Customer Reviews


385 Reviews
5 star:
 (325)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


364 of 400 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the cleverest TV shows ever made now in one boxed set
To me, Seinfeld can basically be broken into three parts - seasons one and two where the series is just finding itself, seasons three through seven in which absolutely everything clicks due to the cast's great on-screen rapport and the genius of Larry David, and the last two seasons after Larry David's departure in which the focus shifted somewhat from a satirical look at...
Published on August 25, 2007 by calvinnme

versus
126 of 141 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING show...however Price fluxuates like gas
I was going to give this a 1 star rating but I love seinfeld way too much, my issue with this listing on amazon is that the price on this product when sold by amazon can go between 100-215 dollars. Im telling you put this on your wish list and watch almost every 2 days the price either dips or rises. Please... if you interested in this product... DO NOT BUY unless its at...
Published on June 25, 2011 by Intercept


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

364 of 400 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the cleverest TV shows ever made now in one boxed set, August 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
To me, Seinfeld can basically be broken into three parts - seasons one and two where the series is just finding itself, seasons three through seven in which absolutely everything clicks due to the cast's great on-screen rapport and the genius of Larry David, and the last two seasons after Larry David's departure in which the focus shifted somewhat from a satirical look at the uglier side of human nature to zany comedy. Usually every episode was a stand-alone. In fact, some of the early episodes are so stand-alone as to have the audience wonder what happened. In season two's "The Deal", Elaine and Jerry decide to try combining their current friendship ("this") with their past by sleeping together ("that"). As George portends though, it is pretty much impossible to mix "this and that" without eventually losing both. The end of the episode shows Jerry and Elaine pretty much settling into "this that and the other" - a romantic relationship - and then the series just drops the subject like the whole episode never happened.

Occasionally Seinfeld would have a story arc of sorts. For example, in season four the show poked fun at network television executives and their decision-making process when George and Jerry wind up pitching the idea for "a TV show about nothing" to NBC. The two offer up what is essentially the script of the widely acclaimed Seinfeld episode "The Chinese Restaurant". The network suits are unimpressed. As an alternative George and Jerry present a ridiculous plot in which a judge sentences someone who has hit Jerry's car to be his butler. This time the suits are bowled over. Seinfeld also truly had a gift for entertaining while pushing the audience to the brink of offense. "The Bubble Boy" presents the audience with a rude and obnoxious individual as the victim of an immune deficiency disease versus the patient angels that usually play this role. "The Outing" introduced the phrase "not that there's anything wrong with that" into American pop culture and also smartly satirized political correctness. "The Junior Mint" shows George in familiar form when he pleads with Jerry not to intervene to save an artist's life because it would devalue the artist's paintings he has purchased in anticipation of that same artist's death.

The show is often absurd, and though it seems impossible that such a group of self-absorbed people could carry on even the pretense of a multi-year friendship, something about it is oddly familiar to most of us. That is at least partly because of the great interaction between the main characters in which they have both comic and straight-man duties depending on the situation, making their relationships seem real although exaggerated.

As far as the details on the set, it is a 32-disc, two-volume set offering all 180 episodes of the show along with "The Official Coffee Table Book," a 226-page, bound anthology filled with photos, quotes, trivia from every episode, and personal reflections from Jerry. The collectible book also includes a bonus disc featuring "The Roundtable," an hour-long round table discussion among the four cast and creator Larry David reminiscing about the award-winning show's run on air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 Years of Living Haphazardly, November 13, 2007
By 
Bruce Hutton (Spokane, Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
This box set (and by the way the TV show behind it) deserves every star it can possibly get. Offering us the long view on "Seinfeld," from day one to day last, it allows us to see the scope of this greatest of all television shows, transmogrifying itself from Jerry-In-Red-Sweatpants at the beginning to Jerry-In-Lear-Jet at the end, like the old drawing of Darwin's "ape-caveman-upright man" progression.

And we see that the ape era wasn't so bad, after all; in fact, looked at as part of the show's evolution, the first two seasons, while the writers and actors were finding their voices, were the truest period of all for the show. Scrambling (sometimes raging) to find something, ANYthing to make a show about, Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld plumbed the best of their depths, offering a crash course in late-20th century survival of the un-fittest. Even at its 4th-season artistic zenith, the show would never be this real.

With the whole thing here in one place, we can even see that there are periods to this show as with any longterm work. The first period (Seasons 1-2) is the most grounded in reality; the second period (Seasons 3-5) is the most artistically rich, where the show has truly found its niche and explores it like a kid in a Toys R Us with an unlimited charge account; the third period (Seasons 6-7) is the wheels-are-off-the-wagon period, where anything goes as long as it's funny, no idea is too insane; the fourth and final period (Seasons 8-9) is just as anything-goes but it gets just a bit too manic at times, and you occasionally lose the suspension of disbelief you need to enjoy any work of fiction. Still, there is no "bad" season of this show, and no single episode is completely devoid of that brilliant "Seinfeld" wit that made this one of the most popular television shows of all time.

But scope is not all this set offers. It offers, simply, EVERYTHING. Confident that you have every episode at your fingertips, you can flip through the set for a show like you'd flip through the Bible for a quote (that's not going too far, is it?). Pick "The Red Dot," then pick "The Limo," then pick "The Puffy Shirt," then pick "The Finale." On and on it goes, until you've seen so many you forget which ones you've seen and you start again. It's all there. And all the extras from all the box sets, from the feature-length documentary on the creation of the show to the great "Inside Looks" and the (frankly kind of useless) commentaries.

New for this box set is a Seinfeld Coffee Table Book, which is kind of the trivia-rich "Notes About Nothing" segments rolled into a single volume. Also included is an hour-long special recorded in 2007 featuring the original four cast members and Larry David watching and commenting on various clips from the show's nine-year run. It's fun and interesting, but it probably won't be watched more than once or twice. The "Inside Looks" are better for tidbits and insight into the show's workings. Finally, the packaging simply couldn't be better: tight, durable, compact. As always, they've cared enough to think of everything.

I love this show, I can watch it again and again, and it bugs me every time I hear people (even Seinfeld and co. themselves) talking about the characters as unredeemable or even vaguely sociopathic. The characters in "Seinfeld" are not anything like that. I think this misinterpretation, which is widespread even among the show's fans, is the fault of the actors and producers themselves, who have famously said that "Seinfeld" is a "no-learning, no-hugging" show. They themselves sold the characters as unredeemable; but the fact is that the 4-way friendship portrayed in this show is the strongest friendship ever portrayed on television. To me, that's what makes "Seinfeld" so great. What that show is REALLY about is people living in a massive, overwhelming urban environment (which, in our society of computers and malls and digital cable is everyone, even those living in small towns) who create and maintain a small outpost of human closeness, of love, in the face of that industrial anonymity we all feel closing in every day. That's certainly why I react to it, and why I've watched it so often. Not just the dialogue and the unorthodox structure of the show, which is brilliant, and not just the dead-on satire of modern American culture, but the relationships. "Seinfeld" is deeper than it ever sold itself.

All in all the complete box set is everything you could ask for, assuming you already like "Seinfeld." If you don't, come on, you're not plunking down two hundred bucks for this thing anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 141 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING show...however Price fluxuates like gas, June 25, 2011
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
I was going to give this a 1 star rating but I love seinfeld way too much, my issue with this listing on amazon is that the price on this product when sold by amazon can go between 100-215 dollars. Im telling you put this on your wish list and watch almost every 2 days the price either dips or rises. Please... if you interested in this product... DO NOT BUY unless its at least under $130. I would hate to be anyone paying more than $130 for this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable..., February 18, 2008
By 
Mike S "mike" (Alpharetta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
I decided I wanted to get this set, at least think about it. Come to find a 4 star rating for this box set. I was surprised, since I feel this is a 5 star series. I thought, perhaps the set is defective or not done right or something, so I read the reviews, only to find out an otherwise 5 star average is brought down because of idiotic winers complaining about having bought the whole series for more already or something. I'm glad to see some others who have noticed this nonsense, so I'll add my two cents as well... If you purchased all of the series separately, I would think you would rate this 4 or 5 stars. Giving it one star because you somehow feel cheated is idiotic and unjust. That has nothing to do with a review of this set.

As others have pointed out, you pays your money, you takes your choice. You got to watch these as they came out. Are you sincerely surprised that the price is less now for the whole series? Wake up! Nearly every DVD I know of is most expensive when it comes out (excluding sales). You see, in a free market society, when you sell something, you set your price at market value. As demand subsides, you lower the price. I think it's called free enterprise, and is the basis of American marketing.

I bought Star wars when it first came out, and now that it's been re-released as a box set, do I give it one star because it's less than I paid? No! That makes absoulutely no sense. There's no reason this box set should be any less than 5 stars, so I had to add my 5 stars to counter these idiots. What a bunch of winers! Review the set next time, not your decision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, July 5, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
I splurged and bought this for my husband who was going through major surgery. I wanted him to have it for his recovery, and sure enough, it was the perfect thing. The sight and sound of him smiling and laughing after all he had been through was priceless, thanks Seinfeld!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Horrible DVDs, April 10, 2011
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
I am seeing a lot of reviews here for the Seinfeld series itself. This review is about what you are actually intending on buying: the DVD set. The vast majority of the population knows what Seinfeld is, and likes it a lot. No need to belabor it. The important things to know about this DVD set are the following. The overall presenation is nice, albeit bulky and heavy. The coffee table book is interesting, but you'll probably never read it or at least not more than once. The presentation of the DVDs is rather poor, and makes getting to individual episodes a bit tedious. Finally, and this is the huge problem with this set, the video mastering of the DVDs is horrible. Now, I know that the source is not the problem here as Seinfeld is currently airing in high definition on cable. In fact, the channels that air Seinfeld in standard definition look as good if not better than these DVDs. There is flagrant compression artifacts in the picture, the picture looks very soft, overall tonality and color can best be described as "dingy." It really is a major disappointment if you have any visual scrutiny when watching video. Hopefully they will re-master this for the Blu-ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEINFELD GOES OUT WITH A BANG. AMAZING JOB!, November 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
I originally bought seasons 1-8 knowing all along SONY would release the complete series with an extra disc of bonus material and some cool book or something. I was torn as to whether I should be sucked in by the big corporate money machine of re-buying already purchased products. However, after buying the series and looking at it I have to give credit where credit is due. SONY, Castle Rock, Jerry Seinfeld, whoever composed the Coffee Table Book and entire layout of the box set itself did a truly stand up job. (No pun intended) They seem to have spared no expense: The book, box, and DVD cases are made of extremely nice leather-like material which looks great and extremely professional. This very good job should be praised and not demeaned. We all knew they were going to release a complete box set. Here's to them releasing it at the same time as season 9 so I didn't have to buy that and then buy this. This is a perfect way to show your support for an amazing series... an amazing way of life.

Thank you Seinfeld for all the laughs.

A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quit complaining. This DVD set is awesome!, November 8, 2007
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
i had seasons 1-8 already. a couple of them i bought, but the others i asked for and received as gifts for christmas, birthdays, and even father's day. once i saw other shows releasing complete series sets, i assumed the same thing would be done with seinfeld, and i was right. i wanted this complete series set for the book, the packaging, and the bonus disc, so today i went to best buy and bought it for $169.99 and it even came in a limited fridge pack with magnets....so to me it was worth it. i enjoyed the first eight season dvd sets, but now i'm really happy with this complete series set. however, instead of complaining like so many people seem to be doing, i'll just put my first eight seasons on eBay, get what i can for them, and consider it as money going towards this set. i really don't see why people are getting so worked up over this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, April 9, 2012
This review is from: Seinfeld: The Complete Series (DVD)
This is one of the greatest series of all time and I highly recommend it... However, I do not understand why "Seinfeld the Complete Series" is currently priced at $199.99 when the total price of seasons 1-9 purchased as individual items only totals about $93. Is the bonus DVD and the special complete series cardboard box really worth the extra $107? I'm really not understanding the price point here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the ultimate way to get the set!, November 10, 2007
this is a very nice dvd set! i knew that i wanted the complete collection when i heard that it was going to be released. i already owned season 1-8, but this set is MUCH nicer, more compact, and even includes the exclusive hardcover book and bonus disc. thanks to eBay i was able to sell off my season sets and put the money toward buying this one. i don't know why this seems to be so expensive here, i got it at best buy, refrigerator and all, for $169.99 (plus tax). this fridge version is nice because it is basically a case to protect the case. i suggest buying this one at best buy while you can still find it. it's limited, so it's only going to go up in value. the magnets are kind of a neat bonus too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Seinfeld: The Complete Series
Seinfeld: The Complete Series by Jerry Seinfeld (DVD - 2007)
$329.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.