Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

547 of 595 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2012
Shadow of Night picks up a second after A Discovery of Witches ends. We join Matthew and Diana in their time jump to the 1500s where their goals are to 1) find a witch to train Diana and 2) find the mysterious Ashmole 782. But instead of doing this and picking up where the story left off, the author gets lost in history instead and the story disappears.

Within a few pages the reader is instantly thrown into a crowded and overwhelming sea full of famous literary characters and influential historical figures. In the very first chapter you meet famed playwrights and poets and others who have little to no purpose in the story. As much as it pains me to admit it, this book started out surprisingly dry and dull. I actually had to force myself through it. I rushed through the first book in the trilogy since I loved it so much, but not this one. Sadly, 100 pages into Shadow of Night and the story had yet to move forward. Matthew and Diana hadn't even come close to accomplishing what they meant to do when they went back in time. All they had done at this point is focused on Matthew's affairs during his life in the 1500s. This is when I understood why the book is 600 pages.

Now, does that make this a bad book? No. Harkness is absolutely brilliant and her knowledge of history is highly impressive. There were a handful of interesting scenes and moments in the book, however, they had nothing to do with the main story. They were just written and plopped into a spot in the book with no point or purpose. They dragged the book down, dragged it very very far down. I stopped reading many times because I lost focus. Had those pages been removed, this book wouldn't be 600 pages, but half of that, and it would have been much better.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy history, but not like this. Shadow of Night felt like a history textbook at times and not a historical novel. I think the author, with her love for history and teaching (she's a history professor), blurred the lines a bit too much. There needs to be more than dates and historical facts, there has to be a story - a story that moves forward.

Luckily, once you get deeper into the book, there is a story and we finally begin Diana's witch training, as well as the search for Ashmole 782. There are quite a few rocky parts in the story, but there were fantastic moments as well. Those fantastic moments saved this book and eventually it got to the point where I couldn't put Shadow of Night down.

However, while I was eventually captivated by the fascinating world of Shadow of Night, I was still disappointed overall. I was expecting another novel as amazing as A Discovery of Witches. I hate being so harsh on Shadow of Night, especially since it had many great moments and because I am so incredibly awed and impressed by the author. But the sad truth is that this book needed some extra tweaking to make it truly great. There were far too many issues to ignore - unnecessary characters, sloppy storytelling, far too many random pages that served no purpose, the main male character doing a personality 180 and acting like a bipolar sack of crazy... etc.

I do have high hopes for the final book in the trilogy though, especially since a lot has been left unanswered so far. I can't wait to find out how it all ends.
4848 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
252 of 285 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2012
Every so often, a book comes along. It's everything you imagine a great fiction to be. It evokes the tremendous joy of just being able to read, to immerse yourself in a book so fully, to jump into a journey where every sense in your body is heightened and your mind stimulated. Then the last page is turned, you sigh with sadness since you know you will not be able to find another book like this for a long, long time.

Shadow of Night is such a book.

I wrote these in my review of the first book of the trilogy:

"The author has in depth knowledge not only about history, but also science, architecture, Europe, culinary delights and wine... The book immediately reminded me of "The Historian" by Elizabeth Kostova, since both story took me to places in Europe that I've never been and historical periods that were so enlightening.....The story will be a delight for people who actually enjoy accurate scientific, historical, culinary and geographical information. The author has a wealth of knowledge and a unique style of writing and she's willing to share."

The review still rings true for the second installment, and more so. For readers who disliked the first installment of the series due to the slowness of the beginning, you'll be delighted to hear that this book started right at the part where the first book dropped off, and is a thrill ride all the way to the end. You can also find satisfactory answers to most, if not all the burning questions that you had after reading A Discovery of Witches. I know it's a gruesome wait for the second book in the series, but the wait is well worth it...this book surpassed everything I had imagined it to be.

The story begins right where the first book left off, Matthew and Diana landed in Elizabethan England, 1590, hoping to find the enchanted Ashmole 782, as well as someone to help the spellbound Diana to learn her abilities. You'll be surprised to encounter real historical characters that came alive under Harkness' pen. Harkness' take on Christopher Marlowe, Elizabeth I, Walter Raleigh and others were unique and creative, yet totally believable. I wrote in my review of ADoW how I fell in love with all the characters in the first book, yet I'm equally invested in all the new characters in Shadow of Night, both historical and fictional. It's heartbroken to realize that these characters live in another space and time, and the only way I could reconnect with them is through the re-reading of this book.

If you loved A Discovery of Witches because of Harkness' extensive and detailed descriptions of everything, you're in for another treat. Harkness bought Elizabethan England to life using her professional knowledge and her unique writing voice: fashion, writing, architecture, food, music, writing, cooking, art, jewelries, home decors, smell of spices, and even the sound of church bells.... Be prepared to be immersed into 1600 Europe, from England to France and Prague, whether if you're prepared or not. I recommend you to drop or finish every other book in your list to get ready for the most sensual ride in your life.

I also love how Harkness incorporated a short chapter of the present after each part of the book. It shows how Diana and Matthew's interference with the past affects the future. Everything that we do or not do has an impact in future, especially in our loved one and family's life. Hopefully, history is valued and lessons learned. These chapters showed us how important it is to seize the moment and live your life, because there's no going back. A few tender moments bought tears to my eyes. Compared to ADoW, the second book is much more emotional.

Romance. Matthew and Diana in the 1600s were not without their problems. Matthew in Elizabethan era was a much more complex and dark character. The society was also less friendly for females, especially a witch with a weird accent. However, fans looking forward to more romance between them will not be disappointed. There are lots and lots of tender moments and love. It made up for what was lacking in A Discovery of Witches.

If I write anymore here, this review will become a book! I do have a few recommendations before you jump in for the journey of your life: 1) Read A Discovery of Witches first. There's no way you could understand the plot and all the complexity of this book if you don't know the history of the characters. 2) Many new characters are introduced in this book. Use the appendix/Guide at the end of the book to familiar yourself with them. They are divided by location, quite clever. 3) If you are going to look for a simple, easy read for entertainment, this book is not for you; but if you love history, science, Europe, art, literature, geography, religion, philosophy, (food and wine for ADoW)...then, get this book (and the first).
2020 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
331 of 388 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2012
I reread A Discovery of WItches to refresh my memory. Matthew and Diana are going back in time to find Ashmole 782 and find someone to teach Diana to better understand and control her power. Got it. Imagine my surprise when I started Shadow of Night and neither of those things happened until page 280, except in snippets that felt like tossaways to help the reader remember why the characters had traveled back to Elizabethan England in the first place. Oh, they weren't there to meet historical figures and notice every aspect of daily life and describe it in excruciating detail? Somebody should have told Deborah Harkness that. Like maybe her editor.
My biggest problem with this book, however, was that I didn't like the characters anymore. It turns out Matthew is not an intelligent, urbane scientist who is every woman's dream guy. Nope. He's actually an impulsive, indecisive screw-up with serious anger issues (who has somehow managed to be friends with many major historical figures of the time, be an indispensable adviser to the queen, AND a member of The Congregation). Actual quote from the book: "Matthew was taking charge, which meant that things were about to take their usual turn for the worse." Page 295. I rest my case. He also suffers from an inability to let go of events that happened over a thousand years ago. But one conversation with Diana and poof! Problem solved. Spare me.
Diana has become this meek, whiny airhead who is totally focused on fashion and minutia about running a household. And propping up her incapable husband, of course. Her major magical accomplishments in the first half of the book are making a quince shrivel and seeing colored lights in the corners. Every once in a while her "third eye" opens (and is it just me or do other people imagine this huge, Cyclopean eye popping out of the middle of her forehead when that happens? It's totally distracting.) and she sees something that is so obvious you have to wonder what the heck is wrong with her other two regular eyes. Then, she is suddenly in control of complex magic because she has colored strings. And I'm sorry, but I don't care what color string does what every time she uses magic. Find another way to describe what is happening.
The best character in the book is Matthew's father, Phillipe. Too bad he's only in one section and we already know he's not around in modern times. I have to hope that Harkness has something up her sleeve to pull this series out of the muck in the third book.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
on July 12, 2012
If you're expecting the same style and structure in Shadow of Night as you saw in A Discovery of Witches, you will be disappointed. A Discovery of Witches was placed entirely in the 21st-century over a period of weeks, and predominantly focused on the love-at-first-sight relationship (and negative implications thereof) of Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont. A Discovery of Witches set forth the issues to be addressed in the trilogy: the depth and breadth of Diana's magic, the connection between alchemical history and allegory to Matthew and Diana's relationship, the Congregation's covenant precluding relations among creatures (particularly in relation to love and procreation), and the meaning behind the allusions foretelling Diana and Matthew's relationship.

What certain reviewers of Shadow of Night seem to have focused on, with deleterious effects on the ratings for the book, are issues which no self-respecting student of history would allow credence: the issue of inconsistency in time travel theory, and excessive detail with regard to context. First of all, time travel is a plot device utilized in science fiction, and no theory in physics actually posits the potential reality of backwards time travel. It follows, therefore, that the use of time travel belongs to the realm of high speculation. As it relates to Shadow of Night, time travel is utilized only twice by the protagonists, and should have little impact on the overall flow of the book. Second, without the copious amount of detail--names, places, quotidian experiences--described in the book, the idea of traveling back to 1590 is subverted. So if, as some reviewers would prefer, anonymous names, brief descriptions, and fewer characters were substituted for the content that comprises Shadow of Night, the events that did pass might as well have occurred in the 21st-century.

So, on to Shadow of Night.
The book is divided into parts, and largely follows this pattern: the bulk of each part follows Matthew and Diana's travails in 1590 Elizabethan England, France, and Prague, and near the end of each part there is a brief scene highlighting some aspect of the present, either relating to the Conventicle or the Congregation and some of their member's responses and actions relating to Matthew and Diana's time travel, or as in the case of the Congregation, relating to how they can undermine Matthew and Diana's objectives. Admittedly, the first time a present-day scene arises, it is a bit off-putting, especially as there is no date identifying the scene as occurring in the 21st-century. As the book devotes 98% of the scenes to Diana and Matthew, the other 2% of the book perhaps hints to the questions that will be answered in the third book of the trilogy, e.g. what happened to Emily Mather; what became of Peter Knox's plans to attack Sept-Tours as well as to find and recruit Matthew's errant son Benjamin on the side of the Congregation; what role have and will Phoebe or Rima play in forwarding the causes of the Congregation or the Conventicle; and who else are members of the de Clermont family and where have they been all this time?

A Shadow of Night answers some of the questions posed in A Discovery of Witches: what Diana's power really is, what the goddess Diana took in exchange for allowing Diana Bishop to save Matthew's life, whether Matthew and Diana can conceive a child, what was contained in the three missing pages of Ashmole 782 and why the book came to be broken, and (to a certain extent) how the three objects they used to travel from the 21st-century to 1590 came to be passed down through the years. Unbeknownst to Matthew and Diana, but suggested to the reader, is who has an idea of where the two other missing pages are located.

Overall, the book was very enjoyable, and I look forward to seeing some of the new characters further developed in the third book. As Phillipe de Clermont and Stephen Proctor were featured in Shadow of Night, it might not be a stretch that in the third book we'll understand more about Rebecca Bishop and Ysabeau. Also, the third book might finally explain more clearly what is meant by "It begins with absence and desire; it begins with blood and fear; it begins with a discovery of witches," for it is mentioned throughout Shadow of Night as a means to fathom the unfolding of events, but the exact meaning may not be realized until the entirety of Ashmole 782 is pieced together in the 21st-century.

Anyway, if you're looking for a book with plot and a great deal of fluff, this book is not for you. If you were excited by A Discovery of Witches, are a student of history of science or merely a person who enjoys learning, and are realistic about what building a stable and enduring relationship entails, Shadow of Night is a fantastic book to add to your collection. It is quasi-historical fiction, with a bit of romance, at its best.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2013
Let me start by saying, I loved Discovery of Witches. Although I am very science-and logic-oriented, I have really enjoyed books that touched on magic, time-travel and paranormal aspects, even though they didn't *quite* add up. Usually, I am willing to give the writer a lot (a LOT) of leeway and just sit back and let the story unfold. DOW definitely had some inconsistencies to overlook, but I had no trouble doing so. Diana was conflicted and intelligent, and beginning to learn who she was. Matthew was mysterious, interesting, and ready to be there for her along the way. I couldn't wait for the second installment.

Unfortunately, in this book, they both turn into idiots. I won't get into any spoilers (yet-- and I'll warn you before I do) but Diana seemed to have lost her entire sense of purpose and spent most of her time dithering after Matthew, her family and her career completely forgotten. And don't get me started on Matthew. For someone who has lived for literally thousands of years, you'd think he'd have a better idea of what was going on, but he didn't. I just wanted to just hit him over the head with a frying pan.

First of all, why did they travel back to the 1590? They're trying to get to the bottom of the mystery created by Diana's parents. Okay. Well, if Diana can timewalk so easily, why not just travel back to before her parents were killed and ASK THEM? I have a feeling that her parents might also be useful in teaching Diana how to use her powers, but no, that would be too easy. Also, it wouldn't allow Harkness to spend 135 pages name-dropping about Matthew's famous friends.

Second, did any planning go into this trip at all? How long did they plan to stay in the past? Did they do any research into the period? Why didn't they prepare Diana to fit in ahead of time? Why did they have to go for so long? Why not just come home every few days to take a hot bath and re-group? If they were running from the Congregation in 21st century because they were in love and that's not allowed, won't they just have the same problem in the 14th century?


Even if we ignore fact that Matthew picked the Dumbest Year Ever to travel back to, (the "Goddess" wanted them to, apparently -- hopefully that gets explained later in the book?) the stupidity only gets worse:

So, first they spend an ungodly amount of time trying to find a witch teacher for Diana. Apparently, a decent witch teacher is literally the one person Matthew doesn't know. He has approximately eight thousand fabulous friends (including literally the Queen of England) and he doesn't know of one single witch. Wasn't this one of the main reasons they traveled back in the first place? Why did no one think to do any research before they just went several hundred years back in time?

As far as I can tell from there, Matthew just takes a stab at finding Diana a witch teacher by inviting over a local widow, Widow Beaton, who has a wart on her nose or something. Knowing absolutely nothing about Widow Beaton, including whether or not she even has the same powers as Diana, Matthew tells Widow Beaton that Diana is a witch and asks for help. Really? This is the best plan they could come up with? Not surprisingly, given the time period, Widow Beaton immediately rejects the idea. Matthew is apparently shocked by this.

After that failed attempt, and some more gratuitous bickering between Matthew's friends, who apparently live at his house, we find out that Widow Beaton has been telling everyone down at the village that Diana is a witch. Yet again, this comes as a surprise to Matthew. Earlier, he threatened Widow Beaton that she "didn't want him (Matthew) for an enemy." Well, apparently she does. 0 for 2, Matthew. 0 for 2.

Luckily, before the village can gather their pitchforks and burn Diana at the stake (which most likely would have been yet another surprise to Matthew) he gets called away to visit his father. Hmm. Okay. I thought the whole point of coming back in time was to get Diana a good witch teacher, teach her how to use her powers, and then go back to present day where the Congregation is a very real threat to Diana and Matthew's friends and family. But sure, let's leave Sara and Em to the mercy of the Congregation and take a mini-vacation to France. Sweet.

This was the point at which I stopped reading. It feels as though Harkness is playing musical chairs with the plot: First it's, "We're going to solve the mystery of Ashmole782!" (Even though we didn't try very hard to solve it in present day) Then it becomes: "We're going to the past to get Diana a witch teacher, so she can defend herself against the Congregation!" Then it's: "No, we're going to sit around and drink wine and be impressed by how cool and famous Matthew's friends are!" Then it becomes: "No, now we're going to hang out with Matthew's dead dad!"

Needless to say, I have no desire to see which plot is up next. I really liked the first book, but that also stuck mainly to the same track ("Uh oh, Diana found a book and now everyone is after her") and Matthew seemed to know what he was doing half the time. I really wanted to like this book, and I tried, but I just couldn't. I hope Harkness can make up her mind for the plot of the third book.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on July 31, 2012
I am not sure why this book has an average rating of four stars when so many reviewers seem to agree how disappointing it was. Discovery Of Witches set up a perfect cliffhanger for its sequel with a promising plot of historical time travel adventure, and the opportunity to learn more about Matthew's past, as well as Diana's ancestors and how she came to have so much power. Unfortunately, what we got is a book that almost completely overlooked character develpment and plot, and instead focused on extraneous historical and literary figures that really added no relative significance to the story at all. The first 75% of the book had all the excitement of a history textbook. I kept waiting for something, anything really, to happen! And when something remotely interesting would happen, the author would use ambiguos words and phrases with very few sentences to describe it. I would find myself to be 2 or 3 paragraphs ahead before I realized I just missed something of importance! It was very frustrating because (1) I had waited forever for something interesting to happen, and because (2) it made me realize I had to read all the boring parts too, or else risk not catching the few key plot scenes needed to finally move the story along! Diana's magic and finding the Ashmole transcript took a backseat to all the historical facts and figures. Even Diana's and Matthew's love seem to be on hold for most of the book. Where was the chemistry between them? SPOILER ALERT: The scene of them finally consumating their marriage (after yet ANOTHER wedding!) lacked so much chemistry that it felt like it was just thrown into the script so that the author could set up Diana's subsequent pregnancy, which we all knew was going to happen! I loved Diana and Matthew in DOW, but in SON, I really found myself not caring what happened to them or any of their many, many, and always present for every scene, friends!! However, I would have liked to learn more about Phillipe, Gallowglass, and the relationship that blossomed between Marcus and Phoebe. Chapter 20 was actually written with creativity, description, detail, believability, and CHEMISTRY between the characters! There are many other things I found disapointing about this book, but I won't keep griping about it because I did like the last 3/4 of the book very much. And even though I found the ending to be lacking any sort of real cliffhanger, I do want to read the 3rd installment of the trillogy and just hope that Ms Harkness and her editor will make it better than Shadow Of Night.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2012
I agree with the disappointed readers so much that I re-edited my original comment that I posted on Lucy Loo's review.
Whilst I still enjoyed the book (well, the small bits that got on with the plot and the characters that we knew despite an overload of too many new ones - and I love historical detail) it was from an entirely different level from which I relished the first book DOW and its developing characters. I wanted more exploration of these existing characters, more depth into Diana and Matthew's relationship (since we were led along this path in the first book) and started to feel even more frustrated as we got overdosed on too many intricate historical observations of too much of the mundane when major gaps in the plot or character development went unattended. I finished this book craving the emotions I felt on many levels in DOW and like the fleeting (non built-up) event of Diana's and Matthew's eventual consummation, (Quick did I miss it?) was disappointed it did not deliver satisfaction to the reader as their previous intimate moments did in DOW. Too much detail in some parts followed the quick dispensing of all the good bits like the ones in DOW made me feel was done to reserve more print space for a more historical observational overload. Sort of like adding product placement commercials during a good movie. The balance just wasn't there. You just get started on all the narrative and details of the magic and mystery but then it is taken away. I loved it when Deborah Harkness finally meandered back to her tactile descriptions of the process of magic happening in action which were far too few and which we had to painfully wait far too long for before they were again snatched away with her historical Cook's tour.

Now having said that, I hope the third book will pick up the pace and dare I say, magic of the first one? Now us readers have well and truly been inundated us with Deborah's historical knowledge, maybe she will step it back a bit to continue with the good fantasy story she started to weave around it. I felt that I actually earned some (now post graduate ) extra credit points on all information that I had to process during this reading! Where do I hand in my essay on the daily life of an Elizabethan household?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2012
After charging through the first book, A Discovery of Witches, I was so SO excited to see the release date for Shadow of Night. I had no need to read any reviews, the first of the trilogy was amazing.... captivating and addicting. I'm 70%+ through this book and I honestly feel like I just left a really awful bad first date. Thoroughly disappointed, mislead, and turned off. After loving the first book so much and referring it to NUMEROUS friends, especially with the second book in sight, I am embarrassed and majorly disappointed for said referrals. I read many reviews while reading Shadow of Night thinking maybe I just missed something and perhaps everyone ELSE thought it was as fantastic as the first. Low and behold.... that is so not the case. I think Amanda Jade's post summed it up quite exceptionally. There were far too many odd characters that had nothing to do with the story.... the "story" which started in book one, was barely even touched on. It was as though the wardrobe and historical characters were the main point of the story --- NOT the actual PLOT or the main characters that we met in Book One. How does one create this awesome world with rich characters and an addicting plot... just lose the story? I still admire Harkness because she is clearly talented.... but I am so beyond disappointed to tell my friends that are now thoroughly engrossed in Book One, that the second book basically reads as though it was written by an entirely different author. Very disappointing. Man, there was SO much potential of such a captivating story in Book One... I can't imagine picking a such a path that is Shadow of Night. I hope Harness re-reads her first book remember what sucked readers in in the first place and to re-engage readers & fans to the world and characters that we fell in love with.. in a "hail mary" to save the series.... otherwise, it's just one more book on the shelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
At the end of my review of the first volume in this trilogy, I wrote:

"That's right, folks. I dragged my little eyes through 600 pointlessly drawn out pages only to discover this book had absolutely no resolution! It ends on a cliff-hanger! I struggled through this mess to get to an end that never came. And THAT is unforgivable. God knows how many volumes Ms. Harkness has planned, but I doubt I'll give her any more of my precious reading time."

Given the unambiguous statements above, you may be justified in wondering why I'm reviewing this book. It's because there's something wrong with me. I'm a reader who almost compulsively finishes every book she starts, even the ones I hate. Yes, I know; I should cut my losses, too many good books, etc., etc. I know I should have stayed far away from Shadow of Night, but publishers are so kind to me. They put every new release right into my hands before it's even published. (I know, it's a high-class problem to have.) And with the utter lack of resolution in the first book, the read felt... unfinished. I started reading again.

As you'll recall, as A Discovery of Witches ends, Diana and Matthew have just traveled to the past. Early on, Matthew helpfully exposits, "We're here for only two reasons, Diana: to find you a teacher and to locate that alchemical manuscript if we can." Ah, doesn't the dialog just trip off your tongue? What follows is Matthews's reimmersion with his pals from the past, a group known collectively to historians as The School of Night. You'll recognize their names... Christopher Marlowe, Thomas Harriot, Walter Raleigh, and so forth. Bet you never knew Kit Marlowe was a daemon. Explains a lot.

Anyway, what followed was an absolutely daunting accumulation of period detail and bastardized history. I obviously hadn't loved the first volume of this trilogy, but compared to the second, it was an absolute page-turner. I found Shadow of Night deadly dull! I got through 40% of the doorstop before I finally gave up. Hooray! Deborah Harkness has cured me of my unreasonable compulsion to finish reading what I start--at least in the case of her interminable trilogy.

So readers, please forgive me. After writing hundreds of book reviews, this is the first time I have ever reviewed a book I did not finish. It is also only the fifth time I have awarded a book one star. As I like to say, "If you get one star from me, I REALLY mean it!" Good luck and happy reading to the many fans I know find this series enjoyable. More power to you. I'm done.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 31, 2012
It muddles the brain.... Assuming you've read Discovery of Witches and the blurbs about this book - Diana and Matthew time travel to the 1500's and the entire book takes place there. It's stuffed full of age old London, historical times and characters, tons of characters.... and clothing - a sh*tpile of clothing changes and descriptions.

Such a shame. Between tons of inconsequential characters that were given just the slightest importance and the incessant details of the Period I was completely disappointed. With just hints of witches and magic, DH waited until CHAPTER 20, just shy of half way through, to bring in The Witches, the Magic and to move on with Diana and Matthew's tale. What a bore the first half was!

The second half moved along a little faster but all in all this book was not worth my time. What aggravated me most? I don't mind having lots of characters and interaction but none had anything to do with the actual story and Diana's dilema. In addition, one character was called by his first name in one instance, then his last name, then he was "Lord of...." all within 3 or 4 chapters. And almost every character was referred to by multiple names - talk about muddling the brain!! I lost track of the characters quicker than spending money with Amazon's "Buy It Now with 1 click!

In the end, Deborah Harkness lost track of 'Discovery of Witches.' I believe she was so wrapped up in convincing us of Elizabethan England that she forgot Diana and Matthew were the stars of the show. This novel clocked in at 592 pages. The important events could have wrapped up in 200...and that's being generous.

Spoiler? but I have to ... at one point Diana was pregnant. She's in the middle of a dream and wakes to find she lost the baby. That's it....the author tells us that Matthew's being distant, blah, blah, blah but that's it. Their lives go on and they make it through but there was no heart woven in those pages. I should have been elated for Diana and Matthew at the start...then I should have cried for the loss, for her and for Matthew. I should have been angry because of Matthew's distance towards Diana afterward. emotions and not so much as a chapter to make me want to love them and feel their emotions. Something that would have put life into Diana and Matthew for us, the readers, was skimmed over like the classifieds.

Acchkkk, middle book. I'll have to read the 3rd just to close out but I don't know that I'll ever delve into a DH book/series again. Don't waste your money - borrow it, get it from the library because it's not a keeper in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.