Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works "like a champ"!
I purchased this drive for use as a backup drive and for synchronizing files between an iMac and a MacBook Pro.

The drive is amazingly small. It's silver casing allows it to fit in nicely with the silver of both computers. The included neoprene carrying case is a nice feature.

When I plugged the drive into either computer it mounts instantly. File...
Published on September 28, 2011 by L. Davenport

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as tiny as it looks
The drive itself is great, and for a USB 1TB drive, this is a great price and quality. The physical size of the drive is bigger than it looks though, not much bigger but still not what you think it is. The USB chord is also a bit stiff. Overall, good though.
Published 23 months ago by Nik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works "like a champ"!, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
I purchased this drive for use as a backup drive and for synchronizing files between an iMac and a MacBook Pro.

The drive is amazingly small. It's silver casing allows it to fit in nicely with the silver of both computers. The included neoprene carrying case is a nice feature.

When I plugged the drive into either computer it mounts instantly. File transfer speeds are blazing.

I've got two minor issues with this drive:

1) It has a proprietary USB cable (e.i. the port on the drive is NOT a standard USB port). As long as I have the cable that came with the drive, life is good. But no other USB cable except the one that came with the drive will work.
2) The drive has an amazingly bight blue LED that is quite distracting to me unless I either hide the drive or position it such that the light is pointing away from me.

Other than that I'm a happy customer after 2 weeks. I would recommend this drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
I recently switched from a PC to a Mac and I needed an external hard drive to transfer files between both computers, This little shiny device did wonders! I just plugged it, followed the instructions(included) to format it so it could be used between PC and Macs and it worked like a charm! im completely satisfied. Also, the delivery was pretty fast! its a beautiful device, thin and looks great with my new Macbook Air. The only downside was that when i layed the mac on my Lap while transferring some files to it, the cable came a bit loose and it stoped transferring the files, i had to put it on a flat surface...but i can totally live with that :P. its definitely worth the price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Compact (sort of), August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
This drive is very fast just as others have said. I thought it was going to be much smaller. While it is smaller than many of the other portable drives I've seen, It is nearly the same size and weight. Nonetheless, I do not regret purchasing it. To the person who rated it 5-star and commented it was faster than a thumb drive: I agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best One I've found., August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
Very small, silent. Does not heat up. Just bought a 2nd one today ( this one in black so that I can alternate backups and tell the difference. Hope this 2nd once looks as great! A real pearl that I discovered after receiving. The manufacturer includes 10 GB of Free cloud storage with SpiderOak, highly encrypted storage and able to sync from unlimited computers. See comparison of this cloud storage with others in Wikipedia. Very impressed. Have informed my colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does the job., July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
I plugged it in to my MAC Air and it worked first time without any problems. As someone has mentioned in a previous review, it has a blue light that flashes and can be a bit annoying. Other than that, no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth little drive!, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
This drive was ready to go right out of the box. Fast delivery and the drive was in perfect condition when it arrived. Comes complete with carrying case, which makes this baby ultra portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB Plug & Play With Speed for MAC!, August 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
Just finished backing up a hefty hard-drive on a MacBook Pro with USB3 and i've got to say i'm impressed. So much faster than any other portable back up drive i've ever used. No complaints whatsoever. One suggestion to make this perfect... automate it so that you could plug it in and update only the files that had changed. A great drive for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
Good quality construction and perfect size given all the electronics I have. Would like another to have consistency of storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy dandy, June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
Sleek, handy, stylish. Does what it's supposed to. :) it backed up my Mac with no problem.
This does the work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works great., September 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U32 Shadow™ 1TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Silver, Mac Version) (Electronics)
Works great as a backup drive, however, it is NOT fast enough to use as a startup drive to run a computer if that is what you are buying it for. I wanted a backup drive that could be used as a startup drive in case of emergency, and of course, that came, and when I tried to use this little (and it is little - a good point ). It just did not have the energy required to actually run the computer when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.