Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Just make sure you have a Genesis 1 and NOT 2 or 3!
I bought one of these and it worked perfectly. However, you need to be sure that you have a Genesis model 1 or this will NOT work, because later models had a smaller connecter. If your Genesis has a headphone jack, volume control and power switch, then it's a model 1 and these A/V cables are what you want. If your Genesis lacks a headphone jack and volume control, but has...
Published on December 2, 2009 by Justin Froning

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Item is not what is shown
I received the A/V cable and it is not a Sega Genesis version 1 A/V cable. It was much smaller in diameter and only had 3 pins. It might fit another version but it does not work on the original Sega Genesis. I filed a complaint and even had them send a replacement and it was the same exact wrong cord they sent in the first place. Do not waste your time and money on...
Published 5 months ago by Zippy Styles


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Just make sure you have a Genesis 1 and NOT 2 or 3!, December 2, 2009
By 
Justin Froning (South Dakota, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
I bought one of these and it worked perfectly. However, you need to be sure that you have a Genesis model 1 or this will NOT work, because later models had a smaller connecter. If your Genesis has a headphone jack, volume control and power switch, then it's a model 1 and these A/V cables are what you want. If your Genesis lacks a headphone jack and volume control, but has a power "button", then it's a Genesis model 2. A model 3 is easy to tell because it's tiny and says "Genesis 3" right on it.

Hope that answers some questions for anyone who might have wanted to know, or wasn't sure about buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is..., February 19, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
When I tried to hook up my Genesis through the Coax Cable the picture looked terrible. I've gotten so used to todays graphics and I just could not get used to it.

So I bought this cable in hopes of a decent clear picture. I was BLOWN AWAY with the results. This cable made everything look great. The color was strong, the picture was clear, and the graphics look wonderful. The Sega was really a good system.

Note, there is only one audio cable (red audio). You will have to buy another cable to turn the red audio cable into a white and red. It won't be surround sound but you will get sound out of each side of your speakers. Also this cable is for the first model of Genesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Item is not what is shown, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
I received the A/V cable and it is not a Sega Genesis version 1 A/V cable. It was much smaller in diameter and only had 3 pins. It might fit another version but it does not work on the original Sega Genesis. I filed a complaint and even had them send a replacement and it was the same exact wrong cord they sent in the first place. Do not waste your time and money on this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fit Sega Genesis 1, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
Not the same pin configuration as shown in the image on the product page. Doesn't fit my Sega Genesis 1 system at all. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Picture, September 26, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
I purchased this because i was tired of the fuzzy lines and always have to mess with the back of the Sega or the back of the TV trying to find that one sweet spot where it was almost clear. This thing works amazing! Crystal clear picture. Would definetely reccomend for $5. Well Worth it. I even ordered one for my brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOES NOT FIT!, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
Ridiculous how I waited over 2 weeks only to open the package and found that the part that connects to the console was way too small, it didn't even have the right number of spokes in it. Very dissappointed and returning it asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sent me the genesis 2/3 cable, again., February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
This is the second cord that is way too small for my genesis 1. The pictures shows all the pins, but this one came small and with 3 pins only. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT fit my original Sega Genesis 1, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
This product says Sega Genesis 1 but it did NOT fit mine. Pretty disappointed that a product can be explicitly labeled as something when it not the case.

Doesn't fit the original Sega... DO NOT purchase for Sega 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect Cable Sent, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
I ordered this cable, and like several other reviews, was sent the wrong cable.

I received a Genesis 2 AV Cable, which as many of you know does not fit the Genesis 1. It appears to be an issue with the amazon warehouse as it was in a shrink-wrapped package with a Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable barcode and label on it. I ordered from VideoGameAdvantage and it was fulfilled by Amazon.

I'll update my review once I've spoken with Amazon, but I recommend ordering from someone else until they sort out this continuing issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was sent a non-Model 1 cable, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging) (Accessory)
I should have read the reviews apparently, I received the wrong cable, it was a 3-pin cable that was too small for the port on the Genesis from Amazon, LLC. Sending it back, so nothing lost except time and having to wait for another one to show up from another seller. I'll probably just hit up EBay at this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sega Genesis 1 Standard AV Cable (Bulk Packaging)
$4.99 $4.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.