Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Serious Contender Import

4 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 21, 2005
"Please retry"

Editorial Reviews

A solo album written and recorded by Buzzcock member Steve Diggle. It's a cracking good rock album packed with memorable songs. Steve is responsible for writing many of the Buzzcocks top tunes including Harmony in My Head, Autonomy and Promises. EMI. 2005.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Serious Contender
  2. Lie In Bed
  3. Hard Highway
  4. Wallpaper World
  5. See Through You
  6. Starbucks Around The World
  7. Across The Sun
  8. Round And Round
  9. Terminal
  10. If I Never Get To Heaven
  11. Jetfighter
  12. Shake The System
  13. Early Grave

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 21, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic
  • ASIN: B0007PL7XM
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #842,563 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Steve Diggle Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I really like this guy. Both with the Buzzcocks and solo, Steve Diggle has shown a real consistency of songcraft. He's not averse to adding a few new touches here and there (harmonica, electronics, ballads, etc), but with every release, you basically know you're going to hear some good, solid rock `n' roll. This CD is no exception. It's quite strong through all 13 tracks - not a bad one in the bunch. Lots of loud guitars, a little more "groove" oriented than previously, where he lays down a verse or two, then goes off into a guitar solo wonderland, at times almost approaching Neil Young/Crazyhorse intensity. The lyrics are "personal" (as mentioned in the liner notes by Alan Parker) but vague enough not to be too literal. Rather, they evoke a mood with each song, which you can overlay your own emotional history. Fun stuff, and well worth a listen. Keep it up, Steve!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category