Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sevin and Lucien get the spotlight
Sevin" by Elizabeth Amber is part of her `The Lords of Satyr' series and consists of two tales, "Sevin" and "Lucien". These two brothers of the Roman Satyr clan are still unmated. Sevin hasn't found a female that he wants to bond with and his concern for his damaged brother, Lucien, dictates that any female that becomes part of his life will necessarily have to accept...
Published on July 18, 2012 by Elf2060

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay book
I thought the brothers should've gotten their own books. I enjoyed both stories but felt the stories were just too rushed. I felt that I was just getting into the story and then it ended.
Published 14 months ago by Natalie Seng


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sevin and Lucien get the spotlight, July 18, 2012
Sevin" by Elizabeth Amber is part of her `The Lords of Satyr' series and consists of two tales, "Sevin" and "Lucien". These two brothers of the Roman Satyr clan are still unmated. Sevin hasn't found a female that he wants to bond with and his concern for his damaged brother, Lucien, dictates that any female that becomes part of his life will necessarily have to accept Lucien as well--particularly during the Calling. The monthly requirement for satiation is an essential requirement to the Satyr yet Lucien must be forced to participate due to his antipathy to touch after the years of torture he has endured. The ultimate irony results from an unplanned translocation that forces both Sevin and Lucien to be dependent for their very lives on Alexa Patrizzi, the sister of Lucien's torturer. Alexa has her own secrets and family complications but never imagines that the sensual pull she feels for Sevin will be acted on in such a carnal manner and result in such a life changing event.

Lucien's erratic powers combine with his strong desires to escape from the cloying concern of his brothers and result in him being translocated to ElseWorld and becoming the basis for a ritual reminiscent of that used for Vestal Virgins. Lucien's reluctance to be touched transmutes into a very real representation and it is up to the Healer Natalia to find a way to protect her sister and help heal the wounded soul who appeals to her on all levels.

Another imaginative addition to the very erotic series about those sensual Satyr who populate regions of Italy. The tensions between humans and those remarkable beings from ElseWorld continue to rise and the Satyr must find a way to deal with the repercussions even as they continue to hold their very necessary carnal rites. The continued repercussions from Lucien's imprisonment are explored and creatively managed as the four brothers each try to find happiness. Temporary solutions are found for several of the issues facing the sensual quartet of brothers but there are more struggles to overcome, including a lack of an essential ingredient for their elixir. The series continues to unfold in a very creative and intriguing manner, hopefully there will be additional volumes beyond this second arc.

© Night Owl Reviews

I received a copy of this title in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sevin is actually a novella (starring Sevin) plus a short story (starring Lucien), June 17, 2012
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
Lord Sevin Satyr owns the Salone di Passione in nineteenth-century Rome, a place were the Elseworlders can be themselves without harm or worry. Luckily, Sevin knows his weakness, namely the lively human Alexa, but he never expected to have a run in with this beauty on the night of the full moon... or have to share her with his younger, scarred brother Lucien.

Lucien has a dark, traumatic past. With an odd twist in time and unexpected travel, Lucien finds himself in the arms of his savior, Natalia.

Sevin is actually a novella (starring Sevin) and a short story (starring Lucien). Honestly, I wish the two stories were intermingled and resulting in a large, cohesive plot.

Sevin and Alexa know each other from Dane, where Alexa was briefly engaged to Sevin's brother. Even though Alexa's family mistreated Sevin's family, he could not help his attraction to the beautiful woman. I liked how Sevin tried to maintain distance from Alexa, but failed especially when she is a willing woman on the full moon. Also, I liked how he had reservations about their relationship because of his past.

Alexa's story is a bit muddled mainly because part of her tale was told in the previous installment Dane (#5 in the series). She's been somewhat developed in a previous book, which unfortunately she does not grow much during the course of Sevin. Luckily, she has had some issues in the recent past, allowing her to grow and providing conflict for the plot.

As Sevin and Alexa's story winds down, Lucien's winds up. He is transported into Elseworld and into the past where he meets Natalia, a healer and secret maenad.

Lucien has a very dark past where he was kept as a sex slave. Like Lucien, Natalia has a different past mainly because she lives in an odd part of Elseworld where women are treated like property. I liked how Natalia stood up for her own beliefs and living the life she chose for herself.

Sevin is a strong installment in the Satyr series, but I wish Sevin and Lucien's stories were intermingled into one complete plot. But, I enjoyed watching Sevin fall for a woman he was not suppose to love and how Lucien found his salvation in the arms of an older woman.

BookingIt Grade: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Scorching Read in the Satyr series!!!, May 25, 2012
By 
I've been follow the Satyr series for a few years and I am quite addicted to the world that Elizabeth Amber has created.
For those of you that don't know, this series is a paranormal Erotica series featuring 2 Satyr clans.
The first clan is based in the 1820's. The Tuscany Clan features Nicholas, Raine, Lyon, & Dominic.
The second clan is based in the 1880's. The Rome Clan features Dane, Bastian, & Sevin.

A little history about the Satyr clans. They are from the Otherworld and during the full moon every month they are forced to fornicate/mate with someone else or shimmerskins (beings that the Satyr's can create to fornicate with on those special nights). They have two penises on calling night and after the first time of coming, the 2nd one will disappear. They are descended from Bacchus, the God of Wine and Lust, hence the fortification. Elizabeth creates an amazingly realistic historical world with mystical creatures that we don't get to see a lot of. If you haven't read the other books I suggest you read them before starting Sevin.

Sevin is basically two stories. We get Sevin and his story with Alexa. Then we get Lucien with Natalia. This was a bit different because normally each Satyr normally gets his own book, although I will admit that Lord Sevin got probably 2/3rd's of the book and Lucien was a much shorter story near the end. Both were great though.

Lord Sevin Satyr owns the Salone Di Passione, which is basically a place where others who are from ElseWorld can come here on full moon nights to fornicate freely and in safety. Alexa Patrizzi is friends with Eva (who is Danes wife).

On the night of the full moon Eva is dropped off at the club to meet her husband Dane and Alexa is in her carriage. The problem is Alexa's family tortured and kept Lucien for many years as a sex slave so Lucien absolutely hates her, though Lord Sevin is completely attracted to her. He believes along with Lucien that the Patrizzi family is their enemy and although all her family is dead except Alexa, they still believe her to be their enemy. The problem is did she have anything to do with keeping Lucien locked up?

Lord Sevin basically tells Alexa that if she stays in town, one of these fornication nights they are going to meet and have a passion filled night. They are both attracted to one another but Alexa claims she had nothing to do with what her family did and Sevin doesn't believe her. They are at an impasse.

Sevin has been staying with his brother Lucien since his release to make sure that he fornicates on full moon nights. It might just seem like sex to some but if the Satyrs do not fornicate on a full moon night, they will die. So since Lucien was kept as basically a sex slave and abhors any touch, Sevin stays with him on those nights to make sure he takes care of himself.

One this special night Sevin and Lucien are in the club and Lucien somehow manages to transport himself to these catacombs under Alexa's house. Sevin grabbed him as it was happening and they both disappeared. They took awhile to figure out where they had ended up and Alexa ends up showing up as well. She's not sure of the way out since her family only showed her the entrance to the catacombs when they told her what they did and what they expected of her. She's by herself in the house when someone breaks in so she runs to the only place she knows she can hide, she might not get back out though.

Sevin is determined to have Lucien and himself sleep with her to survive but Lucien is extremely reluctant so Sevin promises with his gift to fetter out secrets of the mind and heart that he will tell him if Alexa had anything to do with what happened to him. Lucien agrees and Sevin proceeds to seduce her and they both end up spending a very passionate night with her. Alexa is sad and she offers her body to Lucien as payment for her family's crimes against him...... Needless to say there is some background plot going on from someone in Alexa's past. There is a lot to get through between Lucien and Alexa's past.

We jump to Lucien who basically goes back through time and space to heal. He doesn't know it at the time but he turns into a statue in ElseWorld and he's gone for a really long time. Natalia who teaches at one of the schools somehow manages to crack his statue while trying to save her sisters butt for being out of bed at the Academy. There's some definite evil going on in Lucien's story. Not just with Lucien but with Natalia and the Academy they are at. The statue is at this academy with a sign that basically whoever wakes the statue shall save them all. Its a very intriguing plot considering Lucien's story is so much shorter than Sevins. Very meaningful and I loved reading about both Sevin and Lucien.

If you like paranormal historical erotica you will really enjoy Elizabeth Amber's Satyr series. She creates believable worlds with spectacular characters who are just like us, they want to laugh, love, and be loved in return. The brothers in each series have an amazing bond with one another and you get the sense of family with each of her stories. She's one of my favorite authors and I really enjoy the historical twists that come with the paranormal, and of course the sex is scorching hot. Give her a try!

5 Stars from Paranormal Addicts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another extraordinary read from Ms. Amber, May 12, 2012
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
This is a phenomenal read, and to my delight not only do we find out what happens in Sevin's life but Lucien's as well. Two extraordinary stories rolled into one.

With Se vin up to his neck with problems with Salone di Passione, and worried about Lucien's sanity, Sev in did not need the added attraction of the one women he could not have.

Lucien is drowning in memories of his past when he was captured and tortured, and he cannot control his powers.
He also cannot get a grip on his life, so he takes the only way out he knows.

This is an exceptional story that combines, both Sevin and Lucien, yet each have their own destiny.
An emotional and fast paced tale that keeps you enthralled to the end.

I have read and love all of the "Lords of Satyr" and each are unique in their own way.
This is one is another keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Every Book in this Series!, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
I'm really hoping there are more of them coming out, because I loved all 7 books in this series!

They are beautifully written, every character exquisitely developed, the plots are always gripping and suspenseful. I flew through these books in less than a week, since they're all conveniently on my iPhone, and I couldn't put them down!

It's a bittersweet feeling having finished all these books. That feeling of emptiness you get when you've finished an incredible book/series and come back to reality from being immersed in the wonderful world that the author painted in your head through her incredible imagination. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice finale to the series., May 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
I was wondering where this series was going and now I know. Very satisfying read. Characters are pretty good, the story was fine and the genre is one I like. These books are not my favorites but I do like to read this genre (erotic fantasy) as a change up once in a while. I will look for this author in the future. This series is quite graphic so if you don't care for explicit sex, beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sevin..., June 20, 2012
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
Sevin and Luc are larger than life, but with these women their stories go from fantasy to fantastic. Even with a very take charge attitude, Sevin always has someone else's feelings in mind, and Alexa's character feels just as giving. Luc's story is your classic tragedy, but with Natalia's touch anything is possible. In this long line of Satyr Lords every man is special and every story is filled with unrelenting passion and heart pounding danger.

Lototy
Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance & More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, but does contain two stories!, May 28, 2012
I can officially say that Ms. Amber is consistent! Sevin is panty melting hot, but she followed her pattern that she started with the first set of satyr men (books 1-4), ending a series quickly and abruptly, but in a good yet frustrating way.

Sevin is the brother that was always left behind. Many years ago, his parents died and he also lost his three brothers. Left alone at a very young age, he wondered and tries to understand his existence. Too young to understand his heritage, his coming of age had dire consequences that marked him for life. Now all his brothers are home, but his brother Lucien is broken and Sevin is determined to be there for him; even if that means he has to remove the one woman that makes his blood burn.

Alexa Patrizzi has nothing. She lost her mother and brother months ago, but after what she learned about them, she is not so sure if that is such a bad thing. She runs to Venice to escape their evil doings and has now returned to her home in Rome. Alone and scared, she is barely holding on. To protect Lucien, Sevin Satyr wants her gone from Rome, but she has nowhere else to go.

Their attraction is almost visual, but after the pain that her family set upon Lucien, Sevin can't pursue Alexa. He needs to get rid of her and fast. Fate has other plans. These three people are thrown together, forced to endure. One night will change everyone and everything.

Lucien is more confused than ever. His hatred for the Patrizzi family has fueled him and now revenge is out of his grasp, but there are more pressing matters at hand. A new travel embargo has just cut off the Satyr Lords from their supply of life saving grapes. Not to mention the arrival of a fountain has a strange but strong pull on Lucien. One touch and he is gone.

Natalia is oddly attracted to the godlike statue. She doesn't dare to look or even touch it. The beautiful statue suddenly appeared at the temple over a decade ago and has been worshipped and revered ever since; seen as the savior to save their dying lands. WHO WAKETH HIM, SHALL SAVE OUR LAND. One stumble and touch later and Natalia has given her people hope, but she has also sealed her fate.

Lucien wakes to find a beautifully alluring woman pleasuring him. She is touching him, but for someone who despises to be touched it is a strange yet wondrous experience. He doesn't trust these feelings though. Now after years of torment he is a prisoner yet again and is forced to comply with his captors, but he senses his last remaining enemy nearby. Lucien will get his revenge if it is the last thing he does.

Forced together, they find comfort. Can her training as a healer save Lucien? Can he get past his fears and allow love into his heart? These two broken people need each other and together they can find happiness. Can Lucien return to his brothers and save them before the next full moon?

These two short stories blend beautifully together. They flowed seamlessly from one to the other. All-in-all I'm satisfied with Sevin. Would I have wanted longer more detailed stories for these two brothers? Yes. Would I have missed out on their stories? No. I have mixed feelings about this novel.

Are you confused yet? Well if you read the about the Tuscan Satyr's you would be up-to-date, but not to worry, I'll see what I can do. Ms. Amber has written seven books of the Satyr Lords and her seventh book is smartly titled Sevin. Books 1-4 are about the Tuscan clan set approximately 60 years prior to the Roman clan. The first four books do not need to be read to enjoy books 5-7, but Ms. Amber has written an amazing world so I personally wouldn't want to miss out on them.

Her consistency that I mentioned earlier is this; she wrote full novels for the first of the brothers, but for some reason she has ended the sub-series by combining the last of the clan into one final book. So book four had two characters short stories and so did Sevin, book seven.

Book four titled Dominic, also contained Vince's story. These characters really could have held their own novels, but their short stories were still very enjoyable reads. This can be said for Sevin too. Sevin and Lucien are two brothers I really wanted full novels written about. I did not expect their books to be combined and because of that, I am disappointed. Being titled Sevin, I truly expected it to be solely his own. Both of these men didn't deserve to be swept under the rug and be quickly wrapped up.

Even though Ms. Amber did combine their stories, their short stories are still very good. They do feel rushed, but they are filled with love, lust and suspense. These are well written books that really need to be enjoyed. The Satyr Lords are amazing virile men with lots of love to give. I enjoy Ms. Amber's world building, her characters are amazing and the storytelling is fantastic. These novels are not for the timid at heart though. The Aphrodisia line of Kensington is very erotic and explicit, so be prepared for many steamy sex scenes that will leave you breathless with your heart pounding. I love these novels and I hope Ms. Amber continues to enchant us with many more tantalizing satyr men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sevin, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was worth the wait! I had read all the Lords of Satyr books last year and thought I'd expire before this book came out, LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sevin: The Lords of Satyr...Sinfully Delightful!, May 7, 2012
By 
Bonnie (Huntington Beach) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sevin: The Lords of Satyr (Kindle Edition)
Sevin is another installment of the sinfully delightful Lords of Satyr. This ancient band of brothers is the most sensuously exhilarating group of immortals ever read! As well as Sevin's quests in this book, the story also includes Lucien undertakings. For you see, there are two parts to this book: Part I is that of Lord Sevin and Part II of Lord Lucien.

Lord Sevin owns the Salone di Passione, a place for those of his kind to release their sexual desires, especially during the full moon ritual. These desirous escapades are part of their culture. For centuries, when a full moon occurs, these Lords must copulate into some creature or partner. It's their most vulnerable time, and they must release or die. So on the evening of the full moon Sevin is whisked out of his Salon by his younger brother Lucien, a Lord with a dark past and powers he cannot control. To both their surprise, they magically enter into the underground enclave (the old catacombs) of the beautiful Alexa Patrizzi--the daughter of the family that enslaved Lucien for years.

Sevin had encountered Alexa previously that day, and had been uncontrollably drawn to her. So, when Sevin and Lucien run into her in the hidden tunnels, Sevin's attraction for her will not let her escape from his hold now...or forever. Besides the full moon is about to transpire and he and his brother have no other means but to engage in Alexa during the ritual. When this does occur, Sevin will be accommodated first only so that he will be bonded with her: this will assure that she will forever belong to him. Besides, the attraction is so strong between the two that they will not deprive themselves of each other's deliciously sensuous cravings. As the story continues and Part I of the book concludes, Alexa and Sevin's developing relationship unites and bounds them powerfully together as one in being.

In the meantime, Part II of the story comes into the narrative in which Lucien mystically transfers from his world into the otherworld realm. Transformed and encased into a concrete god-like statue, he will only become into being at the touch of the one destined to be his mate. With her healing powers and the burning sensations Lucien feels, Natalia is his chosen one. Natalia will not only release Lucien of his concrete form, but she also releases him from his deep-rooted sufferings through their most erogenous copulation two could encounter. Eventually, the two will escape the otherworld and re-enter into Lucien's world in which they will eternally be united.

These unusual, but extraordinary journeys with the Lords of Satyr are always a stimulating read: truly an adventure that can't be denied. Highly Recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sevin: The Lords of Satyr
Sevin: The Lords of Satyr by Elizabeth Amber
$8.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.