Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for added fun.
The Catan card game and expansion set make it perfectly clear that it was created and intended as a 2 person game (which is nice for my husband and I). The expansion set doesn't state anywhere that it adds players; the description is clear that it adds interest and variety -- not extra players -- to the basic game. Catan card game has somewhat convoluted rules, but is...
Published on June 28, 2008 by M. Musselman

versus
0 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was not what I thought it was... I wouldn't recommend it unless you like 2 player games
I thought this was going to make the card game 3-4 players, but it did not. This expansion only expanded the 2 player game with more options, which it already has plenty. I am going to return this.
Published on April 26, 2008 by SJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for added fun., June 28, 2008
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
The Catan card game and expansion set make it perfectly clear that it was created and intended as a 2 person game (which is nice for my husband and I). The expansion set doesn't state anywhere that it adds players; the description is clear that it adds interest and variety -- not extra players -- to the basic game. Catan card game has somewhat convoluted rules, but is very portable and fun to play (although you do need a level and somewhat large playing area). The expansion simply adds to the fun (you do need the original game and a good understanding of it's rules, tho)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Catan game for two players!, November 15, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
My wife and I are both Settlers of Catan fanatics. For the uninitiated, Settlers is a board game for 3-4 players (up to 6 with the expansion) that has different tribes competing for control of an island through the cunning collection and use of natural resources.

This card game is a variant on the same theme, for two players. It should be noted that only two players can play. With that caveat, this game is wonderful. Being a card game rather than a board game, it will obviously be different in many ways. Having said that, it is amazing how much this game has the same vibe as the board game. It is incredibly well-designed. It seems to strike just the right balance between skill and luck (the best player won't always win, but the outcome isn't totally random either).

I eagerly recommend this game to:

* Anyone who likes the board game.

* Anyone who likes strategy card games.

* Particularly people of either of the above groups who are looking for a two player game.

The board game gets a lot of attention, and rightly so, but this is an overlooked gem. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game!, February 5, 2009
By 
E. Michaelis (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
We bought the orignal card game a while back and have LOVED it so this Christmas we got the expansion for it. It has been SO MUCH FUN! There are lots of new things to do that make the original game even more fun to play. I loved that it came with a few different expansions to it so we can play it a different way everytime. We have become big Settlers fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for a 2-player game, this is perfect, August 3, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
My husband and I are almost obsessed with the Settlers of Catan card game! We play a few times a week.

Start off with the basic game and then add the expansions once you get the hang of it. Our favorite expansion is definitely Barbarians and Traders. Once you're hooked on the card game, it's really hard to transition to the board game. I find the card game to be much more intricate and dynamic.

If you're looking for a 2-player game, then LOOK NO FURTHER. Catan is simply the best game we've ever played. Nothing else comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game Expansion, April 11, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
Great for all ages. The expansions keep the game interesting once you've played the base version a lot. I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Card game even better than the original board game!, November 30, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
Settlers of Catan Card Game is a great addition to the Catan World. Limited to two players, it pits you against each other without wanting to kill the other player for building a settlement on your longest road or getting to your next placement spot before you do. You each are working on your own province and it is more a race to the finish instead of trying to block each other's move. Definitely a better game for spousal peace and harmony :)

We have not played through all the expansions.....they make the game a little more cutthroat by allowing you to do more damage to your opponent. Fun....but we hate reading the rules for each expansion scenario. I do like that for about $16 you get multiple setups instead of having to buy each expansion individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good card game, June 16, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
This is an expansion set for Catan Card Game, so if you don't already have the base card game, then this expansion will be useless to you, as this expansion requires the base card game to be played. The base game is only for 2 players, and this expansion set doesn't change that.

This Expansion set includes the following 5 expansions for the base card game, each of which may be played individualy with the base card game to provide a different flavor to the game so that it doesn't get boring too quickly.

1 Wizards and Dragons
2 Science and Progress
3 Politics and Intrigue
4 Knights and Merchants
5 Trade and Change

There is also a sixth expansion set which is not included in this set. It is Catan Card Game Artisans & Benefactors Expansion

If you enjoy Civilization-style games where you build up your cities/culture, and/or you enjoy 2-player card-games such as "Magic: The Gathering", or "Star Trek: The Customizable Card Game", etc... then you may also enjoy this game. The two main drawbacks that this game has, is that without any tweaks/house rules, one game may take 1-2 hours until both players really have the rules down pat, and as of right now, there is no way for the knights which you recruit to be able to fight one's opponent's knights. I think that adding some fighting to the game would spice things up a bit.

All-in-all, I give this game 3 1/2 stars which rounds up to 4.

Go ahead and try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was not what I thought it was... I wouldn't recommend it unless you like 2 player games, April 26, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion (Toy)
I thought this was going to make the card game 3-4 players, but it did not. This expansion only expanded the 2 player game with more options, which it already has plenty. I am going to return this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Settlers of Catan Card Game Expansion
$47.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.