Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good silent alarm clock, although a bit large to travel with.
A bit large and the battery cover is cheaply made, but overall a good clock. Also important to note: clock is completely silent.
Published 13 months ago by adeptus_culinarious

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Basic Alarm Clock - Alarm failed after 6 months
Updated on 5/29/2014 -
There are two big negatives and these are probably deal breakers.
1. After 6 months of use, the alarm siren went out and in a bad way. The first time it happened & did it for several days in a row, the alarm didn't sound out even though the alarm was on. 1 week later, I heard the alarm ring loud for 2 seconds and then it went to really...
Published 13 months ago by white cloud


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Basic Alarm Clock - Alarm failed after 6 months, November 9, 2013
By 
white cloud "moku6" (San Francisco, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Updated on 5/29/2014 -
There are two big negatives and these are probably deal breakers.
1. After 6 months of use, the alarm siren went out and in a bad way. The first time it happened & did it for several days in a row, the alarm didn't sound out even though the alarm was on. 1 week later, I heard the alarm ring loud for 2 seconds and then it went to really quiet rings.

2. Both the time & alarm settings use the same knob and this can cause accidents when changing the alarm time.

These are two big risks for me on using this alarm clock and so I can't recommend this clock. I am going to buy more expensive Seiko alarm clock that has separate alarm and time knobs.

Original -
The seconds move almost like Swiss automatic watches as it moves so smooth. A minor thing is that the snooze button is for every 5 minutes and I wish it was for 10 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good silent alarm clock, although a bit large to travel with., November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A bit large and the battery cover is cheaply made, but overall a good clock. Also important to note: clock is completely silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clock. But very weak backlight, August 31, 2012
By 
W. M. Denny (St Louis, Missouri and Chiang Mai Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The backlight is barely bright enough to illuminate the numbers in the dark. I still use my 30 year old Casio which has a backlit dial bright enough to find my way around in the dark in emergencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Typical Premium Product from Seiko, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased a cheaper product and while it worked fine it was noisy and the hands were very hard to read by the internal night light. I didn't like the result so I bought this Seiko. I've had a couple other Seiko clocks and they worked perfectly and still do today. This clock is a good size at about 3" across. It's TOTALLY SILENT! The second hand is a constant sweep with no clicking at all. The hands glow throughout the night and when you use the night light the hands are easily distinguishable. I do need glasses so a digital model won't work when you peek at it in the night. The positions of the hands tell you what time it is without seeing the numbers. This is a terrific clock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great clock, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Reasonable price. Stable base. Alarm switch is on the side instead of hidden in the back. Easy to see if the alarm is turned on. Loud enough. Like the smooth sweep second hand movement. Second Seiko bedside alarm of this type. Thoroughly satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great price, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great clock with one exception, the battery compartment.
The GOOD points: You can illuminate the dial by hitting the snooze alarm at night; it has a gentle beep that gets slightly louder if you don't turn it off; snooze button is for five minutes and you can hit it over and over; it makes absolutely no ticking sound - it is perfectly quiet; and it is large enough to see and small enough not to take up too much space. The ONLY BAD point: the battery (one AA) is not secured and has a huge cavity to fall into if it dislodges; the first time I used it the cat knocked it off the nightstand while I was sleeping and lo and behold, the battery dislodged and of course the clock stopped and no alarm . . . . Not a bad kitty, just a bad design for the battery compartment. I put a piece of tape inside to hold the battery and I'm using it and loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Big, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very nice alarm clock. I didn't read the measurements carefully enough. I was hoping to use this as a travel alarm; but as it says if is a "Bedside Alarm Clock." In that regard it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alarming behavior, May 4, 2013
By 
Howard B Emerson (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After receiving this clock I set the time and an alarm. The alarm did not go off at the set time. About an hour and a half later it gave one extemely loud single squawk, and then after another hour or so it repeated with not one but two loud squawks. Even if the alarm worked properly, I don't think I could tolerate being woken up by such a horrible sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple. Quite, Nice Looking Bedside Clock, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this clock for it's nice look and small size (3.5" dia x 2" deep). It's quite sweep hand, top snooze button and Seiko name a plus. Check shipping cost before you buy; $8 slowest shipping for $18 product = $26. Four stars for the clock, two stars for shipping cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice clock, quiet but not silent, and a little bigger than specs, April 18, 2014
By 
Mo (Boston, Mass.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very good clock: simple to use, attractive, easy to see from a distance (in normal light bc white hands on black) and keeps accurate time. It's not quite as silent as another similar Seiko I recently purchased (QHE086SLH grey/silver bedside clock) which is very quiet. This black model would seem to have the same internal mechanisms being a very similar clock, but the whirring of gears inside is a little more noticeable. I am sensitive to this and it's definitely not annoying like a tick-tock sound, but I can hear it from a few feet away; many others might not even notice this though. Otherwise, I love the clock. It's no-frills but works well, easy to set the time and alarm hand, and both functions are pretty accurate. That is, you can move the alarm hand for fine tuning within a few minutes (e.g. put the yellow hand a little after the hour and it will go off at 5 after, etc.) Alarm on and off is secure and easy to see with little yellow dot (not a light) in lower right corner. Night light is illuminated by pushing snooze button (5-min delay) on top and is dim but adequate. Glow in the dark hands and dots for each hour on face stay bright through the night. Alarm is certainly loud enough; typical shrill "beep-beep-beep-beep" and can be dampened by covering small holes on back side. Some people complain these clocks are flimsy, and it is plastic, but for this price and for normal use at home or even in travel, I think it's a great clock and very reasonably priced. One last note: the clock is slightly larger than stated in the Amazon description and details (diff dims in each place, both wrong). It measures 3.5" wide x 3.75" high x 2.25" deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seiko QHE085KLH Alarm Clock - 3 in. Wide
$29.99 $18.75 - $26.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.