Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon October 19, 2003
Every couple of years a book like this will come along it usually centers on one of thre things.
A John Wilkes Booth Conspiracy
A Jesse James Conspiracy
A Masonic Conspiracy
This time it is a combination of all three and it is one of the better ones.
It tells the story of The Knights of the Golden Circle and their activities after the Civil War to raise the funds necessary to continue a second civil war.
Parts of the book are great, parts of it sound like it was written by a crank some of the instances in this book are just that unbelievable.
So if you are suspicious by nature and generally like books about conspiracies involving the civil war this is probably the book for you.
If you want a little proof to go with your history book this might not be your idea of a good time.
Overall-I liked it a lot but only because this is my sort of thing
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
The book's not too bad if taken with a grain of salt. I enjoyed the story and the writing style, but was miffed that I ordered both this one and Rebel Gold only to find out they were the same book under a different name.

In the story the treasure hunter/co-author makes A LOT of jumps in logic to arrive at his conclusions but it doesn't make the concept any less interesting.

Unfortunately, the book ends with the co-author claiming he has deciphered the code to a treasure in the Superstition Mountains but then just leaves it hanging as to whether anything was ever found there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
Depending on your point of view, this is conspiracy theory at its best or maybe not so much. Regardless, there is an amazing amount of supposition here all conveniently woven together with the most imperfect of threads. And while some of the authors' conjecture simply does not pass the sniff test, the writing is so superb, the fundamental analysis so remarkable, one is left with the understanding that this book was seriously researched before its story was placed on paper. As to the story's building blocks, there is very little fiction here. The myriad of organizations and people really existed.

The book's thesis revolves around the Knights of the Golden Circle, what led up to its formation and its subsequent legacy. The book purports that the KGC was responsible for the South's succession in 1861 and as early as 1863 started to plan for the Confederacy's defeat by burying arms, ammunition and gold in a series of clandestine, underground depositories protected by guardians who understand a hieroglyphic code adopted from the Freemasons and their progenitors, the Knights Templar (of Jerusalem and the Crusades fame). Imagine if you will a story of treasure buried across the Southern United States, from North Carolina to Arizona with the leading guardian none other than Jesse James! It seems Jesse wasn't the outlaw bumpkin history delivers but, according to this version of events, was the head General of a nationwide depository system designed to enable the South to Rise Again!

Unfortunately, the book melts down at the midway mark. The first part is quite good "what if" conjecture, but the second part becomes a rambling jumble of dubious map interpretations that is remarkably boring. The book's second half, the treasure hunting portion, fails to find any meaningful treasure and is unsuccessful in supporting the story guidelines set up earlier.

However, the book's premise is a fun one. If you are into this sort of hidden history, you will enjoy this work. The first half of the book is fascinating guess work, some of which could possibly be true, and the writing is quite excellent throughout.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2004
Sorry, I cannot buy into this one. I have seen other books claiming all these markings are for hidden Spanish gold of the Conquistadors, or the "Lost Dutchman" gold mine, or who knows what. Bottom line, a lot of smoke, very little fire. Finding a few old silver dollars does not mean much. Book contains much speculation and theory, very little proof. Finally, I submit Benjamin Franklin-"Three can keep a secret, if two of them are dead." Even if such a hoard was buried, I expect it was dug up many years ago.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 17, 2004
I particularly liked the history that was included in this book. The author makes some claims that seem a bit 'odd' until you read his book and see how he has dotted the i's and crossed the t's with his research.
The one downfall of this book, in my opinion, was that Bob Brewer in this book always turns out to be a victim of unethical lying people and he is always the good guy. In my opinion, he came across as a bit of a martyr. That made reading this book somewhat difficult at times.
However, this was an interesting read. It makes you believe that if you just connect the clues you too can find gold. Of course, I'm sure it's not the simple. But this book makes it seem possible.
Again, the best part of the book was the history.
enjoy.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2003
This is a good book by a regional treasure hunter of HIS experiences in researching historical Civil War treasures, his sour grapes from a bad association with several treasure hunting companions, and his strokes of revenge, and a lot of rehashing of material from OTHER books with no conclusions deduced from this OTHER material. The "wagon wheel treasure grid" of the Knights has been published for the last 20 years, several reference books in libraries can be located on the KGC, the Jesse James info was interesting but, like he says, it's straight from OTHER books. Treasure hunters thrive on these books that supposedly lay out intricate research done on large dollar amount treasures -- but if anyone knew definitely of such treasures, they would not be writing a book about it. I find that the most money to be made in this field is writing a book about finding treasure, rather than actually going out finding it. I would have liked to have seen a map of the Knight's proposed new country rather than topo maps from fruitless treasure hunts. Several old "Castle" buildings have been located in other states that had gold bars hidden in them rather than the wheel design buried in the ground. He says he found some fruits jars with old coins and shows a pic of his grandfather riding a horse and says he was guarding a treasure in the forest, and reproduces a hand drawn diagram of a large multi level subterranean storage vault located in Texas, etc., et al., but the research is not tied together and jumps from one topic to another, and never makes a point or disproves certain accepted historical hypotheses, --- and the conspiracy of the sentinels guarding some of the treasure locations is still going on today, which he doesn't seem to quite recognize. I know in Tennessee the sites are still guarded by the families and probably elsewhere, too. But his grandfather's site he says is now on government land yet he fails to introduce a conpsiracy theory that this treasure site was made fed govt land because the feds knew of the Knight's treasure on it. There are more [KGC] in Washington DC than in Mongtomery, Alabama, even according to their membership records, but he doesn't assume that the feds knew Confederate treasure was there! The historical research is just rehashed from other books. I'm not disappointed because the subject matter is obscure and rarely discussed but any major library can provide you with "closed stack" reference books with this stuff in it. But overall the book is a nice journal of an individual treasure hunters experience as he sifted through a lot of details evidently without the aid of professionals and made some progress. In that regard it is inspiring. But I don't want to be over enthusiastic about the subject matter and credit the book with accomplishing anything other than heaping more coals on a somewhat smoldering fire of interest in legendary Civil War treasure that people have been looking for for the last 130 years! I also don't want to be critical at all, but when you write a hardcover book and market it to the public, you have to be ready for other people's opinions. I had expectations of some photographs of a large cave or tunnel, a photograph of a gold bar, BAR, belonging to the CSA, a copy of a bill of lading showing gold shipped to the Bahamas or London. oh, and by the way, I definitely disagree that Jefferson Davis had anything at all to do with leadership in the Knights. He spent too much time in Fort Monroe to want anything to do with anything that would get him in trouble again. He traveled for several years in Europe after the war and probably did know who was involved with the remnants of Confederate treasure, but he himself I cannot believe was involved in any type of leadership of this activity, or should I say, my research does not show any.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2011
I found the Shadow of the Sentinel a great story.
Made me want to move to the hills and start looking for treasure myself.
Well written. Lots of action. The pase was good. Lots of photos.
Right up there with Jim Marrs and other great Non-Fiction writers.
I would love to hear Bob Brewer on Coast To Coast AM some time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2003
I've read the book---TWICE ! And I'm preparing to read it for a THIRD time !
One word: WOW !
If you have an interest in the KGC ( Knights of the Golden Circle ), Jesse James, the Civil War, or American History---this book is a "must-read" book.
The KGC was a Civil War organization of Confederate sympathizers who collected and secreted millions ( and MAYBE it is BILLIONS ! ) of dollars in gold, silver, currency, weapons and supplies with the avowed objective of continuing the Civil War until the South was victorious. The South shall rise again !
If you will read this book with an open mind you will thoroughly enjoy the great story it tells, but: be prepared to learn that some things you learned in your history books were false !
The author tells of how he has deciphered many clues and maps to recover some KGC treasure caches.
You will learn how Jesse James was associated with the KGC, along with many government officials.
After reading this book ( and it could be a controversial book ! ) I now believe that there are still many KGC caches secreted throughout the U.S. for you and I to find.
For the dedicated treasure hunter, the adventurer and the historian ( and anyone else ! ) this book will definitely get some interesting conversations started !
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
If this book wasn't being presented as a non-fiction book, it might have been a good read. I am afraid I have to play the BS card on it. How many items would have been found by urban sprawl alone?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
A lot of people buy/read Treasure Books thinking the book will give them a instant X marks the spot to a treasure. A lot are disappointed. As a treasure hunter {whose family fought on the Confederate side} I find this book fascinating because it shows a lot of hard work by Brewer to crack the Knights Of The Golden Circle's coded template with all it's symbols, marking, reversed-upside down numbers, turkey tracks, turtles, etc.. If you are a treasure hunter you know the majority of your time is spent on research, more research, then more research. It's not just getting up and going out to dig treasure. The amount of work you put into it usually dictates how much treasure you can find if it's there. But we have a lot of people as the book described who wants others to do the work and then let them dig the treasure. I live in Colorado and have done much research on Spanish marking/treasure. We also have Indian marking and now have a lot more information about the Knight Of The Golden Circle treasure template. To me this opens up new exciting area's of Treasure Hunting. Thanks Mr. Brewer, good job!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse