Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real-world, compact, ready-reckoner for SQL Developers & Administrators alike
One of the best things I like about the book is that it contains Vinod & Pinal's trademark simple, flowing language. For engineers already having practical, hands-on experience on SQL Server, this book is a refresher course on the basics. For students, the questions in this book offer a great way to revise things.

Although the name contains the word...
Published on January 22, 2012 by Nakul Vachhrajani

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for begginers
It is a nice book to have as preparation for an interview, collects a lot of valuable information, however not great getting into more advanced topics
Published 7 months ago by U. Bargil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real-world, compact, ready-reckoner for SQL Developers & Administrators alike, January 22, 2012
This review is from: SQL Server Interview Questions and Answers: For All Database Developers and Developers Administrators (Paperback)
One of the best things I like about the book is that it contains Vinod & Pinal's trademark simple, flowing language. For engineers already having practical, hands-on experience on SQL Server, this book is a refresher course on the basics. For students, the questions in this book offer a great way to revise things.

Although the name contains the word "Interview", this book is much more than just an interview questions guide. As you start reading the book, what you realize immediately is that this small package covers almost everything under the SQL Server umbrella, and caters to multiple audiences of multiple proficiency levels. The book is a ready-reckoner for every SQL Server developer & administrator. When reading the book, I found myself thinking about a concept that I hadn't touched in a while, or which I was not sure about. In such cases, I went over to the reference links at the end of such questions that are available where one can go to for additional information.

With real world questions and practical answers, this is one book you simply cannot afford to miss. Gift yourself a copy today.

(Read my full review here -[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for new students...... or anyone fresh off the boat, February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SQL Server Interview Questions and Answers: For All Database Developers and Developers Administrators (Paperback)
Covers basic interview questions.
Does not go deep into the answers for some tricky questions. Ideal for 1st or 2nd interview for any aspiring SQL Server DBA/Developer. I mostly gift this book to my students.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, April 18, 2014
I did not buy this from Amazon instead of Ebay. But I have to say this is the BEST SQL Server Technical interview book which you should absolutely not miss.

The author gave most of the content for free on his blog site but it is so good and I still bought the whole book. I am very satisfied.
Very high quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for begginers, December 17, 2013
By 
U. Bargil (Beachwood, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a nice book to have as preparation for an interview, collects a lot of valuable information, however not great getting into more advanced topics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Collection of SQL Server Interview Question, May 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Book is for everyone not only for fresher or less experienced,it is really helpful to every one who love to work with sql server.
Easy to Advanced question is nicely Covered and in the end of most of answer link is provided if you want to read more in Detail.
I like to say thanks Vinod Kumar and Pinal Dave for giving such a nice collection which i was searching for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good One for Interview Candidates, January 4, 2012
This review is from: SQL Server Interview Questions and Answers: For All Database Developers and Developers Administrators (Paperback)
This book is really a gift to a guy who is at struggling to get through interview. It has many thing to say about the SQL Server adn its Architect. It will spark your thoughts to go for more and thats what you need when you are at this stage. I would recommend to the interview goers to have atleast a glance to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to master the SQL server Basics and Gain confidence before a SQL server based Interview., November 15, 2011
This review is from: SQL Server Interview Questions and Answers: For All Database Developers and Developers Administrators (Paperback)
Though SQL server is an huge ocean - this book does justice to touch-base on every different aspect of the product. Starting from the basic concepts and then discussing Tricky questions, authors Pinal Dave and Vinod Kumar lucidly explains each aspect in a Question Answer Format.

Personally, i liked the Tricky question section because it made me think about the topic at hand. And i believe, this exercise of thinking on my feet after reading the question will help me tackle questions during interviews that require quick thinking. And for questions which i knew, i learned the perfect way of answering them.

And every chapter, ends with a summary (called points to ponder) which is an excellent place to reflect upon and test one's knowledge. And even if you are not planning to go for interview's in near future - this book is a handy reference for all FAQ's you may have on a day-to-day basis.

Perfect for any who is a SQL server Database Developer or a SQL server DBA or planning to be one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to gauge your knowledge on this vast area of SQL Server, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book for both a beginner as well as an expert. For beginner it will help to know the various topics available where more learning is possible. For an advanced and an expert on SQL Server it will provide the touch point to review the vast knowledge base of SQL Server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor content. Too many references to other books instead ..., April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Poor content. Too many references to other books instead of actual answers. Not enough code samples. Do not recommend it unless you want to get other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compendium, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is great compendium for those who:
- are preapring for job interview
- are trying to solve some everyday db problems
- are searching for some tricky methods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SQL Server Interview Questions and Answers: For All Database Developers and Developers Administrators
Used & New from: $11.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.