Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 26, 2009
In her book "Self Promotion for Introverts", Nancy Ancowitz provides a solid dose of practical advice for introverts alongside humorous anecdotes that ease the reader from chapter to chapter. Ancowitz's to the point writing style allows the reader to internalize key takeaways and realize the necessary steps that can and should be taken to "self promote", a far from dirty word.

A well-written and much needed addition to the literature, "Self Promotion for Introverts" is a must-read for the fascinating 50% of the population who have brilliant ideas and are just itching for the way to communicate them. I would highly recommend this book.

~Amy Beth Oppenheimer and Jay Horowitz
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2009
I consider myself an extrovert who has moments of introversion. One need not be an introvert to gain insight from this superb book. Ancowitz keeps the reader entertained with wonderful anecdotes yet focused on the goals at hand. Promoting oneself need not be unpleasant for the self-promoter nor his/her audience.

I particularly loved the practical interview and presentation tips. It's a great resource from cover to cover. Happy reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2009
A superb book, for introverts and extroverts alike. Ancowitz weaves practical tips, humorous anecdotes, and insightful advice throughout this helpful and entertaining book. In tough times, it's just the right guide to help promote oneself in personal and business journeys. Ancowitz speaks to the reader directly and provides exercises to help introverts achieve their goals. Even extroverts can benefit from such excellent advice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2009
Lots of concrete, helpful tips about public speaking, going on job interviews, and other things that give many of us introverts the heebie jeebies. These are tremendously important skills you can practice and improve, and it doesn't take years of psychotherapy to do it. Buy it for yourself, and, even better, buy it for your favorite teenage introvert.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2011
Nancy Ancowitz has written a well-organized, humorous and thoroughly researched guide for introverts in our society who may feel disadvantaged professionally and personally when it comes to competing against or simply dealing with those much more visible extraverts. She immediately makes an essential distinction that she stresses with a variety of "for instances," namely that introversion is not to be confused with shyness and is certainly not, as some would have it, a disease in need of a cure. One of my favorite parts of the book is the Extraverts versus Introverts Lexicon on pages 225-26. There Nancy takes words and provides definitions from both the extravert's and the introvert's perspectives. The word "Alone," for example, is defined as "Lonely" by the extravert but as "Enjoy some peace and quiet" by the introvert. She thus does both introverts and their extraverted opposites a big favor by creating a window for understanding from both perspectives. She goes out on a limb, as an introvert, to seek out the sage advice of a wide array of celebrities, among them Bill Clinton, craigslist founder Craig Newmark, Warren Buffett, media mogul Cathie Black, basketball phenom Magic Johnson, and boxing promoter Don King. She extracts pearls of wisdom from each of these luminaries yet keeps the book grounded in its orientation to everyday people. In each chapter you will find exercises, helpful hints, and a framework for "reflection and action" that encourages you to summarize what you've learned and how you intend to use that knowledge. The breadth of information and guidelines for success in Nancy's book is stunning. I would strongly encourage everyone, introverts in particular, to take advantage of the wisdom Nancy has accumulated and, as she implores, "go inward, outward and onward."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
If you coach leaders who are introverted "Self Promotion for Introverts" is a must read. Some highly technical leaders, such as actuaries and IT professionals, are often highly introverted. I use Nancy's book as a coaching assignment - I ask my clients to read "Self Promotion for Introverts" and then identify their top 3 takeaways. They always have more than 3!

Margaret H. Greenberg, co-author of Profit from the Positive: Proven Leadership Strategies to Boost Productivity and Transform Your Business, with a foreword by Tom Rath
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
Loved everything about this book ! Helped me understand other people as well as myself ! I will promote this book to anyone who loves to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
Nancy Ancowitz writes an interesting book aimed at introverts and how to help them get ahead. There is a lot of good psychology in this volume. Like dealing with your negative self-talk and identiflying and focusing on your strengths. She includes exercises to help you with your game plan and with identifying your target audiences.

Included are chapters on networking and public spaking. She also adds a chapter on job searching and interviewing for introverts. The final chapter in the book is about the world through the eyes of an extrovert.

I espcially enjoyed the chapter on networking. Until the a few years ago I did not know what networking was, but it is a very useful tool in promoting oneself and ones product. I also found the chapter on target audiences useful. As an author, I'm always looking for tips on how I can promote my work and do a better job of advertising and selling myself. I found this book to be very practical and useful. -- Valerie Lull, Author, Ten Healthy Teas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
I was mostly unimpressed with this book. The advice tends towards the fairly unremarkable and obvious, and there are other more useful books dealing with introversion which I would suggest would be more worthwhile than this one.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Seems like this book was written for me. A great guide for introverts who strive to be super stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse