Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of freedom
For those tired of today's mainstream music scene, which seems to combine the worst of both worlds with its mix of the pointlessly offensive and the blandly sanitized, James Brown's Sex Machine is a rousing shot of pure energy, a reminder that music can have the ability to move its listeners in more ways than one. Sex Machine is a supreme distillation of decades worth of...
Published on July 23, 2005 by Wheelchair Assassin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great moments
First half, "live in studio", if you will - is nothing short of unbelievable, although it's not really "for the whole family", as JB show posters once said. This is adult stuff..and I'm an adult..so let's party!

The actual LIVE section, not bad, but not consistently good: to think that KANSAS CITY, WORLD, SAY IT LOUD - I'M BLACK AND I'M PROUD, GIVE IT UP OR...
Published 16 months ago by Phil S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of freedom, July 23, 2005
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
For those tired of today's mainstream music scene, which seems to combine the worst of both worlds with its mix of the pointlessly offensive and the blandly sanitized, James Brown's Sex Machine is a rousing shot of pure energy, a reminder that music can have the ability to move its listeners in more ways than one. Sex Machine is a supreme distillation of decades worth of black music, compressing rock, soul, and R&B into a lean, frighteningly efficient sound that's had hips shaking since its release. Regardless of your age, race, or any other irrelevant superficial characteristic, this hour-plus-long live recording's raw, sweaty power effortlessly comes accross in every dizzyingly nimble horn inflection, every razor-sharp guitar line, and every intricate polyrhythm. And of course, towering over it all is the singular presence of James himself, exhibiting his unmistakable charisma as he shouts, howls, and wails his upbeat, liberating lyrics.

This album's finest moments are to be found in its tightly-played, compulsively danceable funk numbers, most notably the opening Get Up I Feel Like Being a Sex Machine, Brother Rapp (Part I & Part II), I Got the Feelin', and the high-octane closer Mother Popcorn. Driven by propulsive grooves and frenetic arrangements, these tracks and others like them all prove extremely effective when it comes to loosening inhibitions and provoking unconscious spasms of head-bobbing and foot-tapping. However, that's not to discount the record's emotional, horn-fueled balladry, led by the supremely soulful and musically complex Bewildered and If I Ruled the World. This set also throws in the instrumental double-shot of Lowdown Popcorn, which allows you to hear the band's instrumental chops if they weren't apparent already. All in all, Sex Machine is an essential document of the career of one of popular music's most important performers, and a must-buy for non-lame-o's everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One To Have If One's All You Want (Pts. 1 and 2), January 11, 2000
By 
Edd S. Hurt (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
I can truly say that for me James Brown is the one artist of the past half-century who is pretty much above criticism of any kind--criticism being irrelevant, a mere indulgence, when it comes to talking about this great rhythmic innovator, meglomaniac, and, not least, awesome singer and jet-propelled dancer. In the case of "Sex Machine," which was originally released in 1970, we have the usual slightly imperfect and somewhat deceptively presented James Brown album in that "Sex Machine" was originally sold as having been recorded live in Augusta. Actually, about half of it was, in 1969, with Brown's '60s band. The other half was cut with Bootsy and Catfish Collins in 1970, after the breakup of the old band, and festooned with fake applause to make the performances sound live. No matter, it's great stuff, the absolute peak of Brown. Every move is calibrated, the band(s) are at their best, yet the whole thing is utterly insane, sheer will driving a music in the most heroic way. The long version of the title track cuts the more well-known, sped-up version (made in Nashville, actually). "I Don't Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing" is ferocious, on the truly "live" material he charges through songs like a lion tamer dancing in a cage (well, a pretty big cage), and "Mother Popcorn" sounds like the marriage of James Brown and Albert Ayler. Too bad you can't get the 1969 King LP "It's A New Day" on a CD, because that bookends this music quite nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars **** Slack Jawed ! ****, October 22, 2006
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
As a long time fan of Mr. Dynamite , I have collected a LOT of his recordings, and although I do especially love the Live Apollo shows especially 62 and 67 , THIS recording IMO runs circles around those two. It's the JB's with Bootsy and Catfish Collins and Bobby Byrd and Fred Wesley that make this record SMOKE !.........It's actually from two different dates and two different bands , but it ALL works !!!........If your a fan or a newcomer who wants to hear what " The Hardest Working Man in Showbusiness " is REALLY all about , then pick this record up ........You'll soon understand what all the fuss is about ....Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real thing - totally hot, genuine and funky, December 25, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
Maybe the reason i don't like hip-hop is because i heard this album (and many others) by the master of minimalism and soul. James Brown released a lot of hot albums, but this one oozes sweat and energy. That simple. Listening to this album is like standing at a primordial swamp at the dawn of creation: a TON of contemporary black music is directly indebted to and descended from J.B and especially this album. Just *$^@+++$&&!&!~ing buy it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars turnit a loose, February 18, 2001
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
This is an awesome performance by the Minister of the New Super Super Heavy Funk, Mr James Brown (b 1928). Mr Harry Weinger writes that SEX MACHINE hit numbre 4 on the R&B charts, as well as numbre 29 on the Pop charts. "Through band upheaval and changing tastes, James Brown never broke stride. With his bad self." This CD chronicles the transition that occured in 1970 when the band members changed. His great band of the sixties walked out, literally, just prior to a show. Mr Brown, undaunted, introduced a hungry young group featuring Mr William (Bootsy) Collins. "Of course, James Brown made it work." writes Mr Harry Weinger. The funky bass of Mr Collins is already a standout on "Get Up I Feel Like Being a Sex Machine." My favourite with the young band is "Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose" because it has a heavy funk rhythm with Mr Brown rapping profusely. Without a doubt, the former band is technically superior in my mind. They provide a strong platform for Mr Brown who even plays organ on the jazzey instrumental, "Spinning Wheel". I get excited hearing them crank it up in the finish with "I Can't Stand Myself..." and "Mother Popcorn". If you are interested in Super Heavy Funk Bass & Drum, or in the musical career of Mr James Brown, this CD will be interesting to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets....., June 26, 2006
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
I had this album in 1971 when I was in college. I attended many a James Brown show. It was a GREAT party album then. NOW 35 years later and one who still loves the grooves and beats, I find it long overdue in my CD collection. This is ventage James Brown at his best. This one is a "must have" for any James Brown fan especially the live version of "Sex Machine".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of course it's a great album, January 8, 2003
By 
Sean Flynn (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
Just for the record, the album isn't one hundred percent live - half of the album, including the extended version of Sex Machine, was recorded in studio with audience over-dub. It's not a major distraction and to the best of my knowledge, this is the only album where you can hear the full ten minute version of the title track. The live tracks were recorded in the Fall of '69 just before the band was overhauled so basically you're listening to two radically different James Brown bands on this album and it's interesting to compare the two eras as it were on one single album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Up, Get On Up and Buy This CD, August 6, 2001
By 
RickToye (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
Thats what you need to do if you are undecided on this CD! It runs chills through me listening to vintage J.B, backed by a band that included youngsters like Bootsy & Catfish Collins when they were just in their late teens. The CD is live takes from four different locations beginning with Cinncinati, Ohio and ending in Augusta, GA. If you like J.B. and you like it funky, Get Up, Get On Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First JB Album, August 7, 2001
By 
George E. Norman (Atlanta, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
I grew up on JB..being from Augusta Georgia, I was nurtured on the Funk. Now, this was the first album I called my own. I won it in a radio contest from a station that JB owned in the early '70s. We got the funk all day everyday. Anyway, the long version of Sex Machine is without a doubt some of the nastiest funk ever put down. I can't even remember what was on side B, other that it was a continuation of the groove. I'm buying the CD for my collection. Those of you who don't own the album will miss the nice pictures and liner notes. I believe it was recorded in Augusta as well. I have everything he's made audio and video. Too bad DVD was 30 years too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stage or Studio, It's LIVE!, March 13, 2000
This review is from: Sex Machine (Audio CD)
Here we have JB's 2nd live double-album, although this time only about 1/2 of it is actually live-on-stage. It contains the incredible studio recut of "Give It Up or Turnit A Loose" which hit like an asteroid - changing the course of music forever, vocally and instrumentally. Although considered over the top by some at the time, it has not been surpassed to this day. The overdubbed audience doesn't detract at all. And special credit should be given to organist Bobby Byrd - a great contribution. Other studio tracks are less deep - the recut "Sex Machine" is more a rapp with the band than straight ahead funk (anticipating "Escapism") and "Bewildered" is an interesting ballad with an emotional spoken part; "Brother Rapp" is all-singing and is the most creative cut, a new 4/4 approach. Strangely, these studio efforts have much more impact than the stage performances, which are not well-mixed. The best live offering is "If I Ruled The World". I hope someday Polygram issues the complete undubbed show from the Bell Auditorium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sex Machine
Sex Machine by James Brown (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.