Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know Your Government. Read This Book.
Just when you thought George W. Bush and his political appointees where the ones creating havoc, enter the career bureaucrats of the State Department and the CIA, who, no matter who's residing in the White House, have their own agendas in mind.

This book will hopefully enlighten Americans as to who really holds the power within the federal bureaucracy. It's not...
Published on November 7, 2007 by Sharkman

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars facts or opinions?
The paraphrase of Daniel Moynihan's "you may have your own opinion but you may not have your own set of facts," will prove very useful to the reader. A troubling aspect of this book is how so much of what the author claims could have gotten by the supposedly loyal Bush appointees of Powell, Rice and Rumsfeld. While the book tends to lean towards those who favor...
Published on February 13, 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

161 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know Your Government. Read This Book., November 7, 2007
Just when you thought George W. Bush and his political appointees where the ones creating havoc, enter the career bureaucrats of the State Department and the CIA, who, no matter who's residing in the White House, have their own agendas in mind.

This book will hopefully enlighten Americans as to who really holds the power within the federal bureaucracy. It's not political appointees - it's the unelected staffers who populate the buildings up and down Pennsylvania Avenue and show up to work just enough to earn their step increases in the GS pay scale. The rest of the time, well - Mr. Timmerman discusses how partisan staff members within the CIA and State Department waged a war of their own on the Administration to discredit it in the public's eye. For those of you who loathe Bush over Iraq, you may have been had by one of the greatest disinformation campaigns of all time.

At least be open-minded and give this well-written book a chance. If you don't believe it, or want to believe, at worst you've got a gripping story in your hands as good as "Seven Days In May" or any of the better Clancy novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I began as a skeptic, November 18, 2007
By 
Michael T Kennedy (Mission Viejo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not one to take conspiracy theories seriously. I began this book as a skeptic. After about 100 pages, I was a believer. I have read a lot about Iraq and Afghanistan. I read Bob Baer's first book (See No Evil) and Gary Berntsen's book (Jawbreaker), both about Afghanistan. Bob Baer was there when Chalabi's planned revolt against Saddam was cancelled by Clinton NSC chief Anthony Lake. Timmerman's book agrees with other books on similar topics. His thesis is that the permanent bureaucracy is anti-Bush and has used its influence to thwart his policies at every chance. Some of us were puzzled about the fanatical pursuit of the alleged leaker of Valerie Plame's identity while Sandy Berger committed theft and violated multiple laws about secrecy and got a slap on the wrist. Timmerman explains that the two Justice Department staffers responsible are Clinton holdovers with an agenda.

This is not a new phenomenon. Ronald Reagan faced the same resistence within the bureaucracy to his initiatives. The difference is that Reagan was a better communicator and could go over the heads of his opponents to the people. Bush has lacked this ablity and has been strangely passive at times as his policies are reversed by mid-level bureaucrats. The story of the Iraq occupation is still incomplete. General Jay Garner had a good record as an administrator with the Kurds during the time we protected them from Saddam. When he entered Baghdad to take over the transition team, he seemed the perfect choice. A few months later, he was gone and I have yet to hear an adequate explanation of what happened. Timmerman may have the answer. The State Department thought the idea of Iraqi democracy was foolish and Paul Bremer arrived with a few CIA candidate dictators in his pocket. The Iraqi National Congress that had been led by Ahmed Chalabi during the Clinton years, was summarily dismissed and Bremer began his role as Viceroy. The insurgency soon followed. Cause and effect ? I'm not sure but Timmerman makes a reasonable case it is.

I'm not sure this book is the last word but it should be on every reading list of those who want to know what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shortly and Simply, November 21, 2007
I will keep this short and simple.

First, a disclaimer: I have reviewed a Timmerman book (Honor Killing), he has appeared many times on my radio talk show and he is a friend.

Now, as to Timmerman and Shadow Warriors:

Timmerman, I have found, knows more and has more and better sources than just about anyone in certain areas that include how our government really works, especially our foreign policy, and how Iran really works.

Buy and read Shadow Warriors. You will learn how what has happened in our country over the recent years came about. You will be astounded while you are being educated. You will gain an insight on how your news sources really don't work for you.

Finally, buy everything Timmerman writes or has written, and subscribe to his internet reporting. If you do these things, you will, if you take the time, thank me for putting you onto this track, and you will, more importantly, feel profound gratitude toward Kenneth Timmerman.

This is all the truth, and nothing but.

Julian Tepper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Betrayal of our CIA "Elites", November 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kenneth Timmerman is one of our era's greatest journalists. Radio talk show host Michael Medved warned that his new Shadow Warriors may get one's blood boiling. He was not even slightly exaggerating. This somewhat frightening book goes into great detail to reveal the betrayal of "elites" who attended our so-called best universities. They are snobs who believe they have the self appointed right to defy our democratic institutions if these entities fail to perform to their expectations. Most are members of the Democratic Party and a small handful are left-wing Republicans. The author cites former Senator Zell Miller's warning "that the CIA was becoming a `domestic dirty tricks shop' that allowed its own operatives to conduct a covert operation `to destabilize a U.S. president.'" This leftist cabal of CIA officers is literally endangering our lives with their traitorous behavior. These saboteurs must be stopped.

One should also not ignore the not so subtle anti-Semitism of these CIA traitors. Timmerman exposes the stabbing in the back of Larry Franklin. When everything is said and done, these scoundrels believe that Israel is the central reason behind the rage of the Islamic nihilists. They haven't the foggiest notion of what truly motivates our deadly foes. The scholarly writings of Bernard Lewis (ie. What Went Wrong?: The Clash Between Islam and Modernity in the Middle East), sadly, are not held in high esteem within their cultural milieu. Shadows Warriors is a book you must read as quickly as possible. The time is getting late. The damage already done has been extensive. We cannot allow it to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Insider Story of the Cold Civil War, November 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
America is at war...two of them. The "hot" war is well known. The Cold Civil War has gone on furiously but clandestinely. This book is a must to understand the otherwise inexplicable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tremendous Accomplishment, November 20, 2007
A must read for anyone interested in U.S. national security.

Kenneth Timmerman has accomplished what few "outsiders" -- people who have not worked in government -- have done: written a definitive account of the internal workings of the U.S. national security apparatus. His account is not just limited to the State Department. It also includes inside accounts of developments within the CIA as well as many complex foreign developments.

The story Timmerman tells is depressing. He describes how government bureaucrats took steps again and again to sabotage Bush Administration foreign policy initiatives. Timmerman portrays many government bureaucrats as a shadowy permanent and unaccountable government pursuing their own foreign policy.

This did not just go on at the Department of State, which is fairly well known for having a strong political bias but also at the CIA. Timmerman discusses what really went on with CIA Director Porter Goss and the extensive efforts CIA careerists took to prevent him from reforming the Agency by smearing him and his staff. Timmerman is careful to point out that this effort would not have succeeded if Goss had the full backing of then National Security Adviser Rice. Unfortunately, Rice did not want any bad press coming out of Langley.

Timmerman also gives a very good account of the 2005 Senate battle to confirm John Bolton as UN ambassador. Timmerman reaches deep down and discusses not just actions by CIA and State Department officers to derail Bolton but how this battle was affected by the fact that many of these officials laregly opposed Bolton because they objected to his criticism of Fidel Castro and concerns Bolton raised about Ana Belen Montes, a former DIA Cuba expert who was convicted of spying for Cuba. This well-argued account puts the Bolton confirmation battle in a very different light.

As we approach the end of the Bush Administration, it is time to take stock of its accomplishments and failings. Kenneth Timmerman reveals some of the internal obstacles that had a significant impact on the ability of Bush officials to carry out their policies. This is a serious problem that the next president must be prepared to address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is Not Conspiracy Theory, November 19, 2007
Shadow Warriors: The Untold Story of Traitors, Saboteurs, and the Party of Surrender

I began this book with a skeptical viewpoint since conspiracy theories are running rampant these days. The book takes the reader through the history of the Iraq conflict and other Foriegn policy issues over the 6 years of the Bush administration, and explains in detail how these policies were systematically derailed, and the reporting in the news media distorted by U.S. civil servants in concert with the congress and the elite news media that disagreed with these policies. I believe what is reported here is not a conspiracy theory, and is actually a truthful report for several reasons.

1. The claims made in the book are supported by many pages of documents and footnotes. I checked several of these footnotes and found them to be fully credible. For example, the 20,000 lbs of sarin nerve agent (Bush Lied, People Died!) that was captured in Jordan from Al Quaeda who planned to explode it in downtown Amman was found to originated in Iraq, and was smuggled to Syria just prior to the war. This actually happened, and even worse, was not reported by the US press.

2. The book is written with a clear logical style and language, and does not descend into the screed style at any point, as is common among most conspiracy theorists.

3. The book is full of the names of various Shadow Warriors (SWs), including middle initials, their department, boss's name, etc, so there is no doubt whatsoever who these people are that he is writing about. Conspiracy theorists are usually not stupid enough to slander people in high places. A reporter of Timmerman's stature is surely not that stupid either. Some of the SWs he cites and discredits, such as Valerie Plame and Joe Wilson, have already made a fortune through lawsuits and their pompous indignation. It will be interesting to see which characters from this book want to go to the legal mat with Timmerman.

4. I personally know some relatively low-level government workers who harbor a visceral hatred of Bush. Their attitude is that they have no responsibility to support his administration, even though he was elected by a majority of americans. If these people were able to damage this administration by their actions or inaction they would do it. For this reason the SW syndrome seems realistic to me.

I recommend this book to everyone who is interested in understanding historical detail. It opened my eyes to an account of recent history that is radically different from what I read in the newspapers or heard on NPR. It makes me a little angry too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter what you think you know, read this to balance what the media is telling you, January 17, 2008
Kenneth Timmerman reports on those in the government who hide behind reporters or leak classified documents or simply lie about matters related to the Jihadists to attack the Bush Administration they hate so much. Timmerman shows us how Karen Kwiatkowski spun a bunch of lies about conspiracies in the Rumsfeld bureaucracy that were picked up as fact and used by Carl Levin to attack Rumsfeld and through him, Bush.

We also get a detailed look at what really happened in Niger, Valerie and Joe Wilson, and why those forged documents were actually quite meaningless to the reality of what happened there in Iraq except as a public relations tool on behalf of the anti-war crowd.

The author also shows us how the private agendas of many in the State Department, CIA, and other intelligence agencies have caused them to justify breaking their oaths, leaking classified documents, and actively undermining the efforts of the administration. This is one of the serious side effects of the permanent bureaucracy. We are now locked in a state of permanent warfare within the government where people feel free to do their politics leads them to do rather than what they job and duties require them to do.

Timmerman shows us what was done to Chalabi, provides evidence about what really happened to the Iraqi WMD (sent to Syria and other places), how the "Bush Lied People Died" movement got started and how it functions, how Porter Goss and John Bolton were attacked and undermined, and much more.

The appendix provides a series of documents that are referred to in the text.

While the writing is a big breathless and heated than I would personally prefer, I think this book is an important balance to the stuff the mainstream liberal media has been putting out because it exposes their agenda and what they are willing to do to further it without regard for the truth. The author shows that they hold their political aims to be so important that distorting the facts or even promoting outright lies seems justified to them. You know, their all important ends justify any means to further them.

Reading this book will help you see the media, the use of leaks and unnamed sources, and Congressional hearings in an interesting new light.

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Ann Arbor, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for the traitors to blush and exit stage left., November 10, 2007
To scribe a numbered list of those who do not want you to see the information in this book would take but a year.

Shadow Warriors is the 18" Maglite beaming down into the beady eyes of the treasonous perps who continue to subvert our national security in exchange for personal political capital.

Read this book now and then lend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orwell was prescient, November 8, 2007
Orwell was prescient; just ahead of himself by 20 + years... and he had it backwards. Big Brother isn't listening, not to you, not unless you have a reason to be paranoid... Otherwise Big Brother is TALKING and evidently most of America is buying it, hook, line, and sinker.

Read this un-redacted book for starters and then follow the citations to truth and enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.