Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single volume I have seen, June 12, 2001
By 
Timothy Dougal (Joliet, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
There are a lot of Meister Eckart books around, but this is the best I have seen. The introduction is especially illuminating. Oliver Davies dispenses with scholastic writings and materials related to the heresy charges, focusing, chronologically, on instructional works and sermons. The Meister Eckhart that emerges from these pages is one who, while taking good works and devotional practices for granted, is so immersed in the Christianized, Neo-Platonic inner life, that he appears, at times, totally unorthodox, at other times, wholly traditional. Reading him is a mind altering experience not to be missed. The translations are very good, and puzzling passages are annotated. References to ancient authors are likewise noted. As a side issue, several of the sermons contain glimpses of medieval scientific theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Love essentially resides in the will alone, so that whoever has more will, has more of love.", July 5, 2008
By 
frumiousb "frumiousb" (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I have not read anything by Eckhart before I read this selection by Oliver Davies for Penguin. I have since read by many that the Paulist Press collections are considered to be a better grouping. This does not surprise me, the primary purpose of the Penguins being a good introduction for the many people rather than designed to appeal to the scholar or expert. I found it a good first encounter, and there does not seem to be any criticism that the Davies is either misleading in what it collects or poor in terms of translation.

This edition is broken into five main sections: The Talks of Instruction, The Book of Divine Consolation, On the Noble Man, Selected German Sermons, and Selected Latin Sermons. It also is published with an introduction by Davies to the major themes in Eckhart's thought, a note on selection and translation, a select bibliography (which I appreciated, and which seemed very helpful), and a Register of Eckhart's German sermons. The notes to the main text are included at the end of the book. I continue to wish to see notes in situ rather than at the end but I am apparently in the minority with this view.

As a lay reader (by which I mean that I am neither religious scholar nor historian) I was reading the book for my own enlightenment and edification. I was most struck by Eckhart's ideas of the relationship between the soul and God, his view of time and timelessness, and the quiet repetition of the notion that a relationship to the Good comes from within rather than without. He rejects the importance of forms of worship and insists on an interior acceptance of self-love as a necessary precondition to the love of God and others. As callow as it seems to say, I found the book helpful. It kept me reading and thinking and I often experienced it as personally very moving. I particularly engaged with the selections from The Book of Divine Consolation.

I would recommend both Eckhart in general and this edition in particular. I may myself circle back at some point to pick up the more complete editions. But this should be seen as credit to Penguin in providing the sufficient introductory experience rather than an expression of lack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good selection of Eckhart's works, October 13, 2006
By 
Greg (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This edition of Meister Eckhart capitalises on the strengths of Penguin books; slim volumes which are fairly inexpensive and contain reasonably good scholarly introductions and notes. This edition contains the German Dominican mystic's German sermons, including several ones which deal with key Eckhartian themes, such as the distinction between 'God' and the 'Godhead', the birth of the Word in the soul, and others.

While not as good as the Paulist Press editions of Eckhart's works, this version serves as a very useful introduction to this great mystic's thoughts and sermons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing and Profound!, November 24, 2007
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
If anything else, Eckhart is completely entertaining to read. This is an excellent selection of what may be his greatest and most compelling contribution to Christian mysticism--namely, his vernacular sermons!

The introduction affords just enough context to get a taste of Eckhart's world, and I found Davies' translation both fresh and enlivening, as if I were sitting in a small audience filled with Beguines or other aspiring contemplatives, watching and listening to the Meister in the flesh, gesticulating and riffing extemporaneously off his vast store of classical learning.

Don't expect Eckhart to stay true to the confines of Church dogma. He will never contradict Catholic teaching outright, even taking a few seconds to affirm it from time to time. But in the end and going further than any other theologian in his day and from the beginning of Christian theology, Echkhart weds - and without reservations - the context and language of Christianity with its scriptures along with the philosophy of Platonism. Many would argue that his attempts were a failure from the beginning, but I say, irregardless of Eckhart's overall successes or failures, it is truly amazing and worthwhile to witness such a courageous and almost reckless attempt at a truly needed innovation. Even if you find yourself disagreeing with his often radical conclusions, you will encounter a wonderfully contagious spirit, which is both cheery and boistrous - the perfect antidote to the long and boring sermons we so often force ourselves to sit through.

Eckhart lived as he spoke, and paid for it in the end. The Church censored his message, and the great teacher left this world in infamy. Luckily Eckhart's writings, especially his sermons, are making a modern day comeback, and his value and unique contributions to Christian theology are even conceded by the Church today.

If one would like a better comprehension of the Meister's intellectual landscape, I recommend Bernard McGinn's, "The Mystical Thought of Meister Eckhart."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystic Master, April 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This collection of writings by Meister Eckhart is one of the best. Collected without much bias towards him or against him, it is left to the reader to judge the writings (as opposed to books edited by Matt Fox, where he seems to say that one who doesn't believe Eckhart's writings must be a nut). Nonetheless, this intriguing book is filled with writings from the midevil mystic. A must have for all searching for the spiritual side of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystic Master, April 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This collection of writings by Meister Eckhart is one of the best. Collected without much bias towards him or against him, it is left to the reader to judge the writings (as opposed to books edited by Matt Fox, where he seems to say that one who doesn't believe Eckhart's writings must be a nut). Nonetheless, this intriguing book is filled with writings from the midevil mystic. A must have for all searching for the spiritual side of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A confessed Eckart-ite, October 1, 2011
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Having read so much of Eckhart's work, I love this particular volume. His wisdom is that of all mystics, not confined within time nor reference, if you read his work correctly it's an echo of a Buddhist cum xtian with a tad of Krishnamurti. Love Eckhart. If the only prayer you said was thank you that would be enough...etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, March 23, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
eckhart reads like a combination of an open-minded seeker-pope and a buddhist or taoist master. this book was a wild introduction for me to a very interesting thinker, unfortunately one mostly hidden among the jutting rocks of religious history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricy for Kindle, given the material, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is a review of only the Kindle edition of this book, not the hard copy, although some observations may apply to both.

As I say in the title, almost $9 is fairly pricy for a Kindle edition which has a good, but not great selection of Meister Eckhard's works. I'm comparing this primarily to the Bernard McGinn / O'C. Walshe edition "The Complete Mystical Works of Meister Eckhart" which has all of Eckhart's 100 and more German sermons plus four treatises (this edition has three, all of which are in McGinn). This edition has only 29 of the German sermons and four Latin sermons.

The McGinn volume is relatively pricy, but it is also the only volume with all available German sermons. I cannot speak for the quality of the translation from the Middle High German, but the one done by O'C Walshe is considered to be the best by McGinn, which he has further imporved upon. I will not concern myself with the value of Eckhart's work, because if you are considering this book, you already know that.

Of course, that does not take into account the value of any Kindle edition over a hard copy. As Kindle editions go, this one, like most others I've seen of Penguin editions is pretty good, but not the best. It does not have an active Table of Contents to all the sermons. The bibliography is good, except that most of the references are to books and papers in German. If you can read German, then this is a really good thing.

If all you want is a taste of Eckhart, this is a very good choice, as it has his important series of first four sermons in Middle High German, which form a series laying out many of his theological ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundwork, February 9, 2014
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Working through biographies and criticism of Eckhart, I found this volume to be a really fine selection of the most powerful works and sermons. I have the two volumes of the Paulist collection, and they are great too. But you can't go wrong with this one as a starter and beyond (and cheaper too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Selected Writings (Penguin Classics)
Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) by Meister Eckhart (Paperback - March 1, 1995)
$17.00 $12.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.