Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Shake It All About
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2004
RUN, DO NOT WALK TO BUY/RENT THIS FANTASTICALLY WONDERFUL! DREAMILY ROMANTIC movie. it is a PERFECT "date movie" for gay AND straight couples! It's Danish and SUPERB in EVERY WAY...the script is "smart", the characters are ALL excellent, attractive, and believable. There's nary a lick of nudity or hot, steamy sex, yet the underlying passion of the lovers comes across loud & clear.

The amazing (for US audiences, anyway) is that it treats gay love and marriage as 100% "normal" and "valid". Coming out of Denmark, where I believe gay marriage has been legal for some time, the story line follows the EXACT same "formula" as any hetero love story that Hollywood might produce--including the "Hollywood ending."

"Shake It" is a romantic comedy, but the film delves deep into the gay AND straight characters' struggles and heartbreak...the soundtrack is excellent, as well, AND NO one is "sick" and/or dying of AIDS.

Be prepared to laugh, cry, and fall in love with these characters and this film!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
SHAKE IT ALL ABOUT is a fine little movie from Denmark that slices right into the middle of a cross section of life and examines marriage, infidelity, the peaks and troughs of love, and the power of relationships - all in the refreshingly total spectrum of straight and gay life. Two men have been living together for a significant period of time. One finally asks the other to marry and then proceeds to 'cheat' on his lover by having an affair with his lover's sister-in-law! The couple's gay friends side with the jilted man: the wandering architect's friends and his parents encourage the change. When the new couple becomes pregnant, and the jilted lover is injured in an automobile accident (losing an eye, etc), the situation becomes acute and the manner in which the original male pair copes is the bulk of the film. The acting is excellent, the pacing is fast, the humor and tragedy are well balanced, and if the ending is a bit Hollywoodized, it works just fine. A definite step in the right direction for gender bending films and a very fine one at that.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
No. Just No.

I love Mads. That Mo-Fo is sexy as all get back. And yes, I can even find him sexy as a gay lover, I don't care so long as he's naked. But I do care that this film is an insult to gay people (I'm straight and I was insulted). Even as a comedy. The film infers that gay men aren't really gay, they just lack the right woman. It also infers gay men will screw anything and will flippantly cheat even when in a relationship with whom they deem as "the one".

Yeah, okay. Maybe it's very American of me to have this view. But I felt very uncomfortable trying to be entertained by something like that. And I'm writing it here, because maybe you will too.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
Pretty good Danish comedy/drama about Jacob (Mads Mikkelsen) a gay man who proposes to his long-time boyfriend Jorgen (Troels Lyby) and on the same night finds himself falling for Jorgen's sister-in-law, Caroline (Charlotte Munck).

The film never quite decides whether it wants to be a comedy or a drama, and hence never really succeeds at either. There are some very funny moments, the best of which is a scene with a therapist trying to help the men save their relationship. But there are moments of supposed pathos which are not terribly effective.

Mikkelsen is very sweet as the befuddled Jacob, as is Munck as the equally confused Caroline. But it is difficult to generate much enthusiasm for Jorgen, whether because of the character or Lyby's performance. The rest of the friends and relatives, straight and gay, are just plain annoying.

The conclusion is utterly absurd, unbelievable even for a romantic comedy. True love may conquer all, but it can't make airplanes turn back in mid-flight.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
A sweet, romantic story of just loving someone beyond the limits and questioning our own sexuality. I thoroughly enjoyed it, made especially terrific by the fine acting and script. Mads Mikkelsen stands above them all as a gay man, confused about his feelings for the man he truly loves and his attraction to a woman. This is a movie you'll truly enjoy. Watch it with your significant other.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2004
"Shake It All About" (orginally titled "en kort en lang" in Danish) is a romantic comedy reflecting the blending of the lines between straight and gay today. When Jacob proposes marriage to his boyfriend of many years, Jørgen, he truly does want to marry him. However, things get complicated when Jacob falls in love with Caroline, who is married to Jørgen's brother. To make things even more complicated, Caroline becomes pregnant with Jacob's child.
Jacob still loves Jøgren and he loves Caroline - who will he choose. Who does Jacob want? And if it's Jørgen, will Jørgen take him back?
Well worth buying. You'll love it for the story, you'll also love it for the soundtrack.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
Pretty goofy & fruity... Meh.... Not the best acting in this one. Danes are getting pretty goofy & fruity... They act like normal relationships (man & woman) are the abnormal!!! Kind of weird, to me. I have gay friends, but they don't act like a bunch of emotional women on PMS like in this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
I brought this movie for my best friend. She loves Mads Mikkelsen, and wanted to see it so badly! Sadly it isn't in English, but still enjoyable none the less! The story gets a little confusing at times, but it makes you want to see the end! The DVD arrived on time, and in great condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
This movie is a pretty typical date movie. The acting is excellent though. It's not a movie I'd want to watch over and over again, but it's nice if you want something light and cute once in a while.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2006
While visiting Sweden & Denmark, I bought a heap of Scandanavian movies, "Shake it All About" being one of them. I had no idea what this movie was about, (as it was titled "En kort en lang" on the cover)

but from the moment I started watching I found it utterly charming and very funny, with some unexpected twists in the plot. I would categorize it as a gay comedy soap. The acting is great and the characters were all believable. My only gripe would be with a few bad make-up decisions, especially a less convincing moustache on a supporting character and an amateurishly assembled beard on another. But these are minor problems and did not spoil the movie for me. There are also some inside Danish showbiz jokes which "outsiders" would not understand. But a real fun movie with the kind of wonderful ending you'd expect from a romantic comedy! A movie you can watch more than once.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.