Shadowfell and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.99
  • Save: $3.61 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by CWJBOOKS
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: exlibrary hardcover book in jacket with light wear, shows some light reader wear throughout ,all the usual library marks and stamps.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shadowfell Hardcover – September 11, 2012


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.38
$2.48 $2.01
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


Frequently Bought Together

Shadowfell + Flame of Sevenwaters + Raven Flight: A Shadowfell novel
Price for all three: $37.34

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Michael Vey 4
Featured New Release in Teen Science Fiction & Fantasy

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 730L (What's this?)
  • Series: Shadowfell (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (September 11, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0375869549
  • ISBN-13: 978-0375869549
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (131 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #251,776 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-An engaging read for fans of traditional fantasy. Neryn's father, her only surviving relative, has just wagered her in a game of chance-and lost. For years they have been on the run, living cold and hungry at the margins of society in an attempt to hide Neryn's dangerous secret: she has the magical ability to see and sense the Fey creatures that populate Alban. But all magic has been outlawed in the realm except that which is practiced by the king's men. Now Neryn finds herself with Flint, the winner of the wager. He seems to be a potential ally, and she is tempted to confide in him as she embarks on her quest to join a resistance movement. But he is obviously withholding information, and besides, all confidences are dangerous in a world in which the king's men conduct violent raids on all who are rumored to resist the regime. Both characters face serious and interesting moral dilemmas, and the romance between them feels less rushed than in some fantasy romances. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce will find much to enjoy in this first installment of a planned trilogy.-Hayden Bass, Seattle Public Library, WAα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

Living as a vagabond with her gambling father was not easy for Neryn, but it was vastly simpler and safer than her current path. After Neryn’s father is drowned, she is taken by Flint, an enforcer for King Keldec, whose forces were responsible for the death of most of Neryn’s family, but who swears he will keep her safe. Also keeping her safe are the small woodland fey, who know she has special powers that may lead to triumph in her secret purpose: to find Shadowfell, the secret training ground for the rebel forces set to defeat Keldec. As she and Flint journey, Neryn faces illness, cold, adversaries, and nearly dies but for Flint’s steadfast care. But even as they grow close amid dangerous conditions on this noble quest, she is unable to give herself over to trusting him. This first in a trilogy lays ample groundwork from which readers can expect a slow unfolding of romance, an epic defense of a way of life, and a strong, complex heroine coming into her own. Grades 7-10. --Heather Booth

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

The pacing in this book was a bit slow but I think Marillier is building up to great things.
Kuri Ping
Ms. Marillier's prose is evocative and beautiful to read, with lush descriptions that immerse you in the world and make you care about these characters.
Angela
In the end, we all know that the good guys are going to win and the bad guys will get theirs.
emmyson

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful By K. Eckert on September 11, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I got a copy of this book to review through NetGalley(dot)com. I loved Marillier's Sevenwater series and was so excited to read another series by Marillier. This book is beautifully written but the story moves slowly and was hard to stay engaged with. The second book in this series will be titled Raven Flight and is scheduled for a 2013 release.

Neryn is blessed/cursed with the ability to see the Good Folk. She is orphaned and all alone in the world, but gets caught up in a plot to save the kingdom of Alban from the evil King who rules it. Outside of the Good Folk her only friend is a mysterious man who has saved her life, but seems to have questionable allegiances. Will Neryn be able to help save Alban from its cursed king?

This book is written beautifully, the description is beautiful, and the landscape is beautiful. Neryn is peaceful and graceful, yet surprisingly tough....like many of Marillier's heroines.

I loved watching Neryn struggle through trial after trial and loved her interactions with the Good Folk. The main thing I really didn't enjoy about this novel was the pacing. The story moves so deliberately that at times I just lost interest. Right at the beginning of the book we know Neryn is trying to get to Shadowfell. By the end of the book she finally arrives there. The rest of the book is the story of her journey.

While Neryn's journey does have some excitement to it, mostly it is just a story of survival. She spends long stretches of the book trying to stay warm and trying to find food. She also spends a long stretch of the book alone with her thoughts recuperating in a cabin after her illness. Parts of these stretches are filled with beautiful thoughts and language; but they also come off as a bit boring.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By emmyson on October 16, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Fantasy is one of my absolute most favorite genres, and Shadowfell reminded me why. It had everything: a great heroine, fantastic (but conflicted) hero, the Fae, a journey, and action.

This is my first foray into Juliet Marillier's work, and I've been told that it's not her best. I'm on hold for Daughter of the Forest at the library, so I'm withholding judgment on that until I've read more. For me, this was an excellent introduction to the author. I really loved this book!

Yeah, it's slow going at times. Yeah, it takes awhile for the action to build (it's very subtle - if you're look for a slam/bang book, perhaps look elsewhere). Yeah, the romance is slow. You know what? None of that bothered me. I relished taking my time on the journey with Neryn and finding things out as she did. I loved getting into her head and sharing her fears. I loved the ending. It was so bittersweet and beautiful. It left me longing for more, which I consider one of the many marks of a great book.

I liked the characters. I liked that they were SO flawed. I liked that they had to grow up and discover things for themselves. I liked that nothing was just handed to them. (Yeesh. That makes it sound like a heavy contemp or something. :P) I liked that they worked through things and finally (FINALLY!) reached understanding. I liked that even the Good Folk aren't exempt from the trials of Alban. They had to pass through Hell as well.

Now, obviously, this is a fantasy. In the end, we all know that the good guys are going to win and the bad guys will get theirs. In this series, though, the good guys are going to have to walk a very twisted and hard path to get there. They're definitely going to earn their victory and I love that.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Carla on October 4, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I should probably start this review by saying I'm a HUGE Juliet Marillier fan (for those who don't know this yet) -- she's my favorite author, fantasy is my genre of choice, and every time I'm in possession of a new JM book it's like Christmas, and it's snowing outside while I'm inside the house by the fire, looking out the window, with a cup of cinnamon flavored hot chocolate warming my hands, a blanket over my legs, and I'm about to open the perfect gift, which by the way, would be a JM book.

That said, Shadowfell tells the story of Neryn's journey across Alban, a land ruled by the tyrant Keldec -- at first she's travelling with her father, who after doing something terrible to her, dies and leaves her all alone in the world; after this tragic event she decides to travel to a place in the north called Shadowfell, the alleged land of the rebels, where she believes she'll be safe from the Enforcers, and from the king himself, because he could use her powers for his benefit. Yes, the girl has powers.

Naturally I loved this book from page one, and I loved especially how the story picks up rhythm in the first couple of pages and barely slows it down afterwards, there's always something happening with or around Neryn, something that would make it impossible for me to put the book down.

AND THE MALE LEAD. Goodness! Juliet really knows how to write them. (Not sure why I sounded surprised just now.) His attitude towards Neryn melted my heart from the very first moment - his posture, his patience, the way the helps and takes care of her even when she's doubting his motives. A[...] In fact he reminded me a bit of Red, which is always the best compliment I can give to a male character.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?