Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 22, 2013
If you are interested in General Semantics and find diving right into the entirety of 'Science and Sanity' grim and daunting, these selections are ideal for acquiring a basic overview of Korzybski's thinking.

'Selections from Science and Sanity' provides convincing key points and postulates that lead way for a beneficial application of non-aristotelian systems. In other words, this book may change your life.

Love it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Alfred Korzybski made major contributions to many fields. My introduction was from counseling inmates at a major prison;. These men were changing their lives by reading and applying Korzybski's insights.

Reading Korzybski is a difficult intellectual process. It requires thinking hard about human communication. But the results are worthwhile.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
I truly believe that this book should be issued to every person born! The good people at IGS ( Institute of General Semantics ) have been working hard since the original copy was made in 1939. Only good things can come to one that reads this book!
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
A challenging and provocative book -- though an edited version of Korzybski's great work, and 80 years old -- this book will make most anyone think hard about how they think about reality and use language, which was precisely Korzybski's intent. Some of his conclusions are clearly dated, but he knew that was coming, and that the overall thrust of his thinking would describe scientific thinking for decades while challenging the fantastic thinking of his age, and ours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An interesting view that is not to be overlooked. As in physics we changed or concepts from Newtonian (space and time) to Einstein or non-Newtonian (space/time). We see this in any fields and some of us embrace the change and see how infinite our views can still work; others of us resist knowing that there is something fundamentally wrong if you can not put your finger on it.

Korzybski opens up our mind and world to the possibilities of Non-Aristotellian systems and general semantics.

"If one wishes to obtain a definite answer to Nature one must attack the question from a more general and less selfish point of view"
M. PLANCK
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
Bought to try and explain the complexity of the larger work to others, something many years of trying has failed. No doubt there is some fundamental error in my reiteration of the original. My replicative error may be corrected with this work of highlights from the tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Passed on my copy, will have to re-order
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
The impact of semantics on our daily lives is enormous. This book gives unique insights into the failings of the most common method of human communication, and proposes a remedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An interesting view that is not to be overlooked. As in physics we changed or concepts from Newtonian (space and time) to Einstein or non-Newtonian (space/time). We see this in any fields and some of us embrace the change and see how infinite our views can still work; others of us resist knowing that there is something fundamentally wrong if you can not put your finger on it.

Korzybski opens up our mind and world to the possibilities of Non-Aristotellian systems and general semantics.

"If one wishes to obtain a definite answer to Nature one must attack the question from a more general and less selfish point of view"
M. PLANCK
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2015
It will change your life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse