Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blue October Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2005
I realized I wanted my review in the hardback too!

My son): I really liked the part when they were on the ISNT train and I really liked when they went on the plane and how one of the characters escaped. It was a fascinating book. I would definitely read another book that he has written.

(Mom:)My son read the book in 5 days and was glued to the book. It was a great adventure story about 3 kids saving the world (and it had a few pictures). It was a great mixture of a good story, fantasy and geography. In fact, the book was very well written especially for a children's book, but a much more manageable size than Harry Potter. My son is a third grader and enjoyed every minute of it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
Do you want a James Bond adventure that is safe for the kids?
This and the follow-on book are cracker-jack.
Fast paced, great characters and some very serious themes are presented in a way that I can only say was superb!
We all read this out loud, cuddled up in bed over each evening.
A smashing good read and the second book was even better!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2005
THE SEVEN PROFESSORS OF THE FAR NORTH is an exciting adventure tale, rippled with inventive and surprising technology. It begins when 11-year-old Sam Carnabie is invited to spend his Easter holidays with an old friend of his parents, Professor Ampersand. Professor Ampersand, an inventor, has dozens of interesting contraptions, from a motorcycle built for four to an oven-boiler that heats water at the same time that it cooks food. Professor Ampersand's great niece and nephew, Ben and Zara, are delighted to show Sam all the innovative delights their house has to offer.

No sooner have they finished dinner on the very first night of Sam's visit, however, than an urgent message arrives, quickly followed by five of Professor Ampersand's former colleagues. Together with another scientist, Professor Murdo, they were once responsible for trying to found a top-level university at Nordberg, a tiny island in the far north. However, when Professor Murdo's unethical experiments came to light, he decided to flee, taking his six colleagues with him and abandoning them in a huge field of snow and ice. Only a secret known to one of them, a secret they've all promised never to reveal, got them home safely. When Professor Murdo's private soldiers show up a few hours later and kidnap all six professors, Sam, Ben and Zara are left with only a confusing clue to the secret and their unwavering determination as they set off to find the professors and unmask Murdo's frightening scheme.

The three children's surprising and exciting adventures are at the heart of the rest of the book as they wend their way north to the island of Nordberg. Alternating with scenes from the life of another girl, Marcia, who ends up in Professor Murdo's clutches for entirely different reasons, the story of Ben, Zara and Sam's escapades are edge-of-your-seat exciting, but always plausible in the context of the story. Fardell's world of surprising inventions means that the reader is constantly making new discoveries right along with the kids in the story. Although based in fact and science rather than fantasy, Fardell's world building is on a par with the Harry Potter books --- in fact, THE SEVEN PROFESSORS OF THE FAR NORTH reminded me more of the spirit of Harry Potter than any of the numerous copycat fantasy books spawned since the young wizard's success.

Each of the three children brings his or her own skills to the adventure --- Sam's preparedness, Ben's map-reading abilities, Zara's boldness --- and each of them comes up with innovative ideas when they're most needed, usually just in the nick of time. As the book approaches its exciting conclusion, it's easy to believe that their adventures have helped Sam, Ben and Zara develop the courage they need to confront Professor Murdo.

From start to finish, John Fardell's THE SEVEN PROFESSORS OF THE FAR NORTH is a delight to read.

--- Reviewed by Paula Jolin
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
This was a truly amazing book packed with fun and adventure.The order in which the events unfold is perfectly awesome. The first chapters in the book will capture anybody's mind, ant are written very well. The author discribes the scenes so vividly, and uses the best choice of words. I highly reccomend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2007
The 7 Professors of the Far North by John Fardell book is pure, escapist fun, perfect for older elementary school kids looking for a spy adventure. Originally published in England, the book does contain some British terminology, but nothing that will unfamiliar to Harry Potter fans. The story begins when Sam's parents send him to spend his vacation week with their old friend Professor Ampersand. Eleven-year-old Sam quickly becomes friends with the professor's great-niece and nephew, Zara and Ben, and finds the professor unusual, but wonderful. Professor Ampersand and Sam share a love of scientific inventions (automatic cooking machines, for example, and a motorcycle with a three-passenger enclosed sidecar). Here's a passage from when Sam first visits the professor's house:

"The professor was right, Sam decided. He did feel at home here. There was something about the sparkle of the fairy lights reflecting magically on glass test tubes; something about the warm glow of the lamps casting mysterious shadows of still more mysterious inventions; something that made Sam's stomach tingle the way it had when he'd first breathed in the smell of the motorbike and sidecar."

Sam doesn't get much time to enjoy the professor's house, however. His first night is interrupted by the arrival of a colleague of the professor's, Eric Gauntraker, exhausted and ill and bearing a mysterious message. The children learn that the two professors were part of a team of "Seven Professors of the Far North", founding members of a university on the remote, icy island country of Nordbergen. Before the university could really get off the ground, one of their members, Professor Murdo, betrayed the team, and the local community, and destroyed the university. And now, years later, Murdo has reappeared on the island. Professors Ampersand and Gauntraker convene their other four colleagues to discuss a plan of action. Before they can get very far, however, all six professors are kidnapped by mysterious intruders.

The children are left on their own, hidden away upstairs with a clue that the professors have left them. And, being intrepid and loyal children, they set out to search for, and rescue, the professors. They discover a hidden means of transportation up to the far north (it's very cool!) and make a few friends along the way. They also, with the help of another child who has been kidnapped by Professor Murdo, uncover Murdo's heinous plot, and encounter many dangers. None of it is very plausible. But it is suspenseful, fun, fast-paced, and filled with likable characters. Personally, I can't wait to read the sequel, The Flight of the Silver Turtle.

This book review was originally published on my blog, Jen Robinson's Book Page, on January 27th, 2007.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2007
I liked the book so much because it had a lot of action and some mystery. The 7 Professors started out as friends but one had a sinister plot in mind. Their goal was to build a university in the far north, but then the bad professor burned the buildings down and kidnapped the other professors. Will 3 kids be able to rescue the professors?! Read this book to find out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2006
I'm not a kid, and I haven't been one for so long it's sad. But like a kid, the cover of the book caught my eye and intrigued me. The price was great so I bought it and I'm glad I did. This is a really wonderful book-- full of fun, adventure, and invention. Another reviewer here compared it to the Harry Potter books and I agree: it holds up quite nicely. The characters aren't quite as rich (Fardell doesn't quite seem to know what to do with Zara) but the story is a page-turner and you never know quite what you're going to get on that next page.

For parents wondering about the book, it's definitely appropriate for kids as young as 9 or 10, provided they're up to reading a "real" book. The situations are tense but I don't think there's anything that's likely to give them nightmares. And the bad guys are punished, even when, as in one case, it's someone who does something illegal but is kind and helpful to the young heroes. Also, there are no, ahem, "adult" situations at all, so you don't have to worry about it in that regard. One other good thing is that two of the kids in the book are girls and they're very brave, noble and smart. Plus, they're presented completely on the same level as the boys, not just "smart for a girl" or anything like that.

The only problem I had was with the climactic scene: it seemed to be too quick, a little too convenient, and a little too easy. Once they got to that scene there were no more complications or twists. That's one thing I can say about the Potter books: they're twisty and interesting right up till the end.

I'm tempted to give my review only 4 stars for two reasons: 1) A "5" implies that this is the best-- that it can't get any better. But that's not the case. It *could* be better. And 2) Well, it could be better. HOWEVER, it's definitely worth reading and I wouldn't want to risk lowering the overall ranking by giving it only 4 stars. The qualms I had with the climax are likely just my own pickiness, so I don't want anyone put off, yet I do want to keep the review honest.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2006
Young Sam Carnabie is staying Professor Ampersand and his great niece and nephew, Zara and Ben for a few weeks while his parents attend a conference. Professor Ampersand's home is filled with Rube Goldberg inventions and "labor saving" devices.

Late one night an old friend of the professor's arrives, exhausted and fearful with news that an old enemy, has returned. In the course of the evening, Professor Ampersand tells the children about an earlier part of his life when he and six other professors founded a university on Nordbergen , a remote island in the far North, only to be betrayed by one of them. Roderick Murdo was discovered to have kidnapped a baby for some ghastly experiment. The baby was saved but Murdo left the professors to die in the wilderness of the Arctic and disappeared.

Ampersand summons the other professors to let them know that their nemesis has returned to Nordbergen. As they plan how to thwart him again, Murdo's goons arrive and kidnap the professors. The children are left to follow the few clues they have in order to rescue them and save the world.

A secret subterranean railroad (very cool,) snowmobiles, and submarines convey the kids to Nordbergen. Murdo is a "James Bond" style villian whose human shaped high rise headquarters is a super complex of high tech gadgetry and genetic engineering evil.

The kids must figure things out but they are helped by adults along the way.

I liked the small b&w drawings that are sprinkled throughout the text. The book had an old-fashioned feel that got better as the story progressed. I will be interested to see how kids go for it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2006
I'm not a kid, and I haven't been one for so long it's sad. But like a kid, the cover of the book caught my eye and intrigued me. The price was great so I bought it and I'm glad I did. This is a really wonderful book-- full of fun, adventure, and invention. Another reviewer here compared it to the Harry Potter books and I agree: it holds up quite nicely. The characters aren't quite as rich (Fardell doesn't quite seem to know what to do with Zara) but the story is a page-turner and you never know quite what you're going to get on that next page.

For parents wondering about the book, it's definitely appropriate for kids as young as 9 or 10, provided they're up to reading a "real" book. The situations are tense but I don't think there's anything that's likely to give them nightmares. And the bad guys are punished, even when, as in one case, it's someone who does something illegal but is kind and helpful to the young heroes. Also, there are no, ahem, "adult" situations at all, so you don't have to worry about it in that regard. One other good thing is that two of the kids in the book are girls and they're very brave, noble and smart. Plus, they're presented completely on the same level as the boys, not just "smart for a girl" or anything like that.

The only problem I had was with the climactic scene: it seemed to be too quick, a little too convenient, and a little too easy. Once they got to that scene there were no more complications or twists. That's one thing I can say about the Potter books: they're twisty and interesting right up till the end.

I'm tempted to give my review only 4 stars for two reasons: 1) A "5" implies that this is the best-- that it can't get any better. But that's not the case. It *could* be better. And 2) Well, it could be better. HOWEVER, it's definitely worth reading and I wouldn't want to risk lowering the overall ranking by giving it only 4 stars. The qualms I had with the climax are likely just my own pickiness, so I don't want anyone put off, yet I do want to keep the review honest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2008
Sam's parents have gone to a conference and left him with Zara, Ben, and their great uncle, Professor Alexander Ampersand. The actions starts off right after the first chapter, when a stranger appears at Professor Ampersand's house with disturbing news: Professor Murdo is alive and well and still conducting his ghoulish experiments on the Arctic island of Nordberg. Ampersand calls on his old colleagues, and before they can develop a plan, they are kidnapped and taken to the Arctic by Professor Murdo's evil forces, leaving Sam, Ben and Zara to save them. Rollicking adventure ensues as the children struggle to uncover Murdo`s plot and find the 7 Professors of the title.

This novel is low on story and high on action. The 7 Professors of the Far North tries to be too much like that other popular childrens`adventure series A Series of Unfortunate Events. There are some imaginative pieces (the secret underground railway) that could have been developed with more panache, but overall this is a book that children in grades 3 and 4 should enjoy. It`s not one of those children`s books that is good for adults, however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.