Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga Book 3) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $6.00 (33%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Shadow's Master (Shadow S... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VERY-GOOD TRADE-PAPERBACK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga) Paperback – March 27, 2012

21 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.95
$1.63 $0.01

Science Fiction and Fantasy Deals
Check out these featured titles, under $10 through July 20. See more
$11.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga) + Shadow's Lure (Shadow Saga) + Shadow's Son (Shadow Saga)
Price for all three: $37.31

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Darker, bloodier, and better than its predecessors.... There's plenty of action and combat, and Sprunk handles it with finesse.  Fans of action oriented sword and sorcery will find plenty to cheer about here.”
— Adventures Fantastic

"Sword and Sorcery action of a high order.... If you have any interest in sword and sorcery, you owe it to yourself to check out Sprunk’s work.... You will be glad you did.”
— SF Signal 

“Go buy Sprunk's novels. They are great pieces of assassin-themed fantasy that everyone should be enjoying.”
— Elitist Book Reviews

About the Author

Jon Sprunk lives in central Pennsylvania with his family. His books have been translated into seven languages in more than nine countries. When not working on his latest novel, he enjoys traveling, collecting medieval weaponry, and watching pro football (preferably behind a beer and a big plate of hot wings). Visit him online at www.jonsprunk.com, www.facebook.com/JonSprunk, or on Twitter @sprunk70.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Shadow Saga
  • Paperback: 313 pages
  • Publisher: Pyr (March 27, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1616146052
  • ISBN-13: 978-1616146054
  • Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 0.9 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #921,930 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Jon Sprunk is the author of BLOOD AND IRON, the first book in the Book of the Black Earth fantasy series. He also wrote the Shadow Saga (Shadow's Son, Shadow's Lure, and Shadow's Master.) Shadow's Son was a finalist for the Compton Crook Award and also a nominee for the David Gemmell Award in two categories.

Jon lives in central Pennsylvania with his wife and son. When not writing, he enjoys travel, collecting medieval and ancient weaponry, and pro football. Visit him online at www.jonsprunk.com, or on Facebook or Twitter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Stefan on March 3, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
North, the road always leads north. In the final installment of the Shadow Saga, Caim, guided by an irresistable pull, and his companions travel north in search of his mother where they will finally encounter the Lord of the Shadows.

This was the best of the series and that is high praise because I thought Shadow's Son and Shadow's Lure were very well written. I could not put this one down. The pace increased at break-neck speed to the point that the last five chapters had me breathless with anticipation.

Caim, Josey, and Kit have grown quite a bit in the series, especially in this book, and they all have to make some hard decisions. One of the things I liked most in this series was not just the fight scenes (which were very well written) but love triangle between Caim, Josey, and Kit. Josey carries his child but Kit knows and understands his darker nature. Which one will he choose? I plowed through the book wanting the answer to this question as much as I wanted to know what happened to his mother. I was very satisfied with the answer and the ending as well. I hope this is not the last we will see of Caim, Kit, and Josey.

Fans of Paul S. Kemp, Brent Weeks, and Brandon Sanderson will certainly enjoy these books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 1, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
I was clicking through amazon, looking for another kindle book to buy, and came across this book on the "recommended" list. I already purchased it, but I noticed it only had a few reviews that gave it "5" stars, and no other reviews. That's not fair for the author - this book might get a few lower rated reviews, but he deserves MANY high rated reviews, and here is why:

His stories have good pacing. Action offset with dialogue and reflection, but in just the right amounts. Most decent authors have those two things (action and dialogue), which seems to be part of the craft. Well, this author has some of the "art" down also in how he mixes and paces his story, beyond just the "craft", and it makes for fun reading. I enjoyed the rhythm.

His characters were dynamic - they changed throughout the series, but the author sold me on both the original characters and the changes they endured, and where they ended. I will read more of this author's stories if he continues quality writing.

His plotlines are consistent and enjoyable. Fighting, suffering, maturing, romancing... and a lot more.

I don't write many reviews, so I'll just leave it at that. Great stuff!

Some other series I have read: Prince of Thorns, Among Thieves, Wise Man's Fear, Mistborn, Way of Kings, Riyria Revelations, Night Angel. And a lot more. This "Shadow" series fits well in the genre.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Joseph P. Bonadonna on March 23, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Just finished reading SHADOW'S MASTER, the third volume in Jon Sprunk's excellent trilogy. Once again, his writing is lean and mean, crisp and solid. He knows how to choreograph a fight, can write dialog that rings as true as a bell, and keep you turning the pages. Plenty of action that does not overwhelm the plot or the characters, and there's real drama and emotion in the personal lives of his characters, real pathos and tragedy. Each character is written with a sure and steady hand, we get to know them quite well. As for the three mains -- Caim, Kit and Josephine -- they're drawn with special loving care, and Jon does not disappoint or take the easy way out when he resolves this dilemma. But for me, the real hero of the story -- the real heroine -- is Josey. When first we meet her, she is a young, innocent and pampered girl. But we get to see her grow and mature into a strong woman who is as brave as she is wise. A perfect example of how a character's "arc" should be written. And while everything is neatly tied up at the end, there is a door left open for further adventures. Bravo!

--- Joe Bonadonna, author of MAD SHADOWS:THE WEIRD TALES OF DORGO THE DOWSER
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Cairi on May 12, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Being a fan of Michael J. Sullivan's Riyria Revelations and Patrick Rothfuss' Kingkiller Chronicles, I was hoping that the Shadow Saga would scratch the itch that I had for a good hero while I wait for more books from those authors. I'm very glad to say all three of the books in the Shadow Saga series did just that. The characterizations are very well done--as a reader, you get the impression that Jon Sprunk knows these people inside and out, whether they be villain or hero. I found the idea of a hero who discovered he has magical prowess but has no mentor to guide him as he develops said powers to be very intriguing. I've read some reviews that complain that Caim grew too proficient too quickly, but I saw it more as a trial and error process that felt very organic and at times made me wince in sympathy. Caim is no invincible super-hero. I also really enjoyed seeing the way he developed as a character... would the dark or light win in the end? Sprunk did a very nice job of showing us Caim's inner struggles juxtaposed against what others saw in him, and each "view" of Caim was biased to a degree that seemed very believable. No one, not even Caim himself, had a perfect picture of who Caim really was and would turn out to be, and that added immeasurably to my enjoyment of the story.

All in all, an excellent set of books. Well written, well paced, and well plotted.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga)
This item: Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga)
Price: $11.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?