Customer Reviews


558 Reviews
5 star:
 (477)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


366 of 370 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will be seeing these shapes in your sleep
Highly addictive game because there are no turns, just every body whaling away at once. Trying to match up these shapes and colors becomes maddening after awhile. It is quite easy to get lost and see no matches what so ever and all of a sudden your brain will just click and you will be seeing sets everywhere. This is a very simple game to learn and very hard to...
Published on August 26, 2000 by B. Battaglia

versus
70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Challenging
I find it amazing children could play this. I find this game challenging at times, especially in the beginning. My friends and I were just stared at these cards for minute after minute. It requires a lot of patience, and after a while my brain shuts off. Now, that could be a good thing. Unlike most games it works your brain, eye perception and visualization. Playing...
Published on December 14, 2001 by Jeryl


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

366 of 370 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will be seeing these shapes in your sleep, August 26, 2000
By 
B. Battaglia "hockey legend" (buffalo, ny United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
Highly addictive game because there are no turns, just every body whaling away at once. Trying to match up these shapes and colors becomes maddening after awhile. It is quite easy to get lost and see no matches what so ever and all of a sudden your brain will just click and you will be seeing sets everywhere. This is a very simple game to learn and very hard to master. First time players will get frustrated very easily if they are playing with SET veterans. The idea is to match any three cards on the table by having all of the card's characteristics being all the same or all different. Your spatial reasoning will get a real work out as you play through the deck the number of times equal to the number of players. Points are scored for each successful set and points are lost for incorrectly picking a set(which happens alot when everyone is in a hurry to find the next set.). A great great game that is loads of fun but a real mental workout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


313 of 319 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best since chess, November 24, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
This game is the best invention since chess, if you want to improve your child's thinking ability! When I taught gifted students in grades 2-8, they would beg to play it. Kids would say over and over, "It''s hard, but it's fun". I read that it is an activity where the right brain and the left brain work together. The best thing about it is that it is not dependent on age or reading ability. There are 6 year olds who could beat me, and there are adults I can beat. A group of all ages can play together competitively, and no one has to hold back. Also, it is very light and portable for travel, or for just having handy if people are bored.. I take the cards out of the case, put a rubber band around them, and put them in my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game loving family, February 15, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
This educational game is extremely fun. Of the 7 members of our family - 5 of us play very often. We even invite company over to play! Our youngest who is 6 enjoys this game and can beat mom at 40! The other 5 children also are extremely fond of the game. The only problem that we have encountered is that sometimes 2 or more people yell "SET" at the same time. We have solved that proplem by incorporating a bell from a different game set next to the 12 cards to ring instead of yelling "SET". This works very well for our family! The best thing about this game is that it is extremely fun for all age groups! We can get quite competitive and play it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for kids and adults also helps learn useful skills, December 6, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
We played after family dinner with kids from 4 to 15, and adults too. Great way to get everybody to interact with each other, and the kids were so pumped up by how well they did compared to the adults. This is not a silly game, and kids get great thinking skills from it. My daughter is learning disabled and did REALLY well, it made her proud of how well she could think and gave her lots of positive feedback. I like to play it alone with her when we don't have time for more complicated games at night, but it also works very well in large and diverse groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super fun at a small price, December 6, 2005
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
So many "thinking" games these days cost big bucks, but not SET! It is basically a pattern recognition game, but MUCH more fun than "pattern recognition game" sounds. My family loves to play SET, and, as others have noted, five year olds can play on a par with adults.

I also love the portability of the game - it's good wherever you have to wait, the dentist, the Drs. office, etc...

And I also love the fact that you can lose cards and STILL play the game. Our deck is probably 5 cards short but still going strong.

I highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple concept, but it drives you to be creative., August 25, 2000
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
Like many great games, the concept here is simple. There are 81 cards, and they vary on 4 characteristics (shape, color, shading, and number on the card), each characteristic having three varieties. So all the combinations are 81 (3*3*3*3=81).
The object of the game is to look at a group 12 cards and find three where they all share common elements, or differ completely on a characteristic. For instance, a trio could all be green, all be diamonds, and all have a different number of elements and all have different shading... But if there are 'two' of a kind, and not three, it's not a winning trio. (Two reds and a green will not work, even if all the other elements are appropriate.) If you spot a trio, you need to call out "SET" in advance of selecting it; mis-calls count against you. You can also have a set where there is nothing in common in any pair of the three cards.
The educational value of this toy is in how it trains you to see relationships and common elements - - as well as uncommon elements. Remember, three completely unique cards constitutes a set just as well as a trio with a common theme.
Because there are no 'turns,' per se, with all vying for the relationships at once, players are encouraged to think very quickly.
We love this game. I hope you try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is wonderful for almost all ages!, November 17, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
This is probably one of the best games that I have ever played. Not only is it fun, but it is educational and challenging as well. It can be difficult at times, because the part of your brain that you use to play is often neglected. It takes a little while to get the hang of it, but once you understand it, you'll never want to stop! It's sometimes frustrating for some people, but I love solving puzzles like this, so the challenge is exciting for me. It can be played by yourself or with more people. Apparently, students at a university in the South were required to master this game, among other things, in order to earn their PhD. Try it, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "SET" is the best game and enjoyed by my family!, June 29, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
SET is a great game. I am always looking for games that will challenge all players at the same time. With children, it sometimes gets boring to wait for their turn. This does not happen with SET. All players are searching for "sets of three cards" at the same time. A friend of mine has an educational game and bookstore. When she was approached to carry this title, she called me up and requested the kids and I play the game and let her know our thoughts. We loved it! Do not be amazed if your child beats you many times ~ as they have clear minds, which is necessary to be successful at SET. We have taken this game on many vacations, as well as played it on the front porch or kitchen table. You will love SET if you are a gamer. Enjoy!

June 3, 2009; This game is still popular with my family. I have purchased many as gifts throughout the years. Keep enjoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beach fun, December 3, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
We take this game to the beach with us where the gang of kids who play range in age from 5-adult! The number of people who can play is quite flexible, and those who do find it quite addictive! It challenges you to think a little differently, and we find that age has NOTHING to do with skill level (much to the chagrin of the adults and the delight of the children)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific family game for all ages, July 14, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Set The Family Game of visual perception (Toy)
Set is a wonderful fun game that gets everyone involved. Kids can play on equal (and sometimes better) footing with the adults. The play is fast and no one gets bored and there are lots of laughs with groups from 2 to five or more. Set is destined to be one of the all time classics and is more fun than most of the games we already put in that category. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Set The Family Game of visual perception
$12.99 $9.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.