Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poems Not To Be Read, But Learned By Heart
In 250 years the mass of pablum we currently pass as literature will be blown away like chaff in the wind.
One of the hard and nourishing kernals left on the threshingroom floor will certainly be Yeats.
These are poems not to be read, but learned by heart.
Among my favorites from this collection (with years of composition) are: "The Stolen Child",...
Published on February 23, 2002 by Bay Gibbons

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This item met the standards for its category.
This item met the standards for its category. This item was in the condition for which it was advertised. Thank you.
Published 6 months ago by Vincent Thomas Howard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poems Not To Be Read, But Learned By Heart, February 23, 2002
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
In 250 years the mass of pablum we currently pass as literature will be blown away like chaff in the wind.
One of the hard and nourishing kernals left on the threshingroom floor will certainly be Yeats.
These are poems not to be read, but learned by heart.
Among my favorites from this collection (with years of composition) are: "The Stolen Child", "To an Isle in the Water" and "Down by the Salley Gardens" (1889); "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" and "When You Are Old" (1893); "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" (1899); "The Folly of Being Comforted" and "Adam's Curse" (1904); "All Things Can Tempt Me", "Brown Penny" and "To a Child Dancing in the Wind" (1910); and "The Cat and the Moon" and "Two Songs of a Fool" (1919).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to Yeats, May 1, 2000
By 
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
I picked up this book of poems as an introduction to Yeats and found it to be wonderful. It contains major works from all of his periods and four plays as well. Highly recommended, for poetry lovers and those with only a passing interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot Go Wrong With Yeats, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
I've always been a fan of William Butler Yeats. I was given a poetry book with all the great Poets many years ago, but, unfortunately it was lost. I'm so pleased that I purchased this book. There's nothing better than unwinding from a long day by sitting down with a hot cup of tea (or nice glass of wine) and reading poetry. Definitely relaxes the brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The golden apples of the moon, the silver apples of the sun, December 15, 2005
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
Yeats lives in the minds of most lovers of great modern poetry through lines of incredible beauty.

"And we will wander hand in hand

Through hollow lands and hilly lands,

And pluck till time and times are done,

The golden apples of the moon,

The silver apples of the sun.

"We must lie down where all the ladders start

In the foul rag- and- bone shop of the heart"

"But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,

and loved the sorrows of your changing face"

"An aged man is but a paltry thing

a tattered soul upon a stick

unless soul claps its hand and sing..

Yeats believed in much nonsense in his life, and apparently was not the kindest of human beings but he wrote some very great poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Questions, September 26, 2006
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
During a recent fright when we were escaping our apartment down a ladder, I took two books with me, thinking that perhaps I would need something strong. Happily Yeats's SELECTED POEMS AND FOUR PLAYS was at hand, together with, well, something private. This book, edited by the late M.L. Rosenthal, is an expanded edition of a previous book by Rosenthal that had the same title except it was called, SELECTED POEMS AND TWO PLAYS. This present edition doubles the number of plays it prints in one stroke, adding the very late THE DEATH OF CUCHULAIN as well as the strange, feverish THE WORDS UPON THE WINDOW-PANE. Previously we had only the two plays PURGATORY and CALGARY. Did I say CALGARY? I meant, CALVARY, and neither of them are worth the paper they're printed on. In college my professor used to tell us that Yeats, together with his patron Lady Gregory, invented the Abbey Theater and kept it going by writing plays annually and encouraging their society friends not only to attend but to pledge money in exchange for participation in a community-based theater. However, according to Rosenthal, some of Yeats' plays were distinctly unpopular even with this sudsidized theater and neither the actors nor the audience loved them to death.

As a boy, my dad used to quote Yeats on every occasion and he (Yeats) was a patron saint to many Irishfolk. Today not so much, but as I made my way down the ladder I was glad I had the Yeats book tucked into my pants. He is the epitome of the artist who keeps changing through circumstance, open to new influence, even partial to drugs, for many credit his late flowering to the monkey glands he took in Switzerland to rejuvenate his sex life, the precursor to today's Viagra. In his youth he became a member of a secret band called the Order of the Golden Dawn, and spiritualist interests fueled his poetry and politics both. On his honeymoon he discovered that his wife, Georgie, had mediumistic leanings, and they spent many night holding seances and conversing with the spirits of the dead, all of whom, or so Yeats claimed, had arrived to dispense new metaphors for his poetry. He later wrote up these events in his book A VISION.

Rosenthal was a superb editor who went back and checked all of the original manuscripts and who could distinguish Yeats' handwriting in all its different avatars, and this helped him date the poems to within an inch of their lives. His task was made no easier by Yeats' habit of revision and by his need to provide an income for his sisters, who wound up producing elaborate private, limited printings of much of his work to sell to collectors only at absurdly inflated prices. These books are beautiful but useless, like so many of the romantic Irish flourishes the poet's late work commemorates only to condemn. It is a poetry of questions, which always appeals to young people, those who know the answers. "What's water but the generated soul?" (That one always threw me.) "How can we tell the dancer from the dance?" "Is every modern nation like the tower,/ Half dead at the top?" (Makes you think about our nation, caught up in a senseless war against Iraq.) "Those masterful images because complete/ Grew in pure mind, but out of what began?" "What voice more sweet than hers/ When, young and beautiful,/ She rode to harriers?" Riding to harriers doesn't sound so fabulous now, but we've all got something we look back on and say, everything's been changed, changed utterly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction to Yeats, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
Compared to all the books I reviewed, I thought this did the best job of presenting Yeats most famous works in logical sequence. I could see him maturing as a writer over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This item met the standards for its category., January 7, 2014
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
This item met the standards for its category. This item was in the condition for which it was advertised. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE!!!!!, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
The book arrived extraordinarily early, and arrived in pristine and superb condition. The poems that have been encompassed are simply amazing! It arrived right on time for my marvelous Modern Irish Literature course!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selected Poems and Four Plays of William Butler Yeats, August 19, 2011
By 
Diane S. Akacich (San Fran Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
I haven't yet read all of it, but I ordered it because it's beautiful, classic poetry. I am quite happy with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Understanding What Your Order, August 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats (Paperback)
I was happy to have found the book I had been seeking, and trusted, (a word that should never be utilized in net-purchases)
it to be new or nearly so, as the price was just that. However when I received the book I found reader notes amuck.
I seldom if ever destroy the sacred pages of a book, especially one by such a beloved author with mindless ramblings but others do it and that is fine for them but they should NEVER attempt their resale with-out notice. This book is useless to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats
Selected Poems And Four Plays of William Butler Yeats by W. B. Yeats (Paperback - September 9, 1996)
$18.00 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.