Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Says it like it is
This documentary takes an interesting and comical look at how religion and our faith has been tailored to fit the needs of whomever is yelling the loudest at the time and has the best mass marketing approach. You would only take offense if you are those following the types of churches portrayed in the film. The ideal that controlling the minds of individuals through fear...
Published on August 15, 2011 by Rick

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Disappointment
This movie didn't really contain anything that someone who has questioned their faith hasn't already read fifty times in their search for knowledge. It was a huge disappointment. I expected more out of Noam Chomsky.
Published 14 months ago by zymmetrix


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Says it like it is, August 15, 2011
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
This documentary takes an interesting and comical look at how religion and our faith has been tailored to fit the needs of whomever is yelling the loudest at the time and has the best mass marketing approach. You would only take offense if you are those following the types of churches portrayed in the film. The ideal that controlling the minds of individuals through fear and the promise of salvation if you follow a specific path is not new to religion. I think the underlying theme to this film is to show how far we've reached from the initial intent of religion and God. It's not about doing one to others as you would want done to you or helping the sick and weak. It's about how much money you can collect to build a bigger church and buy more influence in those making decisions about our laws and economy. Unfortunately modern religion has become the furthest thing from what Jesus ever intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every religious person should see this!, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
The seven reviews so far are split between those with an open mind and those who take everything on faith. If you rely on faith rather than reason you will hate this video. If you're religious but open minded you with gain historical and modern day insights into the evolution of religious thought and belief. Very well produced and historically accurate, funny and at the same time scary. Yes it pokes fun at religion and is a bit over the top but the truth of how religion has evolved is also frightening. It explains why there are so many religious denominations all claiming to be the only true religion; each claiming that if you don't follow its beliefs you're going to hell. It explains why so many faithful hate the equally faithful who don't share the same religious dogma. Highly recommended for the entire family as a starting point for discussing the basis for their beliefs or faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selling God, March 26, 2011
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
In this documentary, the movie pokes fun at the way our society has evolved from a society that worships god to one that uses god for our own purposes. Even though I'm a devout Christian, I found myself laughing out loud at the clever way points were made throughout the movie. It reminds me of the Michael Moore style of documentary which pokes fun while making even those he's making fun of, find him funny. I saw this movie in the theater and am so excited to get it and show it to my friends. What a genius piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and interesting documentary, July 23, 2011
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
Just recently watched this documentary and thoroughly enjoyed it. To be fair it is one sided but it doesn't really poke fun at average christians but more on their ministers and preachers. This movie is not a history lesson of christianity even though it does give some historical facts here and there through out the documentary. It mainly shows how christianity has changed over the last century and some of the hypocrisies that have occurred. All in all, it was a very fun and interesting documentary. If you are a hard core, fundamentalist christian then you may not enjoy this documentary because it does poke fun at you, and well honestly, it's well deserved. If you are a average christians then I think you will enjoy this. If you are a secular person then you will definitely enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food For Thought, March 25, 2013
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
The fact is, the Christian religion in general, and the Catholic church in particular, do not have an exemplary history. Between the Inquisition, the Crusades, their open disdain for evolutionary science, gays, women's rights to name a few things, they don't put themselves up as being a good bunch of guys. This documentary examines the evangelical movement within the church in a mildly jocular manner.

Here's the scoop. Writer/director Carl Christman (that must be a ghost name) tackles various aspects of said evangelical movement, such as prayer, faith, Heaven and Hell, etc and shows the views of the big names in the evangelical movement (Pat Robertson, Jerry Falwell et al) and how they clash with science, contemporary culture and just plain logic. It appears all too easy a task.

I'm not one to say science is always correct. They have a pretty whacky history all by themselves, but I'm pretty certain the Earth is more than 10,000 years old. I'm also not going to blame the ACLU and pro-rights groups for the horror of 911. And why aren't women allowed in the upper echelons of the church? History moves forward and as many bad things there are that happen, humans seem to be a generally decent bunch overall. Yes there have been Hitlers and Stalins but, by and large, they are few and far between. It's just a shame their actions harm such a large number of people. So why does the church want to keep us down with guilt and fear of damnation? And gays. What is the church's problem with gays? It's my understanding that, through studies of twins separated at birth, homosexuality is predominantly in the genes. Doesn't that make it God's will?

I could have used a bit less whimsy in the tone. Upending a religious platform is a tough road to begin with. You are going to tick a lot of people off. Doing so with humor can't help your cause. But still, there is much here to ponder. There are some knowledgeable talking heads present to lend logic to the arguments and they're good arguments.

This is a part of a larger movement taking a closer look at the history of Christianity. It deserves to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative but not for the faithful, July 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
Manages to get the same message across that Bill Maher did with out being mean. The reviewer who felt "old" people shouldn't have an opinion is bothered because these old people make logical cohesive arguments really points out the bigotry of some of the faithful. I guess by this argument, whatever the Pope has to say should be thrown out as well. Maybe he doesn't know that Pat Robertson and Fallwell fall into the old category. If you are one of the faithful, this shouldn't bother you and you can laugh at the secular idiots knowing full well they will not be saved, secular folks will find this entertaining but not likely full of new information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative if you have an open mind, July 9, 2011
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
This documentary explains the basic ways in which religion grows and supports itself. I was not surprised to see a few negative reviews here since this film is critical of modern Christianity. If you are a religious person who doesn't have an open mind then this film will probably offend you.

The film starts out by explaining how religions evolve over time through natural selection. The religions which have beliefs that promote growth are the ones that survive while others fade to obscurity. For the rest of the film they explain the strategies and beliefs that help bring money and people to the church. The film proves their point using many informative interviews and clips from Christian events/promotional materials.

The only criticism I have is that the filmmakers sometimes use humor at the wrong times. Some of their jokes such as the "7 basic tenets that all modern Christian denominations agree upon" came across as arrogant and overly biased.

This documentary provides interesting points and is especially informative if you are not aware of the machinery that drives the business side of religious organizations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Disappointment, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
This movie didn't really contain anything that someone who has questioned their faith hasn't already read fifty times in their search for knowledge. It was a huge disappointment. I expected more out of Noam Chomsky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shows the hypocrisy in modern (professing) Christianity, December 18, 2012
By 
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
The short fact is: Jesus is not for sale.

If one would just look at the words of Christ and take them for what they say, they would see quickly that most professing christianity is actually anti-Christ.

I appreciated the hypocrisy the film-maker points out but it is clear he is ignorant to what a real Christian is. Simply put, a real Christian is a follower of Christ. That means they look to Christ to learn how to live, not to their denomination, doctrine, dogma, etc. Most of Christ's teachings can be found in Matthew chapters 5, 6 and 7. Take a quick look at compare what Jesus taught to what your church is teaching (or, if you are an atheist or profess some other religion, compare it to what the professing christians you know are teaching or living out). I am sure you will see that they are actually anti-Christ. If they are anti-Christ, that means they are NOT Christians! Try not to confuse the real with the false.

An example: just a few minutes into this film a man says, "Modern evangelism should be about making friends with God." Ok, let's say that's true. Where can we look to see how we can be a friend of God? How about with what JESUS said? Yes, that's right. Instead of humanistic, what's-in-it-for-me thinking, let's see what JESUS had to say. He said, "You are my friends if you do whatsoever I command you." How many friends would you have if that were your condition of friendship?

Another example: The question was asked in this film, "Who would Jesus kill?" Well, once again, we can look to Jesus and see who he would kill. He said, "Love your enemies. Bless them that curse you. Do good to them that hate you, pray for them who dispitefully use you and persecute you." Can we love our enemies and kill them? No. Christ was our example. He went as a sheep to the slaughter. He told us to be as harmless as doves. We leave the judging to God. He told us to love. We are to love.

A good message titled "Jesus Is Not For Sale" can be heard here:
[ ... ]
As a side note, it is nearly december 25. The current sign on our church says: "The reason for the season: money." That's right. It's not about Christ at all. It's about money. Jesus was not even born on dec. 25th and besides that, it's a pagan holiday packaged up with a 'christian' label on it. Hypocrisy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, July 14, 2011
By 
Diana (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Selling God (DVD)
When watching this video, one must keep in mind the black comedy that is used throughout. It's supposed to be a little funny. And it is. This is a great movie, eye opening, while answering your questions and confirming the thoughts you already knew about organized religion. Don't go by the negative reviews, just watch it yourself. It's a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Selling God
Selling God by Carl Christman (DVD - 2011)
$17.99 $12.89
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.