Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sex Therapy: The Experience
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 22, 2009
AARRGGH!! WHY do they make TWO separate versions of an album like this?! I got "the session" instead of "the experience," and let me tell you, The Experience edition is better. You get several extra songs for another $2 or $3, and two of those songs (Mona Lisa and... I forget the other) are two of the better songs on the album! I like the album anyway, but it's definitely better getting the experience edition... so stupid. Just make one version of the album and charge the extra $2.00, instead of confusing customers and frustrating them if buy it, get home and open it, finally realizing that they got the wrong copy. Record labels are so friggin screwy these days, and it's getting ridiculous. Releasing separate versions of albums, but making the packages so alike that you can't tell the difference. Release an album, then release a "special" edition several months later with more stuff. I was happy until I realized I got jipped two of the best songs! I would've gladly paid a little more for the better version of the album... SMH...
1010 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2009
A nice Jazzy interlude "911" opens Robin Thicke's fourth album "Sex therapy: The experience". The name says it all really, affairs of the bedroom are at the forefront, with profainity on some songs so be warned!

"Mrs sexy" is a horn-sprinkled slice of Retro Soul. Title track "Sex therapy" is a steamy ballad with gently pounding beats and Thicke's falsetto at the forefront. "Meiplé" (Me I play) is a playful Latin-tinged upbeat song with Jay-Z (with hand claps and flamenco guitars). The unbelievably catchy "Make you love me" features an incredibly groovy bassline.

"It's in the mornin" is another steamy Soul ballad featuring Snoop Dogg. Raising the tempo is the rather skeletal "Shakin' it 4 daddy" featuring Nicki Minaj. "Elevatas" features a Michael Jackson-style squeal, Kid CuDi rapping, and bursts of electric guitar. "Start with a kiss" is a Latin-tinged piano driven Jazzy interlude, while the funky "Rollacosta" with Estelle could have dropped off a Prince album.

The Marvin Gaye-chanelling ballad "Million dolla baby" features Jazmine Sullivan, and from there on, it is soulful ballad after soulful ballad: the beautiful falsetto-sung "2 luv birds", "I got u" (which sounds like it is built up from the intro "911", "Jus right", "Mona lisa", "Brand new luv", all are beautiful summery ballads. Closing is the midtempo string-swathed "Diamonds" featuring The Game.

Robin Thicke can always be relied upon to deliver classy Soul grooves, and this does not disappoint!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2009
Dr. Thicke to the rescue! The title of Robin Thicke's fourth album, "Sex Therapy" is pretty self-explanatory. The lead single and title track "Sex Therapy" is a sensual and soulful sensation where Thicke coos in a complete falsetto about pleasing his woman in the boudoir. For the first time, Thicke really gets sassy with the lyrics on songs like "Meiplé" with Jay-Z, where Thicke hums lines like "two kids in the sandbox babe" in slick monotone. It's hard to get past the disturbingly infectious hip-hop collabo, "Shakin' it 4 Daddy" with Lil' Wayne's new apprentice, Nikki Minaj, where Thicke plays the role of a rich male at a whorehouse. Other notable tracks include the unusually funky "Rollacosa" with Estelle, where Thicke pens some naughty lines like "you know I'm the only one who ever hits your spot". All in all Thicke gives the kiddies what they want, sugary R&B with plenty of sex appeal.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2009
Such a good cd with great guest stars who really help add to the Thicke sound. You have to get Sex Therapy: The Experience [EXTRA TRACKS], I mean for $2-$3 more you get 5 extra songs put in the cd, that go with the flow of the cd so they were placed in the body of the album not at the end. My personal favorite are "Sex Therapy", "Meiplé" (f. Jay-Z), "It's In the Mornin'" (f. Snoop Dogg)& "Diamonds" (f. Game).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
For all that it's worth, I enjoyed this former disc more than the latest, LOVE AFTER WAR! With this cd, his R&B was on point and remained on an even keel, while LOVE AFTER WAR, while very versatile, took me all over the place. There was something for everyone, and even though there was that PARENTAL ADVISORY slogan on the front, the language was sparse and used in particular songs. Basicially...it fit the mood. His ballads were very romantic and his dance tracks had that soul beat that I really dug, so it was something in it for men and women. Dude knows his R&B very well, and for those who likes their sexy over easy, then this is the cd for you. Served not too hard, not too soft, and enjoyable all the way thru.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2011
But this album ain't all that. Some of the songs were good, some were entertaining and others were downright bad. The latter you didn't get to experience on his second album 2006's The Evolution of Robin Thicke which was fine and dandy. Some good songs on this album (in no order) are "Mrs. Sexy", "It's In The Mornin'", "Million Dollar Baby", "Sex Therapy", "2 Luv Birds", "Jus Right" and "Brand New Luv". Maybe another song or two were alright, but the rest was crap. Sorry, Robin. This album did NOT work. I've heard his first two albums and this one in full and I like this one least. His other records get no less than 4 stars from me each (with "The Evolution..." getting about 4.5).

3.5 stars for (wasted) effort. The skits are just about all crap.

DOWNLOAD:
"Jus Right"
"Sex Therapy" &
"It's In The Mornin'"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Robin Thicke definitely 'loses his cool' on his Fourth studio release, Sex Therapy: The Experience (or the slimmer Sex Therapy: The Session). While it isn't all a complete departure from Thicke's neo-soul/blue-eyed soul releases, Thicke makes more concessions toward more modern R&B and even some overtures towards hip-hop with guest spots from Jay-Z ("Meiplé"), Snoop Dogg ("It's In The Mornin'"), Lil Wayne protegé Nicki Minaj ("Shakin' It 4 Daddy") and Kid Cudi ("Elevatas") among others. Sure some of the disc does feel like Thicke tries to hard ("Meiplé" is good, though corny), but it does show a different, sexier facet of the singer and his potential. As always, Thicke is in good voice in his rich, wide falsetto, his strongest asset. The material doesn't necessarily supersede the material from Thicke's excellent last album Something Else, though it does stand out more, just because the singer is trying something different. All in all, 'Sex Therapy: The Experience' proves to be an enjoyable, unique set.

After the cornily titled intro "911" ("Please hold for the doctor/the doctor will be right with you), the album opens brilliantly with the throwback soul-joint "Mrs. Sexy", arguably the valedictory track of 'Sex Therapy'. Here, the only concessions that Thicke makes is by 'sexing up' the lyrical content as he maintains the understated, soul-leaning production of previous albums. "Mrs. Sexy" may be neo-/blue-eyed soul at its best, but it feels as relevant as anything else in today's musical industry, a compliment toward's Mr. Thicke's artistry. On "Sex Therapy", Thicke maintains the erotic lyrics, though in favor of more modern production, ala the twenty-first century. The production work surprising stays in the hands of Thicke and Pro Jay (same producers of 'Mrs. Sexy'), though an Al Green sample that should date the production makes it feel even fresher than it should. Vocally, Thicke is exceptional.

"Meiplé", featuring Jay-Z, is fun, if utterly ridiculous; the literal translation is "Me I play". Catchy, corny all in one, you can't help but laugh as the line "I know you wanna..." is repeated constantly by Thicke with a sample of a woman finishing the statement and simulating love sounds. As silly as it maybe, it still allures the listener, even if "Mrs. Sexy" and "Sex Therapy" are slightly better representations of Thicke's talent as a writer and performer. "Make U Love Me" adds Rich Skillz in the production seat next to Thicke aside from Pro Jay. With an understated feel, "Make U Love Me" proves to be as great as everything that has come before it, making Thicke bat 1000. "It's In The Morning" is as sensual as anything else, produced by New Jack Swing innovator Teddy Riley. Thicke sounds polished, conveying a natural sensuality within his understated performance. The track seems a bit briefer than it is, making the listener desire more. Guess that's what the repeat button is for.

"Shakin' It 4 Daddy" featuring Lil Wayne protegé Nicki Minaj is completely out of character for Thicke, but it turns out to be a pleasant surprise. Gone are all traces of neo-soul in favor for outright contemporary R&B/hip-hop influences. While it probably shouldn't work, Thicke kills it and Minaj nearly outperforms Thicke. Produced by hip-hop super-producer Polow Da Don, it is definitely a hot track! Memorable lyrics alongside the great production make this track 'sick'. "Elevatas" features new hip-hop standout Kid Cudi in another interesting listen. Cudi cleverly puts his left-of-center influence on the track, making another out of character, though worthwhile Thicke performance. Thicke, similarly, sounds great and the production work by Jeff Bhasker and Thicke himself is great and well thought out. The one complaint, it is a bit long.

Following another corny interlude "Start With A Kiss" which explicitly details what a woman wants Thicke to 'do to her', "Rollercoasta" featuring Grammy-winning artist Estelle, produced by Bhasker once again, find Thicke against a Euro-pop/Techno themed production background that also hints at 1980s production work. Not my favorite, but interesting and solid, nonetheless. "Million Dolla Baby" featuring R&B standout Jazmine Sullivan overtly samples Marvin Gaye's classic "Trouble Man" and finds Thicke's production partner Pro Jay back in the production seat. The results are another very soothing, capable vocal performance by Thicke.

"2 Luv Birds" lowers the energy level with a slightly slower, mellower ballad. The doused down energy is appreciated, after the high energy, sex-laden numbers the precede "2 Luv Birds". This track definitely exemplifies the typical Robin Thicke song. "I Got U" plays on the interludes that have preceded it ("911" and "Start With A Kiss, finally bringing together the pieces. Overt as everything else, Thicke asks his potential mate to "F*** with me". Moving on to "Jus Right", Thicke sounds as smooth and as sensual as ever, explicitness or not. Tracks like "Jus Right" do make skeptics argue whether more overt tracks like "Shakin' It 4 Daddy" were necessary to make Thicke sound younger. "Mona Lisa" proves solid, though average, though "Brand New Luv" proves more worthwhile, even if it isn't quite the caliber of say "Mrs. Sexy." "Diamonds", featuring The Game, closes the album, again slightly out of Thicke's character. Produced by Polow Da Don, Polow does a fine job of making the production understated enough to suit Thicke's strengths.

Overall, 'Sex Therapy' proves to be a sound album. There are a few flaws, but overall, it is well put together and a worthwhile listen that exceeds expectations. 4 stars.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon December 27, 2009
thicke has talent however this feels like a quick album to make some noise after his last album went wood and didn't generate much buzz. Thicke is the kind of artist that reminds you of so many and yet nothing of him ever comes into view. a good songwriter but everything else is polished but nothing memorable. this album feels contrived and just kinda there. hard to say what could turn his music vibe around because he just doesn't have a direction that can take him anywhere it seems.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
I wasn't into Robin at first. I couldn't get into his work except for a few songs here and there but this album changed all that for me. I LOVE this album. Every song is well written and produced. This is what I call a ''love album''. The type of album you make love to or makes you wish you were in love. I can listen to this whole album and not skip one song. My favorite is ''Meiple w/Jay Z''. Just a all around fun song. Some other favorites are ''Mrs.Sexy'', ''Sex Therapy'', and ''It's In The Mornin''.

Overall classic album. His best work to date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2009
This is an incredible CD and well worth the extra couple of dollars for the full experience. Robin Thicke has become so well known for his baby-makers that you can forget that his first single from "Cherry Blue Skies" ("Beautiful World") was an up-tempo hit. This album is laced with a nice mix of slow jams and danceable grinders. This is a wonderfully conceptualized CD with flow that is more than just a compilation of singles like a lot of released recently. Even the extra tracks on "The Experience" are laced throughout instead of tacted on at the end. I haven't been able to stop listening to it since I opened it. Way to go, Robin!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.