Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 29, 2001
In the eighth book of the Series of Unfortunate Events, what else can be expected but woe and mystery? Due to some extremely incorrect publishing in a newspaper, the whole world now believes that the Baudelaire orphans are dangerous murders. However, nothing could be further from the truth since Klaus, Violet and Sunny are no less murders than you or me.
Taking refuge in a hospital, the orphans are forced to disguise them selves as V.F.D's (Volunteers Fighting Disease)! Of course, wherever the orphans go, Count Olaf follows and this time he has devised another disastrous scheme.
As I thoroughly enjoyed all the other books in the Series of Unfortunate Events, I enjoyed this book just as much. All of Lemony Snicket's books seem to follow a certain format, orphans find a new home (and when Mr. Poe is there he hardly stays to say hello to the orphan's unfortunate guardian,) Count Olaf makes his stinking appearance, none of the adults can see through Count Olaf's stupid disguise and the Baudelaires are forced to get out of their dilemma on their own.
I hear this book contains ' misleading newspaper headlines, unnecessary surgery, an intercom system, anaesthesia, heart-shaped balloons, and some very startling news about such things, ' as Mr. Snicket so kindly put it.
As well as telling the woeful tale of the Baudelaire orphans, Lemony Snicket slowly is revealing his own life's tale. Such as how his dearly beloved Beatrice died, something horrible that still makes him cry at night about Count Olaf, and something I am dieing to know about, the mysterious Jacques Snicket who was killed in 'The Vile Village'. As well as the mysterious V.F.D, and whether the Baudelaire orphans will ever see the Quagmire triplets again! Perhaps the last book in the series will explain all these loose ends!
I congratulate Lemony Snicket on producing such an intriguing tale when his when life is filled with misery. I recommend this book for all ages- anyone who would find it interesting!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2001
The Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire saga continues in "The Hostile Hospital." After escaping from the town of V.F.D. in order to avoid being burnt at the stake, the siblings go to work at a hospital, where Count Olaf finds them almost immediately and plans to kill them. He is wrongfully believed dead by most, due to Olaf's horrid scheme involving Jacques Snicket and deception pointing to the Baudelaires.
This eighth installment in the "Series of Unfortunate Events" is probably the very best of all. It reveals new, intriguing information about the fire at the Baudelaire mansion, and links to the siblings' past. Sunny, Violet, and Klaus encounter more danger in this book than in any other, and certainly the reader is gripped by the book. It is impossible to put it down until you have read the final page, which leaves the reader hanging, wanting nothing but to read Book 9, "The Carnivorous Carnival."
This is a children's book, but I'm 17 and have read every single one of the Lemony Snicket books so far. I was into them even before they became so popular. They are wonderful books with a quality of "solve-it-yourself" combined with a sense of adventure and foreboding. It doesn't matter what your age is; you'll fall instantly in love with the three siblings and their friends, Isadora and Duncan Quagmire (lol at names!). One word of advice: if you haven't read any of the books yet, START AT THE BEGINNING. Otherwise, almost nothing will make sense, and the most interesting parts (like Beatrice) will be incomprehensible and impossible to piece together.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2001
Okay I've read this series since the third book came out. Lemony Snicket's style has not once annoyed me, but the contrary. It may be the only reason I continue this series. Although the storyline a great and humor filling I believe this series would not have been as popular without Lemony's few quirks. He is still constantly explaining words (with outrageous definitions), and has the few odd add-on's (this time it was STOP, another 4 pages of black). But by far his most unique move has come now, in this book. If you read you will see that the characters are growing (Klaus had a birthday, Sunny can now speak fairly coherently). He is also pulling himself, as an author, into the story, a move I've never seen done before. This alone should catch people's attention, but the dark humor and exaggeration (on almost everything) makes these books into a classic series. The mysteries build, and the identity of Lemony Snicket (obviously that's not his real name) is ever coming closer to becoming revealed. Only if there could be more books like these.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2001
A villain, three orphans, an evil plot and a hospital. Sounds like your everyday,happy-go-lucky,children-defeating-the-villain-and-live-happily-ever-after story, right? Wrong. In the lives of the Baudelaire orphans, it's the exact opposite.
The main characters are: Violet,14, a marvelous inventor, Klaus,13, a reseacher and Sunny an infant who has just started walking and likes to bite. They have miserable exerience after miserable experience -- including being arrested and escaping from jail - and are now wanted as murderers. Wandering around, they find their way to Heimlich hospital. Somehow Count Olaf their former guardian and now tormentor finds them. Accompanied by his assistants and all of them in disguise. They're once again trying to get their hands on the Baudelaire fortune. Then the Baudelaires find a secret that might change their lives.
They are about to grab the file on the fires wich killed their parents, destroyed their home and led them to this misfortune when Count Olaf's fashion-slave girlfriend and former guardian of the Baudelaires, Esme Squalor, captures Violet. Will Sunny and Klaus rescue Violet?
The Hostile Hospital is a great book that leaves you hanging at the end of each chapter.The children are bold and adventurous characters.They allways think up solutions for thier problems. The book is extremely suspenseful and mysterious.
You think that one character is good but she turns out evil; you think that the plan is one thing but you turn out wrong. The plot has all these twists and turns -- disguises,evil plots and all. It's a great book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2001
Whar else can come from the eight book of The A Series of Unfortunate Events then horrible situations for the Baudalaires? As we all know by now in the 7th book "The Vile Village the Baudalaires are accused falsely of the murder of Jacques Snicket. As their woeful lives continue the orphans join V.F.D(Voluteers Fighting Disease) at the Hemilich Hospital. There they are sent to the Library of Records to work. As we all know by now where the orphans go Count Olaf follows. This time however he can't be seen as the oprhans only know he is the head of the hospital. Just when they discover extrodainary evidence in the Library of Records on themselves Esme Squalor(now the girlfriend of Count Olaf) comes and captures Violet. It seems Count Olaf is going to do some very uneccessay surgery on poor helpless Voilet. Can Klaus and Sunny foil his plans once again?
Through this book Lemony Snickey worked his magic again with his dry humor! I was also excited because he is revealing more and more on the circumstances of Beatrice's death and it seems very related to Esme Squalor. So many question are lurking that I can't wait for #9 the Carnivourous Carnival!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2001
The Hostile Hospital was indeed very different from any other books in the series of unfortuate events. But that doesn't mean that it was bad. For example, Snicket's writing has dramatically changed and he shows it in this book. The beginning was great and really got you hooked. The Helmlich Hospital is very different, it is only half way finished! In this book, the Baudelaires work with Hal who is in charge of The Library of Records. In this book, the Baudelaires find out something very, very, VERY, exciting and important that is in one of the files that is about their parents! Another way this book is different from any other is that the reader really gets to know what the bad guys life is like. One more thing, Esme is back. The ending is what really blew me away. I would tell you what it is but I would really spoil it. Also, One of the Baudelaires is almost killed!! Who is it you will ask, but the only way to find out is to read the book. You never get a direct look at Count Olaf because he is not disguised as a person! Overall, this book will be a very good one to most of you that are reading my review but to me it didn't quite surpass my personal favorites which are The Reptile Room and The Vile Village. HAPPY READING!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
My kid loves these books. As a parent I have tried to instill the love of reading into my son and it has gotten easier overtime and we are reaping the benefits of the improved reading. Sometimes it was difficult to match the content level with his advanced reading level in addition to his interest in the content itself, however these books have seemed to be a perfect storm of sorts. He is 9 but reading at a 12th grade level and it wasn't until this series that we really saw a passion for reading show, he always liked it and did it daily but never sought it out as feverishly as he did with this series, he is sharing the story with us in addition to laughing and enjoying himself. I highly recommend them and we now own them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
like all these books it's hard to put this one down. I bought the heard cover to complete my collection but I have to re-read it to tell you more about the plot. I do however remember finishing this one and weighting with anticipation for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Maybe the best book so far in the series. We finally received a little extra needed information. Olaf is even more cruel. And Esme, well you know...recommend you purchase book 9 before you read the last chapter so ur not waiting so see what happens next with you know who. STOP. Also, actress Eva Green (from Dark Shadows w johnny depp) would be marvelous as Esme Squalor for the Netflix version of this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lemony Snicket, The Hostile Hospital (Scholastic, 2001)

The Baudelaire orphans continue their adventures, and Lemony Snicket finally abandons, for good, the episodic nature of the early part of the series, in The Hostile Hospital. There's not really much to say about the eighth book in a series, as far as talking about the plot, the characters, and all that other good stuff; if you've made it this far, you know all that (unless you're my daughter, who for some odd reason decided to start with book ten and work her way backward). In this case, however, what's worth talking about is the book itself. Mr. Snicket has taken a rather drear turn over the past couple of books in the series. The tone has gotten considerably darker, and while there are still a number of laugh-out-loud-funny scenes, and the inevitable definitions, things have gotten very grim indeed. The episodic nature of the books ha gone away, as I mentioned before, at the same time, and Sunny's learning to speak, while it's becoming obvious that Mr. Snicket and his beloved Beatrice play much more than an observer's role in things. Are all these facts related? You won't be able to tell by the end of The Hostile Hospital, but I guarantee you, if you're already a fan of the series, you'll be opening the cover of book nine (or putting it on hold) within minutes of finishing this one. Pity the poor souls who read it the second it came out, and found it necessary to wait for the publication of the ninth book. *** ½
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse