Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, detailed instructions make it easy.
Comprehensive coverage of techniques makes sewing lingerie easy. Each chapter covers a wonderful selection of either knowledge or technique that leaves you wanting to start sewing. If you can sew a straight line, with practice and this book you can easily sew your own lingerie. The photography is both beautiful and inspiring. I highly recommend this book. The hard...
Published on October 13, 1999

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing special
good photos and that's about it. Nothing spectacular and you'll get a lot of patterns with good instructions for this price.
Published 23 months ago by Karin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, detailed instructions make it easy., October 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
Comprehensive coverage of techniques makes sewing lingerie easy. Each chapter covers a wonderful selection of either knowledge or technique that leaves you wanting to start sewing. If you can sew a straight line, with practice and this book you can easily sew your own lingerie. The photography is both beautiful and inspiring. I highly recommend this book. The hard glossy cover on the book ensures it will last.
Detailed and clear photographs of how to do or use different items are an absolute blessing, and the finished articles set you to dreaming of future projects. This book is worth what you pay for it, with a clear and detailed content page and index at the back. Definitely a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for sewers, January 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
It's a challenge to find books, instructional videos or even patterns on sewing lingerie. This is a definitive book on techniques that can help you develop your skills and confidently make patterns. You can buy underwear that you love and fit well (tap pants, panties, boy shorts, etc) and take them apart to build your own pattern. These techniques will help you create perfect seems and stitch pattern with confidence. It's funny how easy is actually is. You use a basic straight stitch for most of work.

Benefits of learning to sew lingerie:
- you will save a ton of money
- you can create a pattern with your favorite purchased undergarment and make in your favorite materials (however bras are much more complicated with difficult to find materials)
- use remnants for most projects and thin decorative elastics which are cheap
- the sewing techniques can be applied creatively to other projects
- you will be a better sewer if you practice these techniques

(Average pair of underwear = $5-$20) (materials to make yourself = 40cents-$1.50)
(Average slip/nightgown = $15-$100) (materials to make yourself = $1-$15)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tips, April 13, 2007
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book because the pictures clearly detail each step of the instructions given for a particular technique. This book is very good for those who are new to lingerie sewing...the techniques that will be used for sewing lingerie are well explained and shown in the photographs. The techniques outlined include seams, edge finishes, applying lace and elastic. Then, instructions are given for altering commercial patterns for items like camisoles, panties, tap pants, teddies, sports bras and leggings. To make full use of this book, you will need to have your own patterns for the lingerie items listed. However, easy-to-follow instructions are given for making half-slips. Overall, I highly recommend this book for the clear instructions and photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sewing Lingerie - Singer Reference Library, September 16, 2008
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Hardcover)
I found it helpful with basic technique information on edge finishing, elastic and lace applications, and pictures of various finished slips, camisoles and nightgowns, etc. Did not cover bra construction. But what it did cover, it did a nice job with plenty of pictures and easy to understand instructions. Worth a place in your reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very comprehensive, June 12, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
I am impressed. The pictures make following the instructions easy. Applying elastic and lace edgings is no longer a mystery. Will recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for if you have patterns, August 12, 2012
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
This is a really wonderful book. I love sewing lingerie and it's so difficult to find both patterns and information on sewing undergarments. It's odd because very few sewing patterns are available for sewing lingerie unless you go vintage. This book doesn't give you everything you need, but it does give you a fantastic amount of information and pictures.

The introduction explains the differences between intimate apparel and lounge wear. It also explains how different methods of cutting the fabric will fit on your body (for example bias cut versus straight of the grain). The selecting patterns section includes measurements and how to take them. One thing that is REALLY UNIQUE about this section (most of my sewing books explain measurements) is the specific measurements you may need for lingerie. It also explains how if you are a B cup or smaller you should select patterns based upon your high bust measurement. If you are a C cup or larger, you should pick patterns based on your your hip measurements.

The fabric selection section is very brief but informative, it shows pictures of each type of fabric and what they are used for. I really liked this because it can be difficult shopping for lingerie fabric. This section is followed with a similar section on selecting lace and what types of lace are used for different types of projects. Elastic types and measurements are also discussed as well as thread and needle types. Later on in the book, the author shows numerous ways to attach lace and elastic for different looks and purposes. Pictures are included as well as step by step instructions. The same breadth of information is provided on seams and edge finishes.

I didn't think that the section on laying out and cutting patterns would be helpful but it really was. There are tricks I never realized existed as well as information that patterns won't provide you with.

The author covers different types of seams and how to do them as well as the pros and cons of each. Edge finishes are also shown including how to do a picot edge with your sewing machine for a cute and unique finish. Basic versus more complicated methods are shown as well as the benefits of each.

Information on modifying patterns and sewing slips without patterns is provided. There are step by step instructions for sewing slips, half slips, panties, tap pants, teddies, a sports bra, leggings, a basic bra (for sleeping), and more. I would suggest you have a pattern for these things because it doesn't go into pattern drafting.

Overall this was a really helpful book for me. If you are interested in sewing lingerie then I suggest it because it teaches you things that you need to know for sewing lingerie patterns that won't be including in the instructions. I am a visual learner and so I need a book with pictures (bonus these are not drawings, but full color prints). Tricks for making professional garments in an easy to understand manner helped me a lot.

If you're looking for how to MAKE lingerie, then I would suggest a different book about pattern drafting. If you already have patterns from the store this is perfect.

I hope this helped. I've been trying to teach myself how to sew for the past year and I found this helpful.

By the way lace can be expensive and so can fabric. A great place to get deals on lace (including stretch lace) and elastic is Debslaceandtrims.com Etsy also has some great deals on lace and elastic. The patterns shown in the book are out of print, but you can find them for great deals on etsy, artfire, and ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Information, September 4, 2011
By 
JoAnn Jemmott (Fort Myers, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
This book provides many illustrations/photographs on how to complete the tasks. I'm very satisfied with my purchase. I'm a beginner sewer and I wanted to learn how to apply lace and boarders to my garments. I picked just the right book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singer Sewing Lingerie, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) [Paperback]is a great book for those of you who want to learn how to make your own beautiful lingerie. Handling the silky soft lingerie material (nylon, silk) can be tricky and sewing the lace is time consuming. Using this book as a guide should help move along to more detailed sewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book at a great price, April 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
Love this book! Illustrations are excellent.
This book is for loose fitting lingerie, not underwired or tightly fitted garments.
But I'm glad to add it to my sewing library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Basic Concepts, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library) (Paperback)
This book does not include patterns like the one from Kwik-Sew on the same topic, but for the price I paid used, it was definitely worth $5.00. The full-color photos give good inspiration for making lace-trimmed panties, and the book does include one pattern for a tap-pant I'd like to try. It covers basic lingerie sewing techniques well, and it includes instruction for embellishing things like embroidering or beading lace. If you are looking for nightgown and robe design ideas, the Kwik-sew is better, but for basic technique instruction and panty-making ideas, I like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sewing Lingerie (Singer Sewing Reference Library)
Used & New from: $4.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.