Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on January 20, 2010
Book left my head spinning. Need a cut to the chase version. If its eat crackers an hour before each meal and eat less at meals, so be it! I think this book is not simple enough of a plan for people like me to follow.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
Once I got to the page that the book advocated licorice as a diet food I stopped reading it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
thank god i borrowed this book from the library instead of spending any money on it. the mood cure is so much better for one thing, but that book is not about losing weight; rather it's about increasing the amount of feel-good brain chemicals through food and dietary supplements.

this book promises decreased cravings and weight loss, but guess what the actual diet is? caloric restriction and deprivation. what a surprise. i ain't scooping out a bagel for no one. i ain't doing low-fat anything either. obviously you shouldn't eat yourself into a food coma if you want to lose weight, but hello, when you eat real, whole foods versus low-fat sugar-free crap, you feel satisfied and don't go nuts at midnight in the kitchen.

the two clowns who wrote this trash highlight the terrible carb withdrawal one client had after a few days, only to find herself gorging on pasta. well guess what, geniuses? it's not just the carbs. it's the wheat. the opiates. she was having opiod withdrawal. by the way it goes away if you stay committed. these authors probably work for wonder bread.

i've done vegetarian, vegan, high protein and paleo. I've counted calories, macros and everything in between. at the end of the day the simplest explanation wins. lose weight by eating slightly fewer calories than you expend. not so few you binge at the end of the week. find a balance. listen to your body. pay attention.

this book is a joke. PS, it also advises women on first dates to feed their fried chicken coating and french fries to the seagulls and explain to their date that she "just loves feeding birds." yeah, I'd go out with her. she's a winner.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
A little hard to understand the whole book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2010
There is almost nothing in this book that isn't in most other diet books about emotional eating or carbohydrates. The so-called "solution" is to eat portion of carbohydrates before a meal. That's pretty much all there is to eat... If you're really curious, I recommend perusing the book at Barnes & Nobles or some other bookstore. I promise you that with a 5 minute glance you will get much as out of this as reading the whole book and you will save yourself $16.....

I wish I could say there was some major hidden gems in here based on the author's research, but there just aren't. This is well-known fairly typical diet advice.....
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Too complicated
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
Got this for some one who again 50 lds after taking depression meds for a few years. Was looking for anything that would help, found this one to be useless.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
Sure, just eat sugar all day and you'll raise your serotonin levels and cause diabetes and host of other problems as well. This diet is a joke.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
Here is a summary of this book.

Count your calories. 1400/day for women, 1800/day for men. No thanks.

Eat plenty of unhealthy animal products. Most of the meal suggestions are animal based. No thanks.

Eat sugary snacks 3 times a day to boost your serotonin. No thanks.

I guess I'll just have to do the actual work of losing weight sensibly by eating health, whole, plant based foods. No magic weight loss bullet, whether you are on antidepressants or not.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
Went through deep depression a few years ago. Was looking for anything that would help me get o0ber the issue. Found this one to be useless.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse