Customer Reviews


991 Reviews
5 star:
 (443)
4 star:
 (252)
3 star:
 (79)
2 star:
 (84)
1 star:
 (133)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


313 of 320 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, except for auto on/off and ear pads
These are some pretty decent RF headphones. Very little hiss in the background, great range - the only thing I don't like is the auto on/off feature. For those who don't know what this is, the transmitter on the base doesn't start transmitting unless it "hears" enough sound for it to go. When the sound source is turned off and it doesn't "hear" anything anymore, it...
Published on September 26, 2005 by MKaiser

versus
198 of 219 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissapointed
The base unit for the wireless headphones will shut off in 3 to 5 minutes, unless the base source volume is turned up so loud, that even with the headphone volume turned down, is near the threshold of pain.

Maybe other units work well, but mine does not work. If you look on their website, this question has been posted (why does my base shut off), and...
Published on March 17, 2006 by Jeffrey P. Oblock


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

313 of 320 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, except for auto on/off and ear pads, September 26, 2005
By 
MKaiser (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
These are some pretty decent RF headphones. Very little hiss in the background, great range - the only thing I don't like is the auto on/off feature. For those who don't know what this is, the transmitter on the base doesn't start transmitting unless it "hears" enough sound for it to go. When the sound source is turned off and it doesn't "hear" anything anymore, it stops transmitting after a few minutes and you hear static in the headphones. It's basically a good idea, but not practical if/when working with different types of audio sources.

This feature can be difficult if (in my case) you are working with the headphones on a computer, where sounds come and go at different intervals (IM noises, prompts, pausing a DVD, etc.). I also use the headphones with a 15" television (no cable) that has headphone port for private viewing. While watching the TV with the headphones (the included L/R-1/16 adapter is very nice) the headphone transition cuts out every 5 minutes for a few seconds then starts again. This is probably because of the low audio strength coming from the cable-less TV, but it's just another reason why there should be a manual ON/OFF TRANSMIT switch on the base unit.

The only other drawback is that, unlike many other headphone types, Sennheiser has chosen to make very flat ear pieces. Most other headphones have the "can" type, which have a thick outer rim, allowing your ears to be closer to their natural position. With these Sennheisers my ears are frequently squished against my head, sometimes for many hours - which anyone will tell you has its own definition of pain. I'll point out that the pain only happens when I wear glasses and have the headphones on for a long time. If I have contacts in (which is mostly the case) or place the legs of the glasses above my ears, it rarely hurts to have the headphones on for the same time.

All in all, pretty good wireless headphones for consistent audio listeners, and people without glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


537 of 559 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME HEADPHONE FOR AN AWESOME PRICE!, December 8, 2004
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
I bought my SENNHEISER RS 110 from Bestbuy for $79.99. It was all worth it for the price. This headphone is simply amazing! I tried both Sony and RCA models before settling for a SENNHEISER and both Sony and RCA doesnt even come close to the performance of the RS 110. The sound reproduction is very distinct, no "very highs" or "very lows" on the frequency range. Just right. The range is just about right for the indicated 300 feet. It is light enough to be worn for extended periods of time and the fit is very comfortable. You dont feel that "tightness" even after wearing it for several hours. In my point of view, the sound reproduction even comes close to the BOSE noise cancelling headphones except that the SENNHEISER doesnt cancel the noise. An upgraded model, the RS 120, can be recharged by placing the headset on the transmitter--this (the recharging feature) however is the only difference. Performance is solid both ways. After making extensive evaluation on my RS 110, the only feature I could think they can add to this model is a light indicator on the main headphone unit to "visually" see if it is turned on without actually looking at the power switch. Overall, the headphone is an excellent buy compared to other models in the same price range. I highly recommend this entry level wireless headphone from SENNHEISER if you're in the market looking for one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


324 of 335 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An engineer's perspective..., December 26, 2006
By 
Fleabyte (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
A sound engineer's perspective...

Great Sennheiser quality - strikingly similar to some of their wired models (HD202, ect). What I expected. People say don't even bother with other brands. For the great prices Sennheiser offers, I know I don't.

Works in a large house or large condo. Static (as with all wireless headphones) occurs under 4 feet. Some people don't understand that this is natural. I've been probably 50' to 100' away from the base and have had no dropouts. Static occurs over 20' but is sparse and only in certain 'spots' - usally about two square feet. The solution - avoid those 'spots' or mess with the tuning knob.

PROS:

Fairly flat frequency response - VERY nice mids and highs

Close in quality to many mid-range wired models

Almost flawless reception when in the same room

Comfortable, open-aire design - not too tight, not too loose

CONS:

Big (but so are all wireless phones)

Silver accent color (makes them look even bigger)

No rechargeable batteries

May slip off of smaller heads when bending over (mine is big though)

Lacks a bit of bass because of the open-aire design (makes it perfect for TV but leaves a tad to be desired for music)

IMPORTANT:

Your TV has RCA OUTputs

Your volume has to be UP on the TV a little for these to work - how to circumvent this? Run your cable through a VCR and take the base station out of the RCA outputs of your VCR - now you can mute the TV, but your phones will still work through your VCR volume.

The verdict? Hard to beat for the price. Wireless headphones are not perfect, but these are about as good as you can get. Want rechargeables? Upgrade to the Sennheiser RS-120s - the same electronics, but you pay $30 more for rechargeables. Want a closed-aire design? Upgrade to the RS 140s. Want something that is open-aire and rechargeable but a bit more 'stylish' - ie. all black and less 'grandpa grey' - get the HS 130s.

I understand that the 130s and 140s have 'automatic' tuning. I would think however this could be a blessing and also a curse. Also, for those who have hearing loss in one ear - the 140s have adjustable left/right balance.

Old people hate these at first because it's essentially admitting that they have hearing loss, but give them 2 days and they LOVE them.

UPDATE (8/2014): I moved to a new apartment, and these no longer work. I hear mostly static with a few moments of clear audio every now and then. I suspect that since the area is heavily populated, there may be some sort of wide-band interference in the 900 mHz band. None of the "rotatable frequencies" seem to do the trick to clear things up, nor does moving it away from electronics or to a different place in the apartment. You may want to consider avoiding these if you are in a dense urban area, apartment complex, school, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


198 of 219 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissapointed, March 17, 2006
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
The base unit for the wireless headphones will shut off in 3 to 5 minutes, unless the base source volume is turned up so loud, that even with the headphone volume turned down, is near the threshold of pain.

Maybe other units work well, but mine does not work. If you look on their website, this question has been posted (why does my base shut off), and Sennheiser's answer is the volume is too low; therefore, I can only believe this problem is common.

Mine even shut off, when I can hear music through the headsets across the room. The volume switch on the headset itself needs to be modified to allow for about 10% of the current sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 117 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First Negative Review, November 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
This is the first time I am moved to write a negative review on a product purchased at Amazon. These headphones were a big disappointment. I bought these to use with my bedroom LCD TV. After setting the base station up and trying several tuning options, all I could get was sound with a very loud background hum. This was just a headache waiting to happen. But that isn't what motivated me to write this review. Other buyers need to understand how cheaply these headphones are made. The power cord's plug into the base station is a poor fit and it requires small, skilled fingers to get it to work. Then the base station turns on and off when I tried to find a better sync with the headphones on another channel. I couldn't get it to work again without unplugging everything and starting over. The whole manual synch system seemed very archaic. The headphones themselves are big and bulky and the ear covers feel like they will last for about 3 months. After talking to a few other people, I went to Brookstones and purchased a pair of their wireless headphones for the same price that were 1000% better than these. Sound was better (no hum), quality of headphones was better, the headphones autosync with the base station, and the plug from the ac source was easy to attach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First wirless headphones, June 15, 2006
By 
A. Chou "RandomNumber" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
These are my first wireless headphones and so far i'm pleased with my purchase.

Sound: The sound reproduction is pretty good. Bass has some umph. There is a ever so slight hiss when music gets quiet or when listening to pod casts/voice. There hiss is also present when tracks change. It also seems to pick up some intereference at times even at different channels. I guess that's life with wireless.

Comfort: So far I've worn them for about 4 hours straight and no ill affects so far.

Range: my studio isn't huge, but i've been 20ft away from the base behind a wall with no signal degredation.

Conclusion: I'm satisfied with my purchase, i'm giving 3 stars cause of the hissing and interference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the price, so much better than the others, January 13, 2005
By 
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
The drawbacks are that you have to tune the rf by hand and the batteries aren't rechargable. These amenities would be nice, but it just leads to more stuff that can go wrong. I bought the Sony wireless headphones before these and they would break up whenever I went into the other room and there were certain audio frequencies they couldn't handle. The Sennheiser not only have a better sound quality, but I can leave the house without them breaking up. These can't be beat for the price and are a lot better than more expensive models (Sony, RCA).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and great sound, March 23, 2005
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
So many wireless headphones on the market get bad reviews I was reluctant to try these entry level headphones. Guess what, it took a minute to figure out how to set the frequency at the base station and then fine tune the signal using the dial on the headphones. They sound great, no hum, comfortable, no wires! I prefer over-the-ear headphones because foam pressing against your ears can get tiresome, but these feel pretty darn nice. While these headphones don't use rechargeable batteries it still would have been convenient to build a cradle onto the base station, you have to find a place to lay the headphones when not in use. This is probably the one design flaw. Also, you have to turn off the headphones when you set them down for even a short time or a tremendous hum comes out of the phones due to lost signal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best wireless headphones I've ever used, October 27, 2005
By 
B Faul (Lafayette, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
I've owned a couple of different types of wireless headphones and listened to a couple of other brands owned by other people. Every other one I have ever tried has had some static noise, especially when you move around the room with them. I had returned a pair of the infrared headphones after being completely disgusted with the high-pitched noise generated by the computer, etc... I had pretty much given up on wireless, that is until now. These are utterly quiet and the sound quality is outstanding. I am completely satisfied with them. I recommend them without any hesitation or reservations. I won't even look at another brand now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, June 4, 2005
By 
Catman (Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones (Electronics)
Absolutely first rate sound. They're comfortable to wear, have good range and a robust design. They replaced an old set of Radio Shack wireless phones and the difference is night and day.

The instructions are very minimal but luckily hook up is easy. Rechargable batteries would have been nice but AAA NiMh rechargables are available at a reasonable cost.

One caution: Since the transmitter powers up atuomatically when it sees an audio input, it may not turn on or may turn off intermittently if connected to a low level audio source. If your source (TV or whatever) has an audio output that's fixed or can be set fixed you're in business. Otherwise you'll need to set the source volume above some minimum level to turn the transmitter on and keep it on. There is a green LED on the transmitter to indicate when it's on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sennheiser RS110 Over-Ear 926MHz Wireless RF Headphones
$99.95 $71.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.