Seven Point Eight: The First Chronicle and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Seven Point Eight: The First Chronicle Paperback – April 6, 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$116.02 $7.00
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Discover an addictive, suspenseful debut thriller filled with twists and turns that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 2nd edition edition (April 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1461072484
  • ISBN-13: 978-1461072485
  • Product Dimensions: 0.9 x 5.2 x 7.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,781,044 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Seven Point Eight has to be one of the most fascinating reads I've come by in quite a while... the execution was flawless... Captivating and intelligently written - definitely could appeal to fans of Star Trek, Star Wars, Dan Brown books, fans of the Jodie Foster film 'Contact' and anyone who loves X-Men"
Dream Reads

A sci-fi soap opera that may remind you at times of Sliders, Avatar, Flat-liners, X-men & Star Trek
Book Blog 28

"I became totally immersed in this story and read it in two days. Metaphysics/ science blended masterfully to create visually stunning imagery... I give this book 5 fairies (stars) and anxiously await the next installments of the series for the visual tapestry and the ability to make me test my boundaries of thinking."
Heather's Book Nook

'This book is Sci-fi meets Fantasy in this bar one night, got a little drunk and boom! nine months later... If this was a TV Show, I'd say we got a hell of a Season Finale in that final Chapter!'
Alain Casseus - Amazon review


'Ms Harbon manages to take the threads of an epic story and weave them together with skill... on top of all of this, it's just a darned good story.'
SupernaturalSuspense.com

From the Author

Welcome to the start of a highly ambitious and epic series.
This is a journey through the universe, alternate dimensions of reality, time, space, past lives, ancient knowledge, fringe science and true love. We follow the journey of  five people: Tahra, Paul, Max, Ava and Sam, and their quest for the truth.
The First Chronicle lays much of the groundwork as well as being an adventure in its own right.
Seven Point Eight: The Second Chronicle is now available in the Kindle store and in paperback.

More About the Author

Self confessed geek, knowledge-a-holic and worshipper of beautiful fabrics, Marie Harbon is a British speculative fiction writer who likes to dabble with themes of epic proportions. She loves to create character driven fiction and finds the human race fascinating. Her books have underlying spiritual themes with a leaning towards exploring human potential, although never without the dramas we all face on a day to day basis.

Marie Harbon has worked in both the retail and fitness industry. She has a degree in sport and fitness and taught group exercise for several years, delivering aerobics and Pilates classes. For two years, she delivered BTEC Sport courses and has also instructed dance and sport with children.

Customer Reviews

Popular Discussion Topics

beta: what do you think?
  • "Writing" 21
  • "Characters" 18
  • "Romantic" 6
  • "Depth" 6
  • "Action" 5
  • All Topics

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Chels on August 20, 2011
Format: Paperback
This is a great science fiction book for those interested is mind power/control. The main characters, Max, Tahra, and Paul, are embroiled in a project that allows one to project his/her consciousness to different areas of the world as well as, they soon find out, outside of this Earth. Tahra is the character who is able to carry out this incredible feat. The reader will enjoy exploring the author's idea of different planets in both our and other solar systems; Tahra sees new "entities" and meets the ultimate entity, angel like entities, at the very end of the book.

There is also a different part to this novel, one concerning romance. Max is a womanizer, he isn't a character one would expect to be faithful. He does the nasty with several women-partly out of sexual frustration at Tahra's refusal. He repeatedly attempts to secure a relationship, going so far as to offer marriage, to Tahra. Tahra, who is very inexperienced and more mature, repeatedly refuses...she wants more from a partner. Paul is much older than Tahra, two decades to be exact; however, he is much nicer and is drawn to Tahra, despite his relationship with another woman.

The characters vary in their likableness. The reader will most likely enjoy Tahra's character, she is both smart and sweet; however, the reader will not find Max's character nearly as palatable. The plot is unusual, different, and in part, pure science fiction. The reader may have to reread several passages in the book to make absolutely sure he/she understands the concepts acknowledged in the book. This book was a quick read for containing so many chapters, the book would be great for young adult/adult readers who enjoy science fiction with a hint of romance.

*Complimentary copy received for this review, does not affect my opinion in any way*
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Bill Thibadeau on December 2, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I am a licensed professional engineer so I have a strong math and science background. That is perhaps a negative because this book is a ethereal paranormal romp through space. The physical boundaries of science are ignored to fit the premise of this book. I must congratulate the author for her research into the sciences and physics in particular. She was able to interweave the physical and cerebral sciences into a compatible story. Who knows, maybe a few centuries in the future will prove the author to have been clairvoyant.

The writing style varies. I found the story to be very entertaining when it involved the primary characters, Tahara, Paul, and Max. The same is not true of the secondary characters. The story seems to be written in secondary character segments that give equal weights between the characters. I can only surmise that the secondary characters will become bigger players in the next four installments of the chronicle. That would be OK if the entire chronicle was complete thus allowing the reader to read through the work in its entirety.

At times I was very into the story. Other times it left me wondering what I was reading. I really gave it 3.5 stars because it will appeal to a particular genre of science fiction readers. I think the story would benefit from downsizing as it was far too wordy at times.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Shelly Arkon on September 26, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
OMG. A million kudos to this author. Really. It was a sci-fi novel I could relate to. There are no fantasy kingdoms. No new languages you'll have to learn. If you understand and appreciate quantum physics, you'll love this book and not want to put this one down. And when you get to the end, it will be as if someone unexpectedly kicked you off a cliff. You'll be left hanging.

Not only will the author have you wondering about `Is there a God? or `What is the meaning of life?' But she'll have you wondering who Ava Kavanaugh really is and who is Sam. Let me tell you why.

First the writer takes you into the 1940s where Paul Eldridge is delivering a speech on quantum physics. There you meet Max Richardson who questions him about the soul.

So many chapters in, the writer introduces you to Ava Kavanagh, a young scientist on the rise, and her sister (they were adopted as babies), taking her readers to the eighties. On the way to her sister, Ava sees things but not like a normal person would. She senses another reality which scares her because her sister lives in a psych ward all vegged out. And Ava fears she will end up in the same place due to what she believes are her own personal hallucinations.

Not long after, we're introduced to Sam (he sees dead people), her cousin who is attracted to her. He's younger than her but he's ready to throw caution to the wind. When you first meet him he's seventeen and she's twenty-one. And as the writer writes on they grow older and their lives and their relationship grow more complex.

In the meantime, you're thrown back into the sixties and introduced to Tahra, a psychic from Tehran.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on November 10, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I was given this book for free to review.

I just finished reading this book on my kindle and wasn't happy that it had ended. There was so much more that I wanted to know. Marie Harbon is an amazing author!

Paul seems naive about life, he's very self-contained until he meets Max. Max has hired Paul to do research for him and in doing so they become friendly. Max opens up a whole new world to Paul. Pay attention to the details of Paul's early days at The Institute. You will also meet Tahra, a very strong willed young lady with a British mother and Persian father. She's not sure what her purpose in life is until she too meets Max and then Paul. The new dimensions Tahra and Paul discover are very interesting and exotic. The creatures they meet are strange but make you wonder what is really out there. The time frame for Max, Paul & Tahra is set in the 40's, 50's and 60's.

Then there is Ava is Sam's adopted cousin. Ava's sister, Marianne is in a coma and nobody can tell Ava what happened to Marianne. Ava is a scientist and has started seeing things that seem very strange. Sam is very interested in music and sees the dead. We don't get to know what happens with Ava, Marianne and Sam or how they tie in with Max, Paul & Tahra.

I can't wait for the next book so I can find out what happens next!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search