Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide For Professional Musicians
This excellent guide should be on every professional musician's bookshelf. In 'The Self-Promoting Musician, 2nd Edition', Peter Spellman clearly describes the extraordinary changes happening in the music industry and the career opportunities these create. Mr. Spellman explains how to create business and marketing plans that work, setting up your business, starting a...
Published on June 7, 2009 by Eric Jensen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars OK
Returned.Purchased for a class on the business of music. From what I read of it looking at the copy a friend of mine used for the class, it seemed pretty out of touch with today's music business. It had some good ideas, but overall, you could learn more from the Internet and talking to working musicians
Published 1 month ago by Robert C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide For Professional Musicians, June 7, 2009
By 
Eric Jensen (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This excellent guide should be on every professional musician's bookshelf. In 'The Self-Promoting Musician, 2nd Edition', Peter Spellman clearly describes the extraordinary changes happening in the music industry and the career opportunities these create. Mr. Spellman explains how to create business and marketing plans that work, setting up your business, starting a record label, networking, promo and PR, booking gigs, using the media and the Internet, etc. 'The Self-Promoting Musician, 2nd Edition' is accessible, practical, and full of useful resources. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great..., May 7, 2009
I have not yet finished reading this book, that said, it has offered so much insight into the music business and even life and how to be organized and professional in both. It is well written and I will be recommending this book to the reading list for the music company I work for. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reinforcement, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great read for those of us wanting to read a smaller book with the same amount of useful info for an aspiring musician to accomplish some success in their musical endeavours. arrived in great condidtion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get down about your music career, get up and get this book!, January 21, 2012
If you thought you understood what indie music marketing was about, think again. This is one very necessary and unique book that's going to rocket you to success. When I was teaching songwriting at Berklee in the 90's, I sent many of my students to Peter Spellman for career advice, and let me assure you, those students were never the same! Peter's suggestions were always ahead of the curve, and his books usually left other music business books in the dust.
Now he's updated his classic musician promotion tome and it's better than ever. This book deftly combines the wisdom of Zen with guerilla marketing tips that will motivate you to get out there and do what needs to be done to succeed. Peter Spellman believes that everyone has a good shot at a career in the music business, provided they have a strategy fueled by knowledge and creativity. Don't get down about your flagging music career - get up and get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, July 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Found this book full of useful ideas.

It both inspired me, and continues to inspire me to take new actions and refine my approaches to help my further my career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, September 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Returned.Purchased for a class on the business of music. From what I read of it looking at the copy a friend of mine used for the class, it seemed pretty out of touch with today's music business. It had some good ideas, but overall, you could learn more from the Internet and talking to working musicians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.