Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 14, 2010
"Senior" is a companion disc to last years "Junior" by Norwegian duo Röyksopp. Atmospheric and moody, the 9 tracks are all instrumentals.

The dreamy soundscapes vary in feel from the ambient opener "...and the Forest Began to Sing", the bouncier space ride that is "Tricky Two", the careful trot of "The Alcoholic", the stunning guitar-festooned sweeping "Senior Living" (my favourite), the flickering "The Drug", the tempo-shifting "Forsaken Cowboy" (with lovely tinkling of the ivories), the dark and creepy "The Fear", the almost hymnal New Age-sounding "Coming Home", to the ambient closer "A Long, Long Way" (that sounds like what watching the stars would sound like).

Fans of their instrumentals like "In Space" or the ubiquitous "Eple" off their debut "Melody AM" will find much to love here. Röyksopp show they don't need guest vocalists to shine.
44 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2011
I think Royksopp is one of the better groups that's come along in a while. Compared to their previous albums, Senior doesn't seem to have much variety. It's pretty much all dark and moody without any "bright spots." It isn't even very "synthy." That's not necessary a bad thing but it IS a little one-dimensional. My favorite songs on Senior are The Alcoholic and Forsaken Cowboy.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
I haven't really enjoyed a Royksopp album since Melody AM. Junior was the perfect example of what I didn't like, seemingly embodying the essence of fad-driven synth and youthful, annoyingly simple lyrics. It appealed to the youth, in short. This album, Senior, is far more thoughtful (in my opinion) and provides a more open canvas for internalizing the music (some may call that "boring".) It's easier to listen to and is generally peaceful. I thought the two albums were very accurately titled. Listeners should remember that neither the terms "Junior" nor "Senior" assume any sort of positivity or negativity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
Senior, by default should be better than Junior, based solely on logic. Once again the new and strange end up becoming the beloved and unique. Viewing this cd as a "spiritual follow up" to Junior is an easy review, but its really more than that. Tricky two is a clear example of this idea. But Senior is so deep and almost tangible, that it, I think, will change even the biggest Royksopp fan's opinion of what Norway's best can bring us.

I love this CD. I listened to it once, then put it on the shelf. Three months later, I listened to it 3 times in a row. Then once each day for three days. Each track really blends into the previous without overshadowing itself or any other track. This is the follow up to Junior, but Senior takes Junior to school.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2010
I have now listened to Senior over 10 times, and each time it gets better. While this CD is much more mellow than Junior, it is just as much enjoyable. It is deep and relaxing. I highly recommend it to any Royksopp fan!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2011
after their critically acclaimed 2009 album "junior", röyksopp released this as a counter-part to that one and they have been saying from the beginning that it may not be as accessible as "junior" to their new listeners. "senior" is not a pop album, it's introspective, withdrawn, atmospheric and must be approached as a whole rather than track by track.
if you've heard of röyksopp with "junior", there's a good chance that you won't like this but if you're into some of their early stuff, this might be what you've been waiting for since their debut.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Melody A.M. put Royksopp on the map and earned them well deserved critical praise. The Understanding went a different direction and while offering many excellent tracks, didn't live up to the standard of Melody A.M. SENIOR, the second half of a staggered-release two-album pair that also includes Junior, is decidedly downtempo and at times even dark ("A Long, Long Way"). It manages to avoid the excess and silliness present in JUNIOR. Even the worst track from JUNIOR ("Tricky Tricky") has been reborn as a faster, more compelling track ("Tricky Tricky" sans the silly lyrics of the JUNIOR version.

Standout tracks include the aforementioned "Tricky Two", "Senior Living", and "Forsaken Cowboy." "Senior Living" and "Forsaken Cowboy," would fit nicely in Danger Mouse's excellent album Rome. Using subtle beats and developed themes, they do what much electronic music does not: tell stories. It's hard to listen to any of these tracks without becoming transported. They provoke the imagination and bring emotions to the surface.

"Coming Home" has a whimsical, melancholy feel reminiscent of "In Space" from MELODY A.M. It's light, fun, and a needed break from the darker, harder-moving tracks.

"And the Forest Began to Sing" blends strong melody with distortion to create a vivid soundscape that lays the groundwork for the album that follows.

"The Alcoholic" (which launches with the funny and ironic sound of a can of beer being opened) builds in intensity and delivers one of the more cinematographic experiences of the album. Lovely and bold, it sets the stage for the best track on the album, "Senior Living."

"Senior Living" has a melancholy, lovely sound that develops a bit of intensity as it continues. Though slower and less driving, it compares well with "Alpha Male" from the The Understanding album. I can't listen to it without feeling something, thinking something, having my imagination stoked. It's a great tune to listen to for creative inspiration while writing code or writing fiction.

"Forsaken Cowboy" could be the intro or outro for a modern western. Incorporating a style and sound that references old Sergio Leone westerns and a plodding beat that suggests horses on the prairie, it accomplishes something similar to Far Away Trains Passing By by Ulrich Schnauss. The tempo and style suggest the best of the sixties forays into synth music.

SENIOR shares the sensibilities of the best electronic music--that oh so hard to quantify quality that bands as diverse as M83, Danger Mouse, Air, and Ulrich Schanuss deliver. Music with layers, music that opens doorways, music that provides the listener with an experience that pop music can never touch. This album gets played often--for relaxing, for thinking, for chilling, and for writing. It would make my top-twenty list and even have a shot at my top-ten.

5 well deserved stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
...obviously I should have guessed it from the cover :-), but I didn't expect anything like that.
I just loved Royksopp's previous albums and particularly so "Junior". I am only an amateur of electronic music, so I don't dare any technical judgment. I just follow my guts, and this album doesn't give me any positive vibe.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2011
While my favorite Royksopp tracks are typically on other albums, I'd say that Senior is the most complete and cohesive album. All the tracks are more grown up sounding and lack the in-your-face-vocals which (for better or worse) are in their other albums. If had to pick a Royksopp album to listen to from start to finish, I'd pick Senior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2012
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing at all, but the melodies are exquisite; dreamy, dark and secret. It's Röyksopp's most private, introspective record. The album sleeve, inky blackness with the hint of something in the shadows, describes it well. This is an album of secrets. Listen and be amazed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.