Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great & unique comedy series takes its final bow
Season nine starts where we left off the previous season, with George recovering from injuries he took down a flight of stairs, thus interrupting the "Summer of George" he was planning to enjoy with his generous severance check from the New York Yankees. George quickly finds another job, but his potential new boss has misunderstood his cane, and before George can explain...
Published on August 26, 2007 by calvinnme

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite
This is the least enjoyable season. I thought it as unnecessary. An I thought the ending was overly contrived even if their comeuppance was long overdue. In an interview Jerry says that the show was still top rated. Many of us watch TV shows past their prime because of habit. Or we're curious to find out how it ends. Not because the show is still good and/or relevant. The...
Published on November 29, 2009 by D. Marois


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great & unique comedy series takes its final bow, August 26, 2007
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
Season nine starts where we left off the previous season, with George recovering from injuries he took down a flight of stairs, thus interrupting the "Summer of George" he was planning to enjoy with his generous severance check from the New York Yankees. George quickly finds another job, but his potential new boss has misunderstood his cane, and before George can explain the boss tells George about all of the benefits he will enjoy as a handicapped employee. George decides to go along with the ruse when he discovers he will have his own specially outfitted bathroom to suit his handicap - a perk George cannot resist. When George is found out by his employer and even offered another generous severance package to leave, he decides to dig in and the whole situation turns into a humorous seige. George never fails to offend and infuriate people, so later in the season when an acquaintance is working on step nine of the AA program by going around and apologizing for past transgressions George is unhappy that he is never apologized to. He agitates the acquaintance about this so badly that he does eventually get the apology. However, unfortunately now the poor fellow has an anger management problem on top of his alcoholism due to George and must enroll in still another support group.

Elaine is in a longer relationship than usual, continuing her romance with ace auto mechanic David Puddy. The mismatched couple have as tortured a relationship as you would expect and in the opening episode are bickering during a plane ride all the way back from Europe where they have been vacationing. They break up but end up sleeping together every time they see each other. This works out for Jerry and for Puddy since Jerry keeps betting Elaine that she can't stay away from Puddy - and winning - and it turns out that Puddy likes not having to stick around to cuddle with Elaine afterwards.

Although I have no idea how Kramer manages to live in Manhattan without any visible means of support, at least we finally discover why he has been unemployed. He's been waiting for the strike to end at H&H Bagels for 12 years. The strike ends when the minimum wage finally reaches what the union demanded in the first place. Of course, Kramer is the only one of the strikers who has actually been faithfully striking all these years. When he decides to celebrate George's father's version of Christmas - Festivus - he wants the day off. When H&H refuses Kramer goes back on strike because his religious beliefs are not being honored, thus ending Kramer's brief venture into the world of work.

Jerry has numerous romantic misadventures this season including a girlfriend that looks either beautiful or hideous depending on what the lighting is, another girlfriend who likes to wander around sans clothing yet still manages to annoy Jerry when he discovers there is such a thing as "bad naked", and yet another girlfriend whom Jerry throws over for the sound of his own voice imitating the noises that the girl's stomach makes.

This year has Newman making quite a few appearances, most notably in "The Butter Shave" where he discovers that he is strangely attracted to Kramer in a culinary way after Kramer uses butter as a tanning lotion and then falls asleep in the sun. That all-over butter smell is just too much for Newman to resist ending in a hilarious chase scene through the middle of Jerry's stand-up routine. Newman and Kramer are also featured in a satire of the X-Files when Kramer starts to complain about his junk mail to the post office and goes there to declare he no longer wants his mail delivered.

The last four episodes - Puerto Rican Day, the two clip shows, and the finale were a bit of a let-down to me. Puerto Rican Day didn't seem to have the same level of ensemble humor I was accustomed to seeing, the clip shows are just bits and pieces taken from prior shows that were shown on the night the finale was broadcast, and the finale just didn't live up to my expectations. But then it would be hard to wrap up in one hour a show that spent nine years focused on the minutia of life as experienced by four self-involved people and somehow managed to never disappoint. It's hard to have a satisfying conclusion to something that had no real beginning or middle to it. The following is the list of special features:

Digitally Mastered Audio and Video
Audio: English (Stereo), French
Subtitles: English, French, Portuguese, Spanish
"The Last Lap" - the cast and crew reminisce about their final days making SEINFELD and share their impressions about the show's legacy.
Scenes from "The Roundtable" - Excerpts from a conversation with Jerry Seinfeld, Julia Louise-Dreyfus, Jason Alexander, Michael Richards and Larry David nine years after SEINFELD went off the air.
"Inside Looks" - Behind-the-scenes stories from the cast and creators
"Not That There's Anything Wrong With That" - Never-before-seen outtakes and bloopers
"In the Vault" - Season Nine never-before-seen deleted scene saved from the cutting room floor, including 15 bonus minutes from "The Finale".
"Yada, Yada, Yada" - Cast and crew audio commentaries
2 Sein-Imations - See classic SEINFELD scenes re-imagined in Sein-Imation
"Notes About Nothing" - Behind-the-scenes trivia and production notes
"The Betrayal" Back-to-Front - Watch Seinfeld's "backwards" episode forwards
Factoid Tracks on all 24 episodes

Note that "Seinfeld the Complete Series" is now available for pre-order, so you might want to consider that package before buying this solitary final season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ending on a high note, September 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
Many Seinfeld fans were disappointed to see the show end, but it's very understandable that Jerry wanted to end while the show was on top rather than wait until they ran out of ideas.

This season is filled with episodes that contain that classic Seinfeld style of humor. Many people who don't like Seinfeld don't appreciate how complex and well written the story lines can be. The Betrayal (or Backwards episode) seems to be dreaded by many but is a favorite for me. I see it as a well written and thought out episode that ventures into a much more daring style of writing. Show me a movie or TV show that comes even close to this format (flashbacks DON'T count) and still maintains a funny and engaging plot.

The final episode was a disappointment for me, and I will also admit that it fell short of the standards set by the previous episodes. But I also applaud their ability to bring the show to a close and still incorporate so many of the extras that made appearances over the years.

Though maybe not the best, this season is still one of the best of the Seinfeld show. Even if you consider this a hit or miss season, those that hit, are absolutely hilarious. The goofy, unrealistic, off the wall style is what the show was all about. Pick up a copy of this as soon as it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festivus for the Rest-of-Us, October 31, 2007
By 
R. J Rey (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
After nine hilarious seasons, Jerry Seinfeld, Julia Louis Dreyfus, Jason Alexander and Michael Richards say goodbye in "Seinfeld: The Complete Ninth Season". "Seinfeld" follows the funny misadventures of stand-up comedian Jerry Seinfeld and his close group of eccentric friends going through everyday life in New York City. In the final season, Jerry becomes annoyed when his rival Kenny Bania receives much success as a "time slot hit". George tries to preserve his decades-old high score on a Frogger machine. Elaine gets a big surprise when she is invited to a 13-year-old boy's bar mitzvah. Kramer finds the old studio set from "The Merv Griffin Show" and turns his entire life into a talk show. "Seinfeld" is the award-winning comedy series that became one of the most watched sitcoms on television. The ninth and final season has some very funny moments and clever subplots. The season includes such notable episodes like "The Slicer", "The Betrayal", "The Merv Griffin Show" and "The Dealership". The final episode features numerous cameo appearances, scored sky-high ratings but was heavily criticized by audiences and critics as being mediocre and unfulfilling.

Come celebrate the holidays around the Festivus pole and check out "Seinfeld: The Complete Ninth Season". All 24 hilarious episodes of the ninth and final season are presented in their original full screen format. The 4-disc DVD box set contains a clean and nicely detailed picture quality. Its 2.0 Dolby Digital audio is clear and well balanced. One of the most appealing features in the box set is the 20-minute "The Last Lap" featurette that focuses on the final days of the series. Other DVD extras include never-before-seen outtakes, deleted scenes, behind-the scenes interviews with the cast members and creators in the development of the series, production notes and audio commentaries with the cast members and production crew. Overall, "Seinfeld: The Complete Ninth Season" receives an "A-".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exelent Product, April 17, 2008
By 
Alfabrou "cdvectra" (Montevideo, Uruguay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
This product is recomend for you . I live in Uruguay South America , and i a fun of Seinfeld . Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good season, but no the best, November 28, 2007
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
Ok. It's a known fact that the tone of the series changed dramatically when Larry David left. The eight and ninth seasons of Seinfeld are really different from the others. In the first seven seasons, there was at least a little bit (very little bit) of genuine comradeship and affection between the maisn characters. After that, they become the real selfish and greed guys they became known for...

Season Nine is good, but by any standards is far from great. (mainly when you compare it with the show's own very high standards!).There are uneven episodes, but none of them is bad by itself, and the show was far from jumping the shark. Maybe to avoid this at all costs was the reason why Jerry Seinfeld decided to call it a day (this, plus the fact that he was extremely tired from working on the show non-stop all that years - and the last two without support from David).

As for the final episode, I tought it was very good and absurd like the show itself. As lawyer Jack Chiles says in his opening statement to the jury, the absurd of the trial is that the criminal itself (the guy who robbed the fat guy) is free and people's taxes are being thrown away trying to convict the four guys who did not help, based on some silly Good Samaritan law! This concept itself was very funny. OFfcourse, it's very rare to see a sitcom end with the four main characters being in jail!! But, hey, it was for "only" one year... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Season May Not Have Been This Show's Best, But Compared to Other Programs, is Still Way Better Than Most of the Rest!, April 5, 2008
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
If you're only going to buy one season on DVD you obviously are more likely to find more of your favourite classic episode moments on previous season collections. Season 9 however wraps up arguably the greatest show which has ever been on TV and although not quite as good, still has enough classic lines that you're going to want to finish off your Seinfeld collection with. You're also going to also want to do it while this season is still at normal prices and not at collectors ones.

Season 9 for the most part maintained the high quality of the previous seasons with classic moments such as George's girlfriend saying no when he tries to break up with her, a bookstore making him buy and refusing to let him return a book he took into the toilet, he dates a woman who looks like Jerry and the George scenes which brought back flashbacks for anyone who was a kid in the 80s when he has to own the Frogger machine from a closing down pizza shop with his high score. Elaine dates a homeless man, a boyfriend she wonders if is black before she reunites with Puddy who she discovers is religious and thinks she is going to hell but doesn't care, she also is tormented by a fax machine, plagiarises a newspaper cartoon and eats an historic piece of cake among a few adventures. Kramer among other things turns his apartment into a movie set, moves to Seinfeld's parents retirement village in Florida, hides a safebox key inside a neighbours bird, takes up an acting gig in a hospital and steals police caution tape. Jerry continues to find faults with the various women he dates including a sentence finisher and one with a secret tractor story as well as realising dating and paying his maid is not much different to using a prostitute. The quality of the final couple of episodes is not quite up there with the rest of the series, it is almost as if too much effort was put into giving all the writers a go and trying to make these epidodes the best which only resulted in them being not exactly Seinfeldly in feel.

Like with the other series the special features aren't as numerous in number or as good as they could have been. The deleted scene with the actor playing someone who had a sponge left inside of him is hilarious and should have been in the show. As should have a lot of the deleted court scenes from the finale which could have maybe been there at the expense of the slow start to that episode. Like most I thought the finale was a bit of a disappointment compared to my expectations but seriously I don't think it's possible to reach the expectations of the huge number of fans, interestingly in the scenes from the roundtable feature Larry David says he would do it with less hype if he could do it again. Just on that roundtable feature, I don't understand why they didn't include the whole show instead of a very edited version, especially since some of the stuff they kept was also told in the commentaries. On the topic of commentaries I thought they finally got the balance right with the commentary on the Burning in relation to allowing you to hear the lines and at the same moment learn some facts (this one included Jason, Julia and the actor who played Puddy). However the commentaries on The Maid and Puerto Rican Day by the writers was pretty average and mostly related to them telling you how good they were to come up with this or that idea and criticising Jerry for not including their ideas such as George finding out his name is really Georg when he brings his birth certificate to work. I did like how one had the courage to criticise NBC and the politically correct nuts for not showing the Puerto Rican Day Parade episode on TV after it first aired just because a few people protested before it was even aired and they even knew what it was about.

One of if not the best TV show ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best sitcom ever, October 29, 2007
By 
Richard Carpenter (Chicago's South Side) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
The first time I ever really sat down and watched an entire "Seinfeld" episode was when they originally aired the final 2 episodes of the last season. I became interested, based off what I saw in the series finale, after all those years of ignoring the show. I've been watching re-runs and buying the DVDs ever since like clockwork (every November and May for the past 3 years). I sat here thinking to myself, "Isn't it almost November? I wonder if the new 'Seinfeld' DVD is being advertised yet?" So I checked Amazon.com and there it was, coming out next week! This show, like "Married with Children" was so innovative that it spawned many copy-cat shows that ended up looking inferior and unwatchable (Friends) to their predecessors. The ending starts at the beginning, basically stating that as shallow and misguided the characters were, the one thing they were looking for in other people was amongst themselves the whole time. They were meant to be together, and ended up that way, in jail. Hope I didn't ruin the ending. Jerry even mentioned it to Elaine in the episode where he released all his emotions: "Maybe everything we've been looking for has been between us the whole time". And Elaine reitterated that statement. Kramer may have said the exact same thing in an earlier episode, in "The Fix Up". The one thing I'm going to need closure on is to see the origin of that clip where Elaine has a dream that the 4 of them are all in the same bed. I've watched every episode and every deleted scene and I can't find it, except in that one clip show where it originated. What show is that from? If they don't reveal that in this last DVD set, I'll go ballistic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people complain about the final episode??????????????, November 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
This is the season that closed with "the trial" and had fans bitching and moaning loudly that the closer was a letdown. what could be a more fitting ending than to have these four self absorbed malcontents forced to hear 9 years of their faults paraded around in public and then sent to jail where the closing lines are from a joke from the first episode? larry david has long defended this as a fitting ending and so do i - no ending would have suited everyone. a GREAT closing season that pushed the limits from a show that pushed the limits all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few classics, a few good episodes, a few missteps, November 10, 2007
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
"The Merv Griffin Show" is my single all-time favorite episode of the show. I was one of the people who felt let down by the series finale...it definitely wasn't "MASH: Goodbye, Farewell & Amen." I'm in agreement, for the most part, with the Amazon review...it was time for the show to say goodbye, and while they didn't sign off with their best season, the 24 episodes, taken as a whole, were still worthwhile. Some of the better-known and noteworthy episodes included: "The Butter Shave" (high point: Newman's struggle in dealing with his cannibalistic tendencies), "The Voice" (high point: Kramer's "intern"), "The Blood" (high point: the return of Lloyd Bridges as Izzy Mandelbaum), "The Junk Mail" (high point: Wilford Brimley as the Postmaster General, played with the same menacing overtones as his role in "The Firm"), "The Merv Griffin Show" (too many high points to list here), "The Apology" (also known as the "naked girlfriend" episode), "The Strike" (high point: "Festivus"), "The Dealership" (high point: George's battle with the auto mechanic over his Twix bar).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I changed my mind on this season, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: Season 9 (DVD)
When I first saw this season, I thought it was only ok and paled in comparison to Seinfeld during its best seasons. Having recently watched this season again, I have changed my opinion. It helps that since Seinfeld, there have been maybe 4 really good high quality comedy series.
But this season became even wilder, more slapstick, more totally insane and ridiculous situations and I found myself loving it. Although, I hate to admit, I still don't really care for the final episode. But it's still enjoyable.
Seinfeld is, to me, the very best comedic show I've ever seen. We all have those days when we just need a good laugh and popping in a Seinfeld dvd always works for me. And this final season of Seinfeld delivers plenty of great laughs.
And yes, I still miss Seinfeld on Thursday nights. I don't think that will ever change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seinfeld: Season 9
Seinfeld: Season 9 by Tom Cherones (DVD - 2007)
$19.99 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.