I bought this on September 3 2012. The picture has frozen. The remote control won't work, I have tried turning it off on the box. No luck, help!
asked by Mother of 4 on September 28, 2012
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 answers
A
vote
I haven't had this problem and I am not sure what is causing this, but I have a suggestion.

Pull the power cord out of whatever outlet it is plugged into. Wait about 15 minutes, plug it back in and see if it works. This is how I fix frozen computers.

If that doesn't work, you probably need to return it.

Jessie
Jessie S. Weinberger answered on September 28, 2012

A
vote
hi, mother of 4 - i am no expert, but i would start from scratch: unplug everything, reconnect all cables, etc, and let it do the channel scan - in my case i don't even use the remote, i just hit the power buttons on the tv and the box and then use the channel up/down button on the box to get me to the channel i want to view . when i'm done i hit power on the tv and the box again to shut it down - good luck
Holly answered on September 29, 2012

A
vote
Well, I see things haven't changed since I bought 4 of these a few years ago when they first came out. Unplugging it should do the trick. But you might need to reprogram the schedule if you had anything on the timer, and the clock might be zapped, too.You shoudn't need to rescan the stations.
One tip: The adapter plug could be loose. I suspect these things are sensitive to electrical disturbance. My problems improved when I used a strong rubber band to keep the adapter onto the power strip tightly. However, the problems never fully go away. Those of you who say you haven't had any problems, but you've only had your unit a few months, I think you will eventually. Sometimes I go a few months w/o a problem, too. But it WILL get you... (I have become cynical).