Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great text
A bit dense but solid textbook if this is your first foray into separations. Some of the practice problems are a bit more vaguely worded than I'd like.
Published 12 months ago by C. Chan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
This textbook is riddled with typos in crucial formulae and otherwise written in an extremely unclear fashion, where simple concepts are explained in an unnecessarily complicated manner. The parameters and assumptions for chapter problems are stated extremely unclearly. Seader, Henley, and Roper, your insistence on the widespread use of misplaced modifiers renders this...
Published 15 months ago by Caddy Compson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, June 2, 2013
By 
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
This textbook is riddled with typos in crucial formulae and otherwise written in an extremely unclear fashion, where simple concepts are explained in an unnecessarily complicated manner. The parameters and assumptions for chapter problems are stated extremely unclearly. Seader, Henley, and Roper, your insistence on the widespread use of misplaced modifiers renders this textbook absolutely unsuitable for an introduction to separation processes. One might expect that three editions would have given the authors and editors enough time and experience to address these issues, but one would be disappointed. I would not recommend this text to any chemical engineer. Shame on Wiley for producing such an incompetent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Junior Chemical Engineering Text, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
This one is par for the course. It contains formulae and examples that fit well with the lectures. It covers the basics or separations from absorbers and strippers. Though it is a good companion to my teacher's lectures, he also puts up supplemental notes that go into more detail. All told, this book is an acceptable companion, but not something so brilliant that I could read it and skip class and still feel even remotely comfortable on the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book for graduate students, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
This book provides comprehensive, thorough, in-depth coverage of a broad range of topics in separations. It is an excellent reference, and a good choice as a textbook for a graduate course. However, the authors promote the book as an undergraduate textbook, and in my view it is too advanced for a first-level course. Most undergraduates will have difficulty sorting out the material and learning basic concepts from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Description is half true!, September 7, 2014
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
The condition was said to be in "Good" condition, when really it was acceptable. In the description it said "some highlighting, no torn pages" both are true (I don't mind the highlighting because I highlight myself) ... But the binding of the book is falling apart and the edges are taped. Overall the book is acceptable condition and they left out major details of the condition of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't a big fan of this book., December 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
This book gave a lot of theory and presented it in a confusing way. I'm sure if I had learned all this stuff in the past, it would have been a good book, but trying to learn it, it was near impossible. I'm glad my teacher graded as easily as he did because this book got me nowhere (and I'm a book learner and get little to nothing in class)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great text, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
A bit dense but solid textbook if this is your first foray into separations. Some of the practice problems are a bit more vaguely worded than I'd like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chemical Engineering Student Displaced for a month, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
Great condition of book, can't complain about quality of the product, however I placed the order on Jan 8th and didn't receive the book til Feb 2nd. When our semester is only four months long, this was a MAJOR problem. When I ordered the seller listed the product as available and ready to ship and then it was tagged "delayed" after they took my money. Real pain in the butt trying to spend a month in undergrad Separations Process class without the text; luckily I found a pdf version to hold me over til the book arrived; buyer beware of product availability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Separation Process Principles, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations (Hardcover)
This is a very professional book, but unfortunately is printed on a very thin paper so the user should treat any page in a extremely careful manner

The content, the arguments are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations
Separation Process Principles: Chemical and Biochemical Operations by D. Keith Roper (Hardcover - November 23, 2010)
$144.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.