Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one outstanding Marine book.
I own several of the more popular table top books about the Corps,the ones with emblems in the center of the cover, but this one is really superior. First that needs mentioning are the outstanding photos of the artifacts, items that you would see in a museum. Also the text tells the story in enough detail to allow the reader to gain a good knowledge and appreciation of...
Published on October 22, 2006 by Lawrence Butts

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bought used will NEVER buy again used
the cover had several spots on it and the spine on the book had been set on several areas in the book. VERY USED
Published 7 months ago by chris dicus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one outstanding Marine book., October 22, 2006
I own several of the more popular table top books about the Corps,the ones with emblems in the center of the cover, but this one is really superior. First that needs mentioning are the outstanding photos of the artifacts, items that you would see in a museum. Also the text tells the story in enough detail to allow the reader to gain a good knowledge and appreciation of this historic institution. The book is well put together and really an attractive edition. Also it tells the Marine Corps story right up to our current war on terrorism. What really made me buy the book was when I saw 3 photos that were taken of Harrier jets of the Bumblebees of VMA-331 aboard the USS Nassau during the 1990-1991 Gulf War. I was a member of VMA-331 during that cruise. In fact I ran into the author, Col Chenoweth, one day in medical triage, as he was headed out to take photos of the air ops. In the book, there are two standard deck shots of the jets on the ship and then there is one of a pilot in his jet preparing for takeoff. That pilot was Captain Manny Rivera USMC of New York who was lost in an aircraft crash soon after that picture was taken.

That's all it took.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Few, the Proud!, November 5, 2006
There are a number of books on the Corps, but this is one of the best, professionally prepared and well produced books I have seen. With that in mind, it seems odd that the one and very serious error, as was previously mentioned, is the Birthday of the Corps. As the author, researchers, or producers should have known, the Corps of US (or Continental) Marines was born on November 10, 1775 and we (Marines) will celebrate 231 years of proud service to this copuntry in a few days.

The remainder of the book gives a clear, precise and detailed account of the history and equipment of the Corps, without getting bogged down with specific elements of that history. Should a reader wish to look further on a portion of history, as noted, there are many more detailed accounts of specific periods, battles, etc.

However, it presents the story of the Marines with gusto, like the burning of Washington by the British during the War of 1812, when Marine gunners and riflemen from the Barracks and the Navy Yard held the British advance, causing them numerous casualties, allowing the Continental Army to withdraw. One of the few buildings not destroyed by the Brits is the Marine Barracks at 8th and I, and is one of the oldest buildings still standing in the city. A Royal Marine officer refused to burn the building out of respect for the gallant stand taken by the American Marines in their desperate attmpt to defend the city.

The book itself is well produced and handsomely presented, and for the price, a solid bargain, certainly for any Marine, or anyone else interested in the history of the Marine Corps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Semper Fi: USMC History, January 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great history of our nation's finest defenders of liberty. The author tells it like it is, with nothing held back. A recommended read for everyone to let them know that freedom is not free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marine Corp book, October 3, 2008
By 
Jane (Middlebury CT) - See all my reviews
I bought two for two of my grandsons - they were absolutely delighted with the book! They both felt it was full of information they had never learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Semper Fi, December 12, 2007
This book was placed in our local library in memory of Staff Sergeant William J. Daniels, United States Marine Corps.(Ret.). It is the best book I have ever seen on the Marine Corps and proud to have placed it there in his honor.
Signed: Robert Morgan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, January 30, 2008
No real surpises or shocks to anyone who knows the history of the corps; but if you aren't familiar then it is a great overview. The pictures, MOH commendations, and other sidebars are also excellent. A copy of this should be on every coffee table in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for friend entering Marines.... he loves it, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this book used but it was in terrific condition. Bought for a friend entering the Marines ... he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, December 9, 2011
By 
Jade Hetes (RIO RANCHO, NM, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this book for my husband, a Marine, after one of his friends informed me that a photo of my husband adorns one of the pages. It is a christmas gift for him, but I couldn't resist flipping through it. The pictures are wonderful (especially his, but I'm biased), and this is very well done. It was a lot bigger then I expected, and was pleasantly suprised when I got the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for your favorite Marine, February 18, 2007
By 
KiraSonne "Kira from Germany" (Roswell, N.M. United States) - See all my reviews
My husband enjoyed this book so much. It is well written, the research well done and the photos awesome. He appreciated the chapter on the war in Iraq as well. It made a great gift on Valentines day including a Globe & Anker cake *grin*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curator, Marine Corps Legacy Museum, November 18, 2005
Unlike the individual above- the authors do know EXACTLY what they are saying...the "Continental Marines" were established by act of Congress 11-10-75, HOWEVER, the UNITED STATES MARINE CORPS was AUTHORISED by Navy Act of 1794 to man the Marine Ships Guard Detachments on 6 frigates. >Only 3 of the six which had been approved by Congress via the same Navy Act of 27 Mar 1974 were ready for the Quasi War with France.< Actually July 11 1798 was the true establishment by MANNING of the USMC.

It is a fact that we as Marines look to Nov 10th as the birth of our Corps of American Marines, but in truth, the "USMC" dates to a post Revolutionary War period.

Any reviewer should have a better grasp of the historical facts.... it makes for a more germane and realistic review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Semper Fi: The Definitive Illustrated History of the U.S. Marines
Semper Fi: The Definitive Illustrated History of the U.S. Marines by H. Avery Chenoweth (Paperback - November 2, 2010)
$24.95 $19.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.