Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just a Comedy Series
If you're a T.V. Seinfeld fan you will absolutely love the DVD's. The scenes that are cut to insert commercials by syndicators are restored on the high quality DVD versions. I grew up in the United States and had always liked the series from television. I was married while living/working/studying in China in 2002 and bought the DVD's for my wife on our coming to the...
Published on June 17, 2006 by Jonathan Luysterborghs

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, but there is a problem with the DVDs!
Here's the scoop...I have purchased this item twice from Amazon. Both items have been faulty. Specifically, the episode The Dinner Party just won't play on either set. I have tried playing this episode on various devices including a Samsung Blu-Ray player, Apple iMac, JVC DVD player, etc. It just flat out won't play on any device. I've watched all 9 seasons numerous...
Published on January 11, 2012 by Michael Bushnell


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just a Comedy Series, June 17, 2006
By 
Jonathan Luysterborghs (Durham, Connecticut USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
If you're a T.V. Seinfeld fan you will absolutely love the DVD's. The scenes that are cut to insert commercials by syndicators are restored on the high quality DVD versions. I grew up in the United States and had always liked the series from television. I was married while living/working/studying in China in 2002 and bought the DVD's for my wife on our coming to the United States in 2005. She had never seen Seinfeld before and had never been exposed to this style of humor or the slice of American life that the series presents. We have watched the DVD's over and over again and they never fail to make us laugh and lift our spirits when we've had a bad day. We utilize the closed captioning option and it has been a great help for my wife in acquiring an understanding of casual English usage including slang, and idiom. On a more serious note, owning so many seasons and watching the episodes regularly makes you realize the sad truth that much of American life really is focused on the themes of myopic self-interest presented and ridiculed in this series. I sometimes worry that individuals may actually see the series as a validation of their lack of ethics, morals, and connection with the Creator instead of as a revelation and jabbing at today's inappropriate social dynamics; just as the Archie Bunker/All In the Family series did in the 1970's.
The DVD sets include great special features from "How It Began" to "Making a Seinfeld Episode", deleted scenes, behind the scenes commentary from cast and creators, never-before-seen standup footage of Jerry, original NBC promotional ads and trailers, outtakes and bloopers, and much, much more. It's obvious that a lot of thought and work went into producing the DVD sets and I can't wait until the remaining seasons come out for sale at Amazon. After all; "Who wouldn't love Jerry?"
Episodes included in this set are:
Season 5 - The Mango, The Glasses, The Puffy Shirt, The Sniffing Accountant, The Bris, The Lip Reader, The Non-Fat Yogurt, The Barber, The Masseuse, The Cigar Store Indian, The Conversation, The Stall, The Marine Biologist, The Dinner Party, The Pie, The Stand-In, The Wife, The Fire, The Raincoats, The Hamptons, The Opposite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Something about Seinfeld, November 21, 2005
By 
R. J Rey (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
The laughs just keep coming with "Seinfeld: The Complete Fifth Season". "Seinfeld" follows the mad-cap misadventures of stand-up comedian Jerry Seinfeld (Himself) and his close group of eccentric friends going through everyday life in New York City. In this season, Jerry becomes the unsuspected spokesperson for a new clothing trend. George (Jason Alexander) uses his marine biologist skills to save the day. Elaine (Julia Louise Dreyfus) discovers a store mannequin that looks like her. Kramer's (Michael Richards) bungling has a profound effect in the mayoral elections of New York City. Created by producer Larry David and star Jerry Seinfeld, "Seinfeld" is the breakthrough award-winning comedy series that became one of the most popular television sitcoms. The fifth season is certainly one of the comedy series' best and features some well developed storylines with clever subplots and hilarious comic situations. The season also includes guest appearances by Courteney Cox, Jon Favreau, Jami Gertz, Al Roker and Rudolph Guiliani. This great box set includes such fun episodes as "The Puffy Shirt", "The Non-Fat Yogurt", "The Dinner Party", "The Hamptons" and "The Opposite".

There is so much to see in "Seinfeld: The Complete Fifth Season" Box Set. All 22 episodes are presented in their original full screen format. The box set contains a carefully detailed picture quality and a clear 2.0 Dolby Digital sound. This 4-Disc collection includes 13 hours of supplemental extras like informative audio commentaries by cast members and crew on selected episodes, "Jason + Larry = George" featurette, deleted scenes, fun outtakes, series promos and exclusive stand-up comedy footage. Overall, "Seinfeld: The Complete Fifth Season" earns an "A".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shop around!, April 14, 2007
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
The DVDs are great, they have lots of extra features and commentary. You probably know whether or not youre going to buy them, but you should shop around! Target sells the first 5 seasnons for $20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extras Have Improved Since the Former Released Season Sets, April 7, 2006
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Seinfeld was one of the funniest shows ever made and even if there were no extras lots of us would still buy the season sets. However it is good to see they are putting a bit more effort into the extras than they previously did.

In season five extras include footage of the puffy shirt going into the Smithsonian. Larry and George where Larry David is compared to the character George. Bloopers is also excellent and very entertaining. The other usual extras are here as well with Inside Look and Deleted Scenes going for longer lengths of time, with the deleted scenes including a lot more of the episode on either side or the scene than was done on former seasons.

Season 5 includes the shrinkage episode where George suffers the indignity of being seen after swimming, and the opposites episode where things start coming together for George when he goes against his natural instincts. The puffy shirt, Pappy not washing his hands before preparing Jerry and his girlfriend's food, the manikin that looks like Elaine and many other classics are all here in Season 5. Like with the other season sets you just have to own them.

Also check out the season sets for Scrubs to see the benchmark for how extras should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Year, September 20, 2005
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Thanks to a very strong fourth season, Seinfeld's fifth season saw the show go from a cult phenomenon into an entertainment juggernaut. This year represented the direct middle of the show's 9-year run, and by and large it was excellent. Not quite the equivalent of season 4, but still more than passable.

There's no doubt that the fifth season of Seinfeld ended strong. Three classic episodes close it out: The Fire (with George's hysterical reaction to a fire), The Hamptons (with an ugly baby), and The Opposite, which I think is the show's all-time best episode. What a way to end the season: George in the throes of success, with a new job, apartment and love interest, and Elaine losing all that. The scene where George screams at the thugs in the movie theater is hilarious, although people who have only seen later episodes might wonder what the big deal about George screaming at other people is. At this point, Larry David's onscreen surrogate was known for his inability to let out his anger, which made him more angry. There are great moments all throughout this season: The Puffy Shirt deals with the ramifications of Jerry's decision to wear the titular garment on the Today show, The Marine Biologist has George pretending to be of that profession, and there's the operatic The Barber, which focuses on the much-overlooked relationship between a man and his barber. Any trace of previous insecurity or hesitancy was eliminated: the show went boldly on, carving out an immortal place in pop culture.

Although this was the first season that Seinfeld enjoyed massive popularity, we can now look back historically to see that it was not the show's best (nor its worst). My particular gripe is the episode The Mango. Don't get me wrong, I like the taboo-busting, but I found myself cringing far too often during this episode at things that were supposed to be funny. Your mileage might vary, though. In short, it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great season for Seinfeld (4.5 stars), September 26, 2006
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Seinfeld-Season 5 would be the first season where the sitcom would be among the most popular shows on TV. Filling the void left behind by the end of the very successful sitcom, Cheers, Seinfeld would finish #3 in the Nielsen ratings during Season 5, thus continuing NBC's dominance on Thursday nights. The writing was still creative and continued to push the envelope of what could be shown on network television. This was also the first season to prominently Frank and Estelle Costanza as well as the season where Jerry actually held on to a girlfriend for a whopping 3 episodes. Disc 1 is very good with the best episodes being "The Mango", "The Sniffing Accountant", which features one of Kramer's most memorable scenes, and "The Puffy Shirt", one of several classic episodes from the season. And as with Seasons 3 & 4, Disc 2 is another winner as all of the episodes are very strong, the best being "The Non Fat Yogurt", which is featured in two different versions, "The Barber", and "The Cigar Store Indian." Disc 3 is also very good with the underrated episode, "The Conversion", and two classics in "The Stall", which gave us Elaine's most famous catchphrase, `I can't spare a square', and the season's best episode, "The Marine Biologist." Disc 4 ends the season on a high note with the excellent episodes, "The Fire", also known as "The Pinky Toe", "The Raincoats", which features a memorable appearance from Judge Reinhold as the close talker, and the finale, "The Opposite", probably the only episode in the entire series where things actually work out for George in the end. As with the other volumes, the special features are awesome. In addition to bloopers, inside looks, deleted scenes, and the notes about nothing, there is also a great segment on the evolution of the George character. Also worth noting is that for the first time since Season 2, not every show is top notch as noted in the mediocre episodes "The Dinner Party" and "The Bris." All told, Season 5 continued Seinfeld's winning streak which would ultimately lead to the sitcom becoming the #1 show on television in Season 6. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 5 - One of the BEST and Most Memorable!, March 11, 2006
By 
S. Stefaniuk (Parma, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Seinfeld is the type of show I wish I could still find on "Must See TV". Perfect chemistry between Elaine, Jerry, George, and Kramer allows us all to enjoy the humorous interactions between these 4 eccentric friends which is lacking in many pre- and post-Seinfeld sitcoms. The episodes in Season 5 are about the same quality as Season 6, but you can definitely tell that there is a change in the writing style from what was seen in Seasons 1-4 as the series begins to drift away to stories that become so bizarre that it's almost unbelievable, while still hilarious. The extras in Season 5 are also quite nice and very much appreciated, though Jerry Seinfeld isn't very animated or energetic during the commentary. Anyone purchasing this set won't be disappointed as there are many delightful extras and bonuses, including alternate versions of episodes with different actors and scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It keeps getting better, February 3, 2006
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Essentially this is a repeat of my Season 4 review but with different favorite episodes. I will add though that this is the best seasons so far, the writers, producers, actors and directors are all in a groove. They know the characters, the story arcs, and the desired comedy experience all combining to a synergistic Seinfeld experience.

Seinfeld is network television comedy at its best. 10 years later as I watch these episodes, despite seeing them countless times on syndication, I laugh out loud. Each show is original, tightly written, well acted and of course freaking hysterical. Even better they have memory...or in more technical terms a long story arc which intermittently continues themes across episodes and seasons. This adds to the richness of the humor and the fullness of characters, it allows the characters to develop and even though they are frequently reprehensible, we also see ourselves in there behaviors and they become very likable. Most television comedy consists of static episodes with contrived jokes and pratfalls where the only laughing you hear is the laugh track. Not Seinfeld!

Some of my favorite episodes from Season 5 include:

The Hampton's

The Puffy Shirt

The Sniffing Accountant

The Marine Biologist

The Stand In

The bonus material is generally excellent:

- The deleted scenes are interesting, you get to see more of the show, but they generally are unfunny jokes or extraneous/redundant material, (its obvious to see why they were deleted). It helped me appreciate the creative process of comedy

- I have not watched all the commentaries but the few I did watch were not very stimulating. The commentators are too busy watching the show, such that there are long pauses between comments and when they do comment, it something like...that was funny, how did we get away with that...over and over again. Stuff you want to know they don't tell you, for example, what was it like working with Bette Midler.

- The Inside Look featurettes are very insightful as we see and hear about the creative process and the inspiration for the stories. An added bonus is the actors' anecdotes, especially Michael Richards. During the show I thought he was the weakest actor, present to just add some `low brow'. Now I how good an actor he really is; In the featurette we se a so soft spoken, relaxed, and well mannered Michael Richards (almost bordering on shy and reticent) vs. his hyperkinetic spastic Cosmo Kramer. The contrast is illuminating; he really created and made the most of that character. The other actors you can easily see inhabiting the characters but Richards was the biggest surprise.

- The menus are creative and unique per each disk, mimicking a well known local from the show. While they are interesting to watch, occasionally its hard to find the specific menu you want.

- The packaging is good as well but I disliked the packet photos which are cheesy artificial actor promo shots.

- The bloopers are hysterical, you'll be begging for more.

- Jerry Seinfeld's stand up is top notch as well.

In review this is the best network comedy out there; if you want to laugh, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best one yet, January 31, 2006
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
Might be the best season released.

Many classic episodes (Marine Biologist, Puffy Shirt, Pigman), and some pretty good extras this time around.

Good stuff from the actors/writers with their takeson classic episodes and a great segment that features Jason Alexander vs. Costanza vs. Larry David.

Seinfeld's speech at the Smithsonian, along with some funny insights about Jerry Stiller helping to give Frank Costanza a little flair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite season, December 28, 2005
By 
Just Bill (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 5 (DVD)
I don't know what to say about Seinfeld that hasn't been said a thousand times before by people far more analytical and intelligent than I am.

All I know is what I like. And I like -- no, make that LOVE -- Season 5 of Seinfeld.

Every episode works for me. Each one is sharply written and wonderfully acted. The humor is genuine and springs from actors who are comfortable with their characters.

Favorite episodes include:

The Mango

The Puffy Shirt

The Glasses

The Sniffing Accountant

The Bris

The Lip Reader

The Non-Fat Yogurt

The Barber

The Masseuse

The Cigar Store Indian

The Conversion

The Stall

The Dinner Party

The Marine Biologist

The Pie

The Stand-In

The Wife

The Raincoats (1)

The Raincoats (2)

The Fire

The Hamptons

The Opposite

All right. You got me. That lists includes every episode in Season 5. They're all favorites. (Okay, special favorites include "The Marine Biologist," "The Conversion," "The Hamptons" and "The Sniffing Accountant.")

The DVD set includes hilarious outtakes and informative, entertaining behind-the-scenes featurettes.

If you love comedy, and I mean some of the wittiest comedy ever to hit the little screen, Seinfeld Season 5 is just what the doctor ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seinfeld: Season 5
Seinfeld: Season 5 by Tom Cherones (DVD - 2005)
$19.99 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.