved compared to pre-patch. I raised my review score of 2 stars to 3.

: ** UPDATE 3 ** :

Gearbox Software has released a new patch for the PC version of Aliens: Colonial Marines today (May 6th). This update adds support for tomorrow's MP DLC as well as several visuals enhancements. Below is the change log.

Added compatibility for "Reconnaissance Pack" multiplayer add-on.
Various visual improvements, including new screen space ambient occlusion (SSAO) functionality.

So far this is a good addition to the game. Adds a lot of graphic options and enhancements. I don't have the addon content so I can't comment on that. Ultimately it looks like GB is trying to get this game where it should have been from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - ACM is an unfinished, buggy, unpolished, confusing, and boring generic run and gun shooter., February 13, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
I was really excited for this game, especially after watching a few of the videos that I will post in the comment section (Amazon doesn't allow linking to other sites in their reviews). I went so far as to pre-order the game on Steam and now wish I could get a refund.

The ONLY good thing about this game is that the whole thing can be beaten in under 5 hours (less if not for the bugs). According to Steam, I played this game for 7 hours so far and have had 4 crashes, as well as encountering literally countless bugs, the best of which was doors NOT OPENING, or getting STUCK in the environment - forcing me to reload multiple times... Yeah. No idea how this made it past quality assurance... Way to go Gearbox, way to go.

But honestly, the bugs aren't even the worst part. What makes this game so terribly boring is that it feels like an on rails light gun game, with terrible and uninteresting level design (there are some exceptions to this). Why an Aliens game has such limiting environments is beyond my understanding. Invisible walls and missing textures also serve to bring down the little immersion that some of the better designed areas bring to the table.

The enemy AI is absolute garbage and allows you to easily blast one Xeno after another as they calmly walk in front of your shotgun (or get glitched in the environment and just stand there). Getting hit in ACM by an alien is virtually impossible.
Eventually you also get to fight some humans, but nothing changes. You can still Rambo your way through everything using your trusty shotgun with what feels like unlimited ammunition and pinpoint precision.
Next up is the AI of your squad mates, and wow... It is not uncommon to see someone glitched in the environment or running around in circles during a firefight. You simply can't make stuff like this up!
All in all this game has the absolutely worst AI I have seen in recent releases, which is even more disappointing seeing as how Gearbox promised us "incredibly advanced AI".

Gameplay doesn't fare any better. At one point you are forced into a stealth level and a few Work Loader sequences. That's it. And they are all as bad as the rest of the game. There is NOTHING new or even marginally exciting in Aliens: Colonial Marines. In fact, it makes the disaster that was Duke Nukem Forever seem like a masterpiece. I also don't understand what happened to ACM's graphics and animations. A few of the older demo videos of "actual gameplay" that Gearbox was showing off look much better than the retail game does on my (almost) top of the line gaming machine. Even on the highest settings this game looks like Doom 3, which looked good when it came out years ago - but has not aged too well in the graphic department. For some reason ACM also animates much worse than D3 - the animations seem stiff and forced.

Even if I could forgive all of the above, the story is terrible (even more so considering that this is supposed to be the sequel to the films), complete with COUNTLESS plot holes, and "WTH" moments. Without giving anything away, dead characters are brought back to life with no explanation, and areas that have been nuked are now back in perfectly serviceable conditions (once again with no explanation).

I suggest that you stay away unless you can get the game for around $10, since in its current state that is all ACM is honestly worth.
I am currently working with Steam to try and get my money back due to all the false advertising Gearbox did before the game released (links in the comments section). Hopefully they will honor my request like they did with The War Z.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After Patch, September 29, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
I bought this game recently when steam had a sale and I wanted to give people another perspective on the game after the 4gb update was applied in May. I played this game when it first came out and like everyone was really let down by the glitches, graphics and gameplay. I just played the updated version and I must say Colonial Marines feels and looks much better. Whatever polishes they did to the graphics made a noticeably nice (not spectacular) difference and the gameplay feels much smoother than when I first played it. It felt much closer to home with the movie, Aliens. I would recommend that people have a heart of forgiveness and try it again. From a 2 out of ten I now rate Aliens at 5.5 - 6 out of ten. Not bad at all. Sound effects straight out of the movie and the characters/aliens themselves look better and move smarter than before. If you're an Aliens fan and enjoyed games like doom 3, you would definitely have some enjoyment playing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute garbage :(, February 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
I waited for this game for a while as I love the Aliens series, it has chunky controls and game play. The feature to play online against other people is absolutely horrific, not fun at all. I rarely buy video games anymore because you can usually finish the game in about 3 days, this game was only about 3 hours to finish. Wait a few months for it to be in the bargain bin at your local game store if you really want this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another case of DN:F-itis, February 14, 2013
By 
J. Allen (Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
Awful. Gearbox had the license and had been working on this for 6+ years (they were taking so long to get it finished SEGA was considering suing them). Instead of putting a decent team on it they farmed it out to 3 or 4 other developers until Borderlands 2 was released. With BL2 out the door they called in the work from the other devs and decided it sucked so they did what they could in 4 months or so and said screw it. That meant stripping out anything that had a 100% progress block (resulting in a 4-5 hour campaign) and threw it out the door knowing full well what the blowback would be. This is another case of Duke Nukem: Forever, only this time it is even worse: broken mission scripting, missing, or extremely low-res textures, clipping, crashes, non-existent enemy AI, non-existant story, broken cutscenes. You name it it's there.

So 2 out of the last 3 games Gearbox has released have been absolute disasters. I bought this game on the sale on Sunday because I hoped it would be on par with Borderlands and I am a big Aliens fan. Needless to say I got burned since it was the digital download version and can't get my money back (wont be doing that again). I will not be pre-ordering another Gearbox game. I would recommend everyone stay away from this one, it is an unbelievable disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible game, February 12, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
I pre-purchased this game and I also bought the season pass of DLC from a different website. After playing this garbage and beating the game in about 4 1/2 hours on "hard" mode, I quickly requested and received a refund for my DLC, so all was not lost. But onto the "game", the AI is laughably bad, just check some of the youtube videos of the horrific AI. Even a video of the guy beating entire game without firing a single shot (except in a few cases where you have to use your gun to progress). The graphics look like the original F.E.A.R game. I actually loaded up my copy of F.E.A.R on steam after beating this game and they are pretty much the EXACT same as far as graphics go with everything maxed out on both games. The dialogue is cringe worthy, and goodluck on the last boss, I won't spoil anything, but it took me about 30 mins to kill the last boss ONLY because of the horrific AI and pathing. And lets not forget that there are no dedicated servers, so playing online will result in the host either being dropped or leaving, which in turn forces the game to end. This is a pile of garbage and this game is the SOLE reason I will never pre-order another game EVER again. If you are interested in this game, wait 1-2 months when this will be $5 - $10 in the bargain bin, where it belongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a letdown, February 12, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
Being an Alien fan myself meant I was pretty excited about this game when they finally gave it a release date. But after watching the hype Randy Pitchford made about this game before and playing this game after I doubt I'll take anything he says at face value ever again, which is a shame because gearbox made Borderlands 2, which I personally loved.

Most of the sound effects are very good and authentic to the movie. The acting is questionable at best but the sounds of the motion tracker, smart guns, pulse rifles and various other Alien universe items are iconic. Set designs in the game are pretty well crafted and feel authentic as far as layout and visual ambiance goes. They also threw a ton of fan service into the game. One of the first things you see is the lower half of Bishop's body from when he was torn in half by the Queen Xenomorph. Those parts about it were well done. Everything else I would expect in a decent quality shooter was omitted.

Apart from design the graphics are pretty terrible and all the textures are super low resolution (I was wondering why the game was only a 5GB download). One other reviewer mentioned the game looked like the original F.E.A.R. and they're exactly right. It looks like something that would have been released seven years ago. I would have expected them at least update the visuals somewhat for a title that was in development for 5 or so years.

The AI in this game is the most idiotic AI I've seen in a long, long time. It's OK for the first 20 minutes because xenomorphs jump on walls and stuff but it becomes an absolute bore after that. Xenomorphs and the enemy humans will run straight into your cross hairs and the game becomes a turkey shoot after awhile. The fact that they even move is about as good at these AIs get. At one point in the campaign a Xenomorph charged straight at me and just forgot I was there after I side stepped and got behind it. I didn't even shoot it after the fact and it just stood there, so I walked away and left it alone.

The campaign is surprisingly short. I beat it in 4 hours and I'm a pretty average FPS player. In no way is it worth $49.99 or $59.95 depending on the platform. It might be worth $19....might. Speaking of price I found it funny that you end up getting less for more because the graphics for the higher priced console versions are actually a lot worse than the PC version. I usually expect that but this game is so bad it brought that to my attention.

The multiplayer is pretty awful. As mentioned by others it's host driven so if they're disconnected that's it for that game. Ping rates are hit and miss because it depends on the host you're connected to. Player Marines vs Player Xenomorphs is really unbalanced favoring marines. Xenomorphs are pretty awkward to control and they die so easily no one wants to play on the xenomorph team. The only decent multiplayer mode is escape which models Left4Dead where you and up to 3 others have to get from the starting point on a map to the end point and survive but instead of zombies trying to murder you it's xenomorphs. That part was pretty enjoyable but unfortunately there are only two escape maps and they become boring really quick.

In the end this game has a few good quality points that get dragged all the way down by a lot of other bad points. I really wish they would have spent more time polishing it because it had potential to be really good. I'm giving it a 2nd star because there are some aspects of the game which are very authentic to the movie. If you're looking for an interactive museum of the Aliens movie this is your game,but if you're looking for a shooter that does more than barely pass the test you may be disappointed.

I would advise people not to buy this game because In Space, no one can hear you scream "I spent sixty dollars on this?!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Serves me right I guess for trusting a developer again..., February 12, 2013
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
I am 30 years old and I'm a huge fan of the Alien films, I was 16 or 17 when the first Alien vs Predator game came out and I loved it. I have always been a PC gamer and have stuck with it through the hardest of times both for me and for PC gaming itself. I enjoyed Borderlands 2, I thought it had some enjoyable coop but I quickly realized how the majority of fun came from the fact that I was playing with friends, not necessarily the game play.

This is not to say Borderlands 1 or 2 are bad games, they do what they set out to do well, and because of that I had faith that Gearbox would deliver at least a semi-decent product, but this game is one of the most shameful displays of a 2013 entertainment product that we will likely see all year. I actually went into this game expecting it to not be that great and I was still completely and utterly let down. I am also a pretty big Left 4 Dead fan and have 500 hours between both games clocked on my Steam account, Aliens Colonial Marines takes a few pages from L4D and shoves them into a lifeless, shell of a game.

There is not one single little detail that this game does better than anything else, and I say that with zero troll-ness in my heart, I say this because I really do not want people to waste their money like I did. I am a sucker. I fell for the marketing and the nostalgia brought on by my childhood. I should have realized that the embargo on reviews meant they knew it was bad, I should have listened to my gut when I first saw game play footage and the animations looked like something that came out before Doom 3. My friend and I are most of the way through the campaign right now and I had to quit because it was so mind-numbingly dull and repetitive. I will go back one last time to beat the campaign because I spent $50 on this "game", but I will never play it again after that, I will never pre-order another game and the chances of me buying another Gearbox title are pretty much slim to nil.

For reference my Game of The Year for 2012 was Far Cry 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Probably best to wait till its $9.99, February 16, 2013
By 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
When I saw it was only a 5gb download, and installed DirectX 9c, I suspected it was going to look dated. And it does. Its like a bad version of Left4Dead with an Aliens theme. Its still somewhat fun, but not worth $49.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, It's what I expected., December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines [Download] (Software Download)
First thing first - This is a review for the PATCHED game

I just bought the game. I grew up loving Aliens (and specifically the second movie) and loved when I heard about this game.
I hated what I heard when it released though.

Then I read that the PC version was patched pretty well, and graphical improvements were made.
So I have always wanted to try it ever since.

I just grabbed it on sale for $2. Yeah, about the cost of a cup of coffee.

I have to say, it is what I expected. I won't say it is bad, but I won't say it is good. Mind you, I have just played the intro and not the full game, but the feel of the whole thing is there.

So here are some bullet points I think spell it all out:

Graphics aren't bad. They aren't stellar either, but it looks decent. Shadows could have been better to make the characters look more in the game than on the game, but overall it looks good enough to play and then some.

The sounds are pretty dead on. From the sound of the rifle to the squeal of the alien they really got that right.

The difficulty is moderate. I can say from pre-patch reading there was no difficulty. Now it seems standard. I am playing on normal and it was not a piece of cake, but not extremely difficult either.

The AI is improved from pre-patch (from videos I had seen) but it is still wonky. The Aliens almost exclusively attack you. They might attack another marine occasionally, but they rush you. Your marine buddies might shoot an alien occasionally, but they are pretty worthless.

At the end of the day, I can see this being sort of a boring game. I will probably change the difficulty setting down to easy, just so I can blow through the game and enjoy it for what it is, a simple shooter. I won't be expecting a story, good characters, or anything else. Another reviewer compared it to Doom. That is pretty accurate for the gameplay. Run and gun, not much thought for anything.

There is no way I could regret buying this for $2, but honestly $5 would be my limit.
If you are an Aliens fan (or just like shooters) then grab it when it is on a deal. If it is full price of $10 or more, pass on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d45a1b0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.