Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Shadowrun Augmentation
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 18, 2009
This book offers a very comprehensive review of the body modification technology in the Shadowrun setting. The information is well indexed with logically set up tables and rules, and comes with very interesting fiction and explanation of the pseudoscience and cultural reaction behind each modification/augmentation option in the world.

From science fiction tropes such as mechanical eyes and cyborgs to esoteric ideas such as genetically modified symbiotes that can be placed in humans, the book extrapolates the practical applications of various cutting-edge technologies being developed today with enough scientific explanation to not strain credulity and enough fluff to avoid a mental meltdown.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
...and the new cover art is miles above what was published the first two printings. Most of the other reviewers of this book have already covered the basics and the details.

This is a handy resource for the nitty-gritty about implants and other upgrades, including nano technology, gene therapy, and organ leggers (I have a game idea there). Everyone needs a good doctor, and if they'll take used cybertech in payment, well, sometimes you might have to just follow the wetwork up with some recycling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2010
So far, I have been a fan of the 4th edition of Shadowrun, and this book only improves my opinion of the game. If you are wanting to play a character who Chromes themselves out (ie: uses mechanical augmentation, cybernetics) then this book is for you. Not into Chrome? Prefer flesh? No problem, this book has bioware covered too. Lots of new information about how such things are viewed in the world. Lots of new ways to customize your characters. Great fiction (as expected in an SR book). Well worth it, I cannot recommend it enough for Shadowrun players.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent book. Version is celebrating 20 years of Shadowrun is the best.
Very complete book. Highly recommend.
This supplement Shadowrun comes complete some small details that are missing in the basic book.
The Work of the publisher is impeccable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
One thing about the Catalyst Shadowrun 4th edition books is that you always get what you pay for and in many cases more than you pay for. :) But if you cannot make the cybered-up character of your dreams using this book then you are not trying hard enough. The only gripe I have at all is that I got a newer printing that had different cover art, a very minor gripe but I wish Amazon would at least show the one you are getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
This book was NEARLY everything I was expecting...
However, the real cover is a little provocative... Not that I'm personally complaining, but when you open a box of books in front of your 65 year old mother.... that WASN'T what I was expecting to find....
The actual cover art is of an elven woman in a vat tank, with nothing on but a strip of cloth and some ciberware...
Just FWI....
Aside from giving my elderly mother a start... no worries...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
As a supplement it was less useful than I'd hoped, but it has a lot of useful information for the world- just less of what I was looking for, namely gear. I do recommend it for the alternate forms of cyberware and bioware, and the additional medical rules.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2009
Augmentation is an interesting read and offers alot more goodies. The extra rules sections are probably unnecessary unless your group is particularly fond of micromnanagement. But the book is well set out and provides plenty of material for GM and players alike. The pages are paper, making them easy to damage and the cover art is simply horrible, but the content is worth the price.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2010
This has a few nice positive qualities to take the sting out of implants. It also has some gene augmentation stuff to make a runner more buff. It has a new pieces of wear that are nice, but nothing that's a must have. It's merely a good source of new ideas in the vein of implants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
I picked this up sight unseen because I assumed that it would be the cyberware/bioware version of Arsenal -- a big book full of cool toys with a bit of fiction and fluff thrown in for good measure. My mistake: Arsenal, this isn't.

Instead, it's largely fluff, fiction, and really terrible gear. Looking for extra chrome for your character? Look elsewhere, unless by "chrome" you mean "poison-spewing cyberbreasts." Yes, really.

About 1/3 of the book is actual cyberware, bioware, genetech, nanotech, and other gear/augmentations. Some of the other two-thirds is interesting, but it's mostly just crap I'm not going to read. Contrast this to Arsenal, which is almost entirely fun gear, fully illustrated, and actually feels like a core book.

Top that off with a godawful cover and, surprisingly, interior art that's almost uniformly just as awful, and this book is just embarrassing. It's like a turd no one even tried to polish.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse