Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keychain addition
I bought this item as an addition to my usual keychain to carry with me everywhere. I have gone hiking several times and wished I had some kind of keychain type filter straw. The Seychelle Advanced filter was the only one I found with a loop for hooking on a keychain, and the price was very good. Also, this one is certified for protozoa & viruses.

Here is the...
Published on May 11, 2012 by Rosc

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as shown
Definitely did not receive what is shown on the ad. Not sure if this is a fake, but looks similar, but no color and no tip as shown. Shipped in bulk packaging clear bag. Does come with a small container with another filter insert (when opened black crushed charcoal? went all over the place) . Main beef is while it does have a small paper 'instructions' it does not even...
Published 6 months ago by Steve Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keychain addition, May 11, 2012
By 
Rosc (Northeast Pa.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
I bought this item as an addition to my usual keychain to carry with me everywhere. I have gone hiking several times and wished I had some kind of keychain type filter straw. The Seychelle Advanced filter was the only one I found with a loop for hooking on a keychain, and the price was very good. Also, this one is certified for protozoa & viruses.

Here is the text that came with the device:

[begin text]

Seychelle Water Filtration Straw

Iodinator

When using source water of an unknown quality, it's extremely important to take every precaution possible to avoid illness or serious infection. Primary concerns are the microbiological contaminants that can be in water supplies that are not disinfected. Pathogens are found in three types - virus, bacteria, and cysts. Each has its own individual neutralization or reduction capacities. The iodinator is designed with specific antibacterial effectivity and death/time curve ratio. The longer the exposure to the iodinated water (using EPA approved iodinated resin) the greater the effect. The filtration/purification 2 micron absolute bacteria static filter is also effective at removing additional areas of contaminants.

Enclosed in the small vial is your advanced filter insert for use with water supplies that are questionable. All materials in the straw are FDA food grade approved. The antimicrobial Medias do no incorporate any forms of silver or copper.

The advanced filter insert is not recommended for everyday use. Use advanced filter insert when water is questionable to retain longevity.

Use the standard filter with all other water for the removal of chlorine, heavy metals (lead) and VOC (volatile organic compounds.)

To use: simply open black cap at the bottom of the straw and insert advanced filter and close cap. Immediately ready for use. Advanced filter is not needed when drinking municipal water.

[...]

[end text]

So, basically all the information you should need is included here in the advertisement, on the seychelle website, and on the small paper included with the device.

From the advertisement:

Up to 25-gallon filter life.

Proven effective against bacteria and virus to six logs reduction (99.9999%).

From their website:

Seychelle's exclusive filters are the most laboratory and field-tested of their kind in the world using EPA protocols and tested to NSF/ANSI Standards 42 and 53 by Broward Testing laboratory.

(and there are links to the lab reports on their website.)

Money Back Guaranteed for 90 days!

-----

These straws are meant primarily for emergency use. Hence the small 25 gallon capcity. A 2 micron filter will clog up pretty quick. And then you'll have to replace it.

I don't know what the one bad reviewer expected when he gave this filter a 1 star. I wouldn't trust HIS review when he can't be arsed to even read the advertisement or investigate the least bit into the bonafides this company provides on their website.

For my own part. I'm dinging 1 star because the extra iodinator filter is in a non-locking container, which if I put it on my keychain the small filter would likely get lost. So I simply installed the extra filter and then put the cap back on so nothing will get lost. Also, the plastic case it came in could be a better pouch to protect the device from being banged around on the keychain. Both are fairly minor complaints but hopefully the Seychelle company can improve the portability here, to make it more keychain friendly in the future :)

Overall, I like the device, it should prove useful if ever needed. You can endure a lot in hard situations but you can't endure being without water for more than a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fool proof, June 23, 2011
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
This water filter as a straw is a great design. It came with a nice case to keep it clean and is good quality. I bought this is a backup water filter because it has no moving parts. It came in handy several times when you just need a quick drink. A Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seychelle Pure Water Filter Straw (Advanced), September 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
With all the storms and such it's better to be safe than sorry. One can go a long time without food but not water. I don't use them everyday, have a counter filter for that. But we do keep one in every car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works good, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
not as pictured must be a newer model. worked well. hard to dry out after use. use it for hiking and hunting. would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Emergency Tool, November 27, 2013
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
Go to their website for more products and testing results. That being said, my military unit here in TX carries these for local deployments (like hurricanes/floods). We did a non-scientific test last aug drinking out of a swimming pool (after lots of people were in it) and then water out of a roadside ditch. As of today, all members are alive, well and active.
Perfect for our tac-packs. We also carry the Radiological straw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean tasting water!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
Not too long, not bulky, very light, and produces clean tasting water! Even with the iodinated filter there was no odd taste to the filtered water. The first couple draws will produce some carbon from the regular filter, but after that it is clear and clean. Iodinated filter is a nice option to have if the water is really suspect. Great for outdoor activities and emergency kits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as shown, March 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
Definitely did not receive what is shown on the ad. Not sure if this is a fake, but looks similar, but no color and no tip as shown. Shipped in bulk packaging clear bag. Does come with a small container with another filter insert (when opened black crushed charcoal? went all over the place) . Main beef is while it does have a small paper 'instructions' it does not even tell you how to use it. Also you cannot tell which end is which... one side is like a sports bottle pop top, and the other is a flattened flute mouthpiece looking part covered with a cap... Im assuming that is the mouthpiece and the poptop is the intake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for on-the-go, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
Awesome product, always room for improvement but this item is perfect for on-the-go. Take it to the office, take it camping, take it anywhere you are unsure of where your water is coming from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best filter available., March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
I purchased two of these to have one to evaluate and one for my SHTF bag. Excellent filter. Draws a bit harder due to the 0.02 micron filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have emergency water source, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pure Water Straw-Advanced
We have one of these for each member of the family in our earthquake kit. It takes a little practice to use it and get the right flow but it does work and will be great to have any time we have to deal with questionable water sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pure Water Straw-Advanced
$16.95 $16.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.