Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Shabbat primer -- and more
This book is both a primer on how to introduce Shabbat in your home if you haven't been observing and remembering it, and a look at how others have incorporated the traditions in their homes and chavurot. It covers every aspect of the Shabbat: lighting the candles, kiddush, washing the hands, challot, blessing the family, songs, right on through havdalah. It covers...
Published on April 27, 2004 by Meirav

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not interested in the Yiddish language in it.
Published 17 days ago by Lupe A.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Shabbat primer -- and more, April 27, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
This book is both a primer on how to introduce Shabbat in your home if you haven't been observing and remembering it, and a look at how others have incorporated the traditions in their homes and chavurot. It covers every aspect of the Shabbat: lighting the candles, kiddush, washing the hands, challot, blessing the family, songs, right on through havdalah. It covers halachah for each aspect, how to maintain the interest and attention of your children and how to deal with modern realities such as divorce and mixed families. It has English, Hebrew transliteration and Hebrew for each blessing and for some Shabbat songs.
I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Idiots Guide" to observing a traditional Shabbat., June 29, 2006
By 
Beverley (Lancaster, California, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the author's approach of putting all prayers on their own page: each prayer or song is printed in the original Hebrew and transliteration version, and also has the English translation. (A suggestion for the next edition is to have the transliteration NEXT TO the original Hebrew, rather than separated by the English translation)

This book serves as an excellent guide for those who have never observed a traditional Shabbat, and who wish to start doing so now. The book clearly gives the order of the "Shabbat Evening Seder", from lighting candles, traditional blessings for family members, blessings over wine and bread, traditional around the table Sabbath songs, the "Birkat HaMazon" (full and abbreviated versions of the blessing after a meal), and "Havadalah" (the ceremony marking the end of Shabbat and the beginning of the normal week). In addition, it has a section where it discusses the meaning and tradition behind the prayers.

We entertain people from different backgrounds, including orthdox, traditional and secular Jews, and on occasion, people from other faiths. This book allows everyone present at our Shabbat evening meal to follow, understand and participate in our Shabbat dinner.

My only criticism is that the section covering the actual prayers and "zmirot" (songs) does not go from right to left (i.e. following the Hebrew rather than English direction of pages.) The explanation section can remain in the left to right direction. My suggestion is that all Hebrew sections start at the right-hand cover, while discussions, explanations and history start at the left-hand cover - giving a 2-part book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shabbat The Family Guide to Preparing for and Celebrating the Sabbath, May 28, 2014
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
|TITLE| “SHABBAT: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Celebrating the Sabbath”
|AUTHOR| American Jewish University Professor Ron Wolfson, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
|REVIEWER| Josh Grossman, Colonel {r} U.S. Army Medical Corps, M.D., FACP
|BOOK FORMAT| Soft cover
|BOOK PAGES| 286 pages
|BOOK COPYRIGHT| 1985, 1996, 2002, 2013 {2nd Edition, 4th printing}
|BOOK PUBLISHER|
• Jewish Lights Publishing for all faiths
• Woodstock, Vermont
• [...]
|BOOK ISBN-13| 978-1-58023-164-0
|PROJECT OF|
• Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs
• American Jewish University
“My son, preserve the commandments of your father;
Do not forsake the teachings of your mother;
Bind them continuous on your heart…” (Proverbs 6:20-21}
• I know as all of the members of our Ecumenical Interfaith family {Two Irish Catholic Grandchildren; and three Jewish Grandchildren all know that our Shabbat is an evolving Art Form.
• We all regularly enjoy and celebrate Shabbat dinners with a fresh Challah, “Torn and passed,” by our Irish Catholic Grandchildren.
• I recommend this outstanding book to all Jews, Married or Single, and to all Interfaith Couples.
• All of our synagogue Judaica Shops (Orthodox, Conservative, Reformed, and Reconstructionist) and all Jewish Community centers and all Hillel {centers for Jewish Life College & University} should have a copy of this outstanding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the best, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
I like it a lot but the book is very out dated.But i still like it good read verry good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shabbat 2nd edition, August 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
A great introduction to anyone who has never celebrated shabbat or to the ones who are just wanting to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I use this book when I have Shabbat services at ..., September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
I use this book when I have Shabbat services at home. Gives a detailed outline of readings, blessings and traditions,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, November 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
Not interested in the Yiddish language in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW a wonderful book, July 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shabbat, 2nd Edition: The Family Guide to Preparing for and Welcoming the Sabbath (The Art of Jewish Living Series) (Paperback)
You will learn so much from this book for the Shabbat we still need to be doing today Shabbat Shalom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.