Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 6 doesn't disappoint !
If you are a fan of the Septimus Heap series this 6th volume does not disappoint. As Sep & Jenna prepare for their birthday everything falls apart. Sep is supposed to test for his Darke week but before he can Marcia accidently banishes Alther in the dungeon. Merrin Meredith has Dom Daniels' ring and he really starts wrecking havoc stirring up a Darke takeover. Luckily...
Published on June 10, 2011 by Deborah L. Mace

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars
It was one of the best books that I have ever been able to read and I think that this was a great book
Published 3 months ago by 1 at 6 & 2 at 10


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 6 doesn't disappoint !, June 10, 2011
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of the Septimus Heap series this 6th volume does not disappoint. As Sep & Jenna prepare for their birthday everything falls apart. Sep is supposed to test for his Darke week but before he can Marcia accidently banishes Alther in the dungeon. Merrin Meredith has Dom Daniels' ring and he really starts wrecking havoc stirring up a Darke takeover. Luckily Simon comes back in time to help Marcia .....And that's all I'm giving up!
I have been a fan since the 1st book and will be disappointed when the series ends. I'm thinking the next book will be it. Book 7 - because after all Septimus is the 7th son of a 7th son so 7 books seems logical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book!, June 10, 2011
By 
Katie Morris (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
This is another wonderful installment of the Septimus Heap series! I was so pleasantly surprised to see it in my Kindle's new items (forgot I had preordered it) that I jumped right into it and couldn't put it down. Wonderful job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Septimus and his crew battle the Darke, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
Confession: I'm 39 years old and I love to read young adult fantasy literature (thank you JK Rowling)! I started reading the Septimus Heap series on recommendation a few years ago, and just finished reading the latest in the series, Darke. Though I enjoyed the story and, like a good story after it's finished, I thought about the characters and their outcome for a few days afterward, even looking forward to the next book. A lot of stuff was going on throughout this book. Characters were brought back from everywhere, so much so, that I had forgotten who some of them were. A majority of the story doesn't even involve Septimus at all. A lot of focus was put on Beetle and Jenna. Why other characters were even mentioned in the story, I have no idea. They had no integral part to the story unless it was some very slick foreshadowing for an upcoming book. As far as the story goes: Jenna and Septimus are preparing to celebrate their very important 14th birthday. At this time, Jenna will become official Queen and Septimus will take on a very important part of his wizard training--dealing with darke magic. It's dangerous, but every wizard must pass through this phase. Some don't make it back. Of course, this pair cannot peacefully celebrate a birthday without danger following close behind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The darkest book yet, July 5, 2011
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
I called this book the darkest one yet - and not just because of the title. More people die than in all the previous books together. Some scenes are quite gruesome, e.g. when a child's thumb is cut off with a kitchen knife and this is deemed acceptable, even justified.

Although the story starts rather slowly, Angie Sage has managed to keep her 6th Septimus Heap story full of action and suspense, right until the end.
Ms Sage likes to give some characters short introductions in some of the earlier books only to give them larger parts later on. But now she seems to have too many characters "floating around", so she has to find something for them to do or rather an excuse for them to be doing nothing:
The genie Jim Knee is hibernating, i.e. snoring on Marica Overstrand's sofa. Syrah Syara remains suspended in the Disenchanting Chamber. I had expected Septimus and Syrah to start a romantic affair, but perhaps Angie Sage is leaving that for book 7.

I don't want to spoil things by describing the fast paced plot in detail. I must admit that I was disappointed by Snorri's and Nico's breaking up; even more so when I realized that Beetle and Jenna's relationship was going nowhere in particular. But apparently it had only been a one (beetle-) sided affair.

By the way, is there any official statement about why there will be exactly seven books? I fail to see why this should be so. Septimus has still got some years left until he finishes his apprenticeship. In SH 6 he is only 14. There is no buildup towards a showdown like the duel between Lord Voldemort and Harry Potter in HP7. Oh well, only time and Angie Sage will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Satisfying Page-Turner, July 5, 2011
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
Septimus Heap is preparing for his Darke Week, a rite of passage separating the Ordinary from the ExtraOrdinary Apprenticeship. Since Apprentices choose what they do during their Darke Week, he is determined to retrieve Banished ghost Alther from Darke Hall. A 14th birthday is very special for an Apprentice (since it is twice the Magykal number of 7), but there is an undercurrent of worry throughout the Wizard Tower as Septimus turns 14. It's almost as if everyone is expecting someone (someone like...gulp...Septimus) to die.

Meanwhile, Lucy Gringe has come home after two years away to reunite with her parents. Lucy not only offers apologies for running off to find Simon Heap, she also gives them a heartfelt invitation to her and Simon's upcoming wedding. But the Gringe family reunion is interrupted by the arrival of a black horse. It's Simon's horse, without Simon. Lucy feels pricklings of dread, wondering if something terrible has happened to Simon. Indeed, if Lucy knew what Simon was facing, she would be horrified.

It's Jenna's 14th birthday, too, of course. A woman calling herself The Bringer of the Book arrives bringing a...you guessed it. This particular book is called THE QUEEN RULES and gives Princess in Waiting Jenna some enlightening news. It seems Septimus can no longer dismiss her concerns, including her recent worries that someone has been in the Palace attic. When Jenna tried to discuss this problem with Septimus, he didn't take her apprehension seriously. But even though she now knows Septimus must pay attention to her, she turns instead to the sympathetic Beetle.

Beetle does not take Jenna's anxiety lightly. He even wonders if what she thinks is a person in the attic might not be an Infestation --- the moving of something Darke into a home. However, even with Beetle to help her, it isn't long before Jenna finds herself in a terrifying life-or-death situation during which she makes an unlikely friend. At the same time, her identity (to say nothing of her outfit) takes quite a surprising turn.

None of these characters realize the tremendous battle that lies before them. The Palace has been invaded by the Darke Domain. ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand is galvanized into action to fight the dreaded Darke. Strangely, the one person she would expect to be fighting at her side appears to be missing, so she drafts another character, who ultimately proves to be a courageous hero. As the monumental battle ensues between the forces of Magyk and Darke, the two sides struggle for power over the kingdom. Someone quite near and dear to both Jenna and Septimus appears to be lost to the Darke forever; in a conflict this massive, there must be (and will be) casualties.

While the plot advances, filled with tons of Magykal adventure as well as hilariously irreverent asides, the characters also mature and strengthen in response to their challenges. Jenna comes to an important realization about her place in the world. Septimus and one of his brothers struggle with trust and reconciliation. One romance comes to a natural and believable ending, while another couple returns to a home in which they were once content.

DARKE is an exciting and thoroughly satisfying page-turner, making this yet another brilliant episode in the series. So why aren't these books as famous as those of that other wizard, the one in the spectacles? They should be.

--- Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 30, 2014
By 
Sherel Mainer (Paris, AR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best book ever you get to see who wolf boys family is. It is so amazing. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love Septimus, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke (Hardcover)
This series has captured the imagination of my 12yr old like no other book. Sage weaves an intriguing story about family, hardships, magic, evil, relationships, growing up, and choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was one of the best books that I have ever been able to read and I think that this was a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books for my son., May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this series at my son's requests. He seems to enjoy these books, which half the time keeps him of his lab top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice wrap-up, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a nice wrap-up to a very long series. You'd have to read the books before this one to understand who is who and who did what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke
Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke by Angie Sage (Hardcover - June 7, 2011)
$17.99 $13.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.