Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole idea is that we don't know much about Shakespeare... but Bryson turns that into quite a bit.
A tough assignment; write a book on a topic about which we know almost nothing, the life of William Shakespeare. Better yet, make the book about the fact that we know very little about the life of William Shakespeare. Let that book compete with thousands of others about Shakespeare. Doesn't sound like a recipe for a successful book, but Bryson has truly pulled it...
Published on November 26, 2007 by M. Strong

versus
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Facts Only But fast and Fun
Several reviewers have taken this book to task for what it is not. It is not a scholarly book and was not intended to be. It is part of the "Eminent Lives" series. The publishers tout the series as consisting of "succinct" essay-like books intended to be "short biographies for an age short on time." No book in the series (that I have seen) has any significant scholarly...
Published on August 8, 2008 by J. Moran


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole idea is that we don't know much about Shakespeare... but Bryson turns that into quite a bit., November 26, 2007
By 
M. Strong (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A tough assignment; write a book on a topic about which we know almost nothing, the life of William Shakespeare. Better yet, make the book about the fact that we know very little about the life of William Shakespeare. Let that book compete with thousands of others about Shakespeare. Doesn't sound like a recipe for a successful book, but Bryson has truly pulled it off.

Here's how.

First off, Bryson doesn't shy away from the fact that we know very little about Shakespeare, instead, he uses it to his advantage. After laying out the facts we do have about Shakespeare, Bryson turns to a description of the world in which Shakespeare lived to explain why we know so little about the man. He really brings 17th century England to life and paints a picture in which you can imagine Shakespeare operating. It's really well done and ends up being fascinating.

Second, Bryson addresses the speculation that has risen up around Shakespeare's life to fill the void of knowledge that we face. Using the information we do have about Shakespeare and the times in which he lived, he categorizes the various Shakespeare theories into more fanciful and less fanciful piles and explains why they belong there. It makes for really interesting reading.

My familiarity with and interest in Shakespeare are average to below average, and yet I found this book to be fascinating, readable and informative. It's made me more interested in Shakespeare.

Highly recommended even for those who aren't deeply interested in Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WITTY, INFOMATIVE READ THAT IS FUN TO READ TO BOOT., June 28, 2008
I am one of those individuals who enjoy Bryson's work. When I read this author's books, I get the impression that he does not take himself all that serious, much in the same way I take myself. I can relate. This little volume on the individual who is probably and arguably the greatest of all our English writers is no exception. It, as others here have pointed out, is sort of a book about nothing. By that I mean, we know almost absolute nothing of the man, William Shakespeare. We don't even know for sure how he spelled his name due to the fact that he, himself, did not spell it the same all of the time. Bryson has taken nothing and turned out a work, 196 pages of work, of something. Now if you think that is easy, try it some time.

This is not a scholarly dissertation (thank goodness) which tries to pass itself off as the beginning and end of all that was ever written about the life of Shakespeare. It is a short study of just what we do not know about him, which we find, is quite a lot! I picked up absolutely dozens and dozens of facts as to what I did not know, and until I read this book, did not realize I did not know. In addition to this I picked up some wonderful trivia (and some information that was not trivial at all) concerning the era in which Shakespeare wrote, if indeed, he wrote during that era. I had no idea of the words and phrases, which happen to number in the hundreds, which were introduced to the English Language via Shakespeare. As one reviewer has pointed out, this is really not a biography, but rather a history lesson, a lesson of little facts that you would not normally be exposed to. Bryson has done his home work and we have all benefitted from his seemingly endless curiosity.

Now for those folks who are Shakespearian scholars. This probably will not be all that much help to you; of course picking up the book, noting that it has only 196 pages, should pretty well tip you off to that fact pretty quickly. If it doesn't, perhaps you might want to find some other line of work. This is a readable book, an interesting book, written for those of us who have not made the study of Shakespeare a profession or made it an obsession, which ever the case may be. It is not a book that you can use as a substitute for a sleeping pill, as so many hard core books on this subject are. It is for those of us who are curious, and who want to know bits of this and pieces of this and that. I will say though, that by reading this work, I have gained even further appreciation for the work of Shakespeare, which says a lot, as I had already admired him greatly.

I did enjoy the last chapter or so, as it addresses the many theories of the many rather odd individuals who have been obsessed over the years, trying to prove that Shakespeare was not Shakespeare, or that someone else wrote his writings. These nut jobs seemed to have started from the beginning. The neat thing about it is, as Bryson so well points out, we know even less of the basis of their theories than we know of Shakespeare. Some of them are pretty funny though and worth taking a look.

Bryson does have a low keyed sense of humor and this fact shines through on ever page of this work. His style is easy on the eye, and in this work, there are no pretentions. It is sort of what you read is what you get. I enjoyed this one front to back and feel much richer for having read it. I did give this one five stars as I truly enjoyed it and felt, for me, it was a very worthwile book. Others may disagree with this, but hey, they can write their own review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Facts Only But fast and Fun, August 8, 2008
By 
Several reviewers have taken this book to task for what it is not. It is not a scholarly book and was not intended to be. It is part of the "Eminent Lives" series. The publishers tout the series as consisting of "succinct" essay-like books intended to be "short biographies for an age short on time." No book in the series (that I have seen) has any significant scholarly apparatus. They allow well-known writers to relate the basic facts of an "eminent" person's life and give their take on the person to the extent they think appropriate. They are like the serious essays you can find in magazines like the "New Yorker" but longer. This book fits the series's pattern.

The book relates all that is actually known about Shakespeare, points out the many things that are not known and touches on the major problem areas, including the authorship controversy. Like Jack Webb on the old "Dragnet" TV show, Bryson pretty much keeps to "just the facts" but does note many of the areas of speculation in which Shakespeare students routinely indulge. He does all this in a smooth and flowing prose and with energy and wit.

The book has no index, no scholarly footnotes and only a minimal bibliography of a few secondary sources. There is evidently little or no documentary research, although Bryson obviously read what books he should and interviewed a number of knowledgeable people for the book. He takes no position on any of the controversies except the question of authorship, on which he is a firm Stratfordian. The book is strictly about Shakespeare's life, however, and makes almost no effort to discuss the poems and plays as works of literature. Couldn't do that and keep it short.

This is an excellent book for someone who wants to begin to learn about Shakespeare's life and (to some extent) his times. And it is a fun fast read for those who want a handy and short summary of what is known and what some of the problems are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado about (virtually) Nothing, October 26, 2007
By 
S. Berner (Cocoa, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A few years ago, as a companion piece to a series of study-guides to the plays of Shakespeare, I wrote a guide called "Shakespeare and His Times".
In it I explained that virtually nothing is really known about the Bard's life and proceeded to delineate that which was, in little more than a paragraph. Bill Bryson makes the same point at the outset of "Shakespeare: The World as Stage", and then, because he is the writer he is, takes close to 200 pages to cover it. One would think that 200 pages covering "nothing" would grow tedious. One would be wrong!!! (three exclamatio points, if you please.) So charmigly does Bryson write; so entertainingly does he explicate WHY nothing is known, and how to best understand that nothing, that the book is an unending source of knowledge and delight. ANY writer can write about SOMETHING. It takes the massive talents of the Thunderbolt Kid to write this well about nothing. He makes "Seinfeld" look loquacious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In search of someone who "is at once the best known and least known of figures", October 31, 2007
Those who have read Bill Bryson's previously published A Short History of Nearly Everything already know that he has an apparently insatiable intellectual curiosity and derives great pleasure from sharing what he has learned. In A Short History, he explains why the human race may be the universe's "supreme achievement and its worst nightmare simultaneously." It comes as no surprise, therefore, that Bryson later set out in search of William Shakespeare, someone who "is at once the best known and least known of figures." To me, Bryson's quests for understanding "of nearly anything"become, for both him and his readers, adventures of discovery. That is certainly true of this, his most recent book, and yet....

As Bryson notes, Shakespeare (who never spelled his name the same way twice in the signatures that survive) remains "at once the best known and least known of figures" and that is one of the few conclusions that Bryson draws. What did Shakespeare look like? Almost immediately, Bryson acknowledges that those who wish to know "are in the curious position with William Shakespeare of having three likenesses from which all others are derived: two that aren't very good [Bryson explains why] by artists working years after his death and one that is rather more compelling as a portrait but that may well be of someone else altogether. The paradoxical consequence is that we all recognize a likeness of Shakespeare the instant we see one, and yet we don't really know what he looked like." This is an example of Bryson at the peak of his game, addressing a basic issue, sharing what is (and isn't) known about it, and then moving on to another...and then another.

As historian George Steevens once observed, all that is known about Shakespeare "is contained within a few scanty facts: that he was born in Stratford-on-Avon, produced a family there, went to London, became an actor and writer, returned to Stratford, made a will, and died. That wasn't quite true then, and it is even less so now, but it is not all that far from the truth either." At an almost leisurely pace, Bryson works his way through a wealth of historical material, carefully constructing a frame-of-reference for those "few scanty facts." For example:

"After four hundred years of dedicated hunting, researchers have found about a hundred documents relating to William Shakespeare and his immediate family - baptismal records, title deeds, tax certificates, marriage bonds, writs of attachment, court records (many court records - it was a litigious age), and so on. That's a good number as these things go, but deeds and bonds and other records are inevitably bloodless. They tell us a great deal about the business of a person's life, but almost nothing about the emotions of it."

"Nearly everyone agrees that William Shakespeare's career as a playwright began in about 1590, but there is much less agreement on which plays began it. Depending on whose authority you favor, Shakespeare's debut written offering might be any of at least eight works" and "arguments would run far deeper were it not for the existence of a small, plump [700-page] book written by one Francis Meres called Paladis Tamia: Wit's Treasury" and published in 1598. It would be of little (if any) interest were it not for "an immeasurably helpful passage" first noticed by scholars more than 200 years after Shakespeare's death, in 1616. Meres praises Shakespeare as being "most excellent among the English" in both comedy and tragedy and offers the first published mention of his plays by title.

In the last chapter, "Claimants," Bryson responds to an accusation - expressed in more than 5,000 books and many more articles -- that the plays of William Shakespeare were written by someone other than William Shakespeare. If not Shakespeare, who? Those most often suggested include Francis Bacon, the seventeenth Earl of Oxford (Edward de Vere), Christopher Marlowe, Mary Sidney, Countess of Pembroke, and William Stanley, sixth Earl of Derby. Bryson calmly rejects each of these nominees, for various reasons, noting that more than 50 candidates have been suggested as possible alternative Shakespeares, and then observes:

"The one thing all of the competing theories have in common is the conviction that William Shakespeare was in some way unsatisfactory as an author of brilliant plays. This really is quite odd. Shakespeare's upbringing, as I hope this book has shown, was not backward or in any way conspicuously deprived. His father was the mayor of a consequential town. Shakespeare lacked a university education [such as it was then in the late-16th century], to be sure, but then so did Ben Jonson - a far more intellectual playwright - and no one ever suggests that Jonson was a fraud."

Bryson concludes this chapter and his book as follows: "When we reflect upon the works of William Shakespeare it is of course an amazement to consider that one man could have produced such a sumptuous, wise, varied, thrilling, ever-delighting body of work, but that is of course the hallmark of genius. Only one man had the circumstances and gifts to give us such incomparable works, and William Shakespeare of Stratford was unquestionably that man - whoever he was."

Earlier, I suggested that Bill Bryson possesses an apparently insatiable intellectual curiosity and derives great pleasure from sharing what he has learned in the various books he has written. His quests for gaining understanding "of nearly anything" become, for both him and his readers, adventures of discovery. That is certainly true of his biography of Shakespeare...or whoever he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool analysis of William Shakespeare, July 7, 2008
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one volume in the series "Eminent Lives." After having read this book, I am interested in exploring this series further.

William Shakespeare, of course, was a great playwright, whether of comedy or tragedy, and a fine poet as well. Bill Bryson, the author of this slender volume, notes how little we actually know of Shakespeare, when he says (Page 7): ". . .all we know about Shakespeare is contained within a few scanty facts: that he was born in Stratford-upon-Avon, produced a family there, went to London, became an actor and writer, returned to Stratford, made a will, and died." After 400 years, the author observes, there are only about a hundred documents speaking to the Bard of Avon and his family.

The book begins by exploring what little is known about Shakespeare's early years (by the way, one cool point in this book is the multiple spellings of his name over time; Shakespeare himself spelled it differently at different points in time). The introductory comments also note something absolutely amazing: zillions of plays were written and performed in Shakespeare's time. Of the total number, only about 230 texts still exist--of which 15% are by Shakespeare, a stunning percentage. We know more about his work than any other playwright of the era.

The book is organized by time period. Chapter 2 examines the years from 1564-1585, Shakespeare's youth. The chapter begins with an effort to understand his father's life (John Shakespeare) as well as that of his mother (Mary Arden). We have little information on the Bard--his birth certificate, his marriage certificate (with Anne Hathaway), birth certificates for his children--during this period. From 1585 to 1592, Chapter 3 suggests, little is known about Shakespeare. Chapter 4 considers his early years in London. He began as an actor and turned, over time, into an author of plays. In 1592, he had even earned in a publication the scorn of a critic. By 1594, his theatrical troupe, the Lord Chamberlain's Men, had become one of the major forces in theater, including leading actors of the day.

Subsequent chapters consider his plays, his business success (he did well as a joint owner of the troupe and the Globe Theater), his sonnets, what little we know of his family life (his son, Hamnet, died in his early youth). He was successful under Queen Elizabeth and, after her death, King James I, who viewed many of his performances. A number of contentious issues are addressed, including Shakespeare's sexuality, his relationship with his wife and family. There is even a brief description of the debates over whether Shakespeare actually wrote the works attributed to him. Finally, the end game of his life. . . .

If one wishes a brief introduction to the life of Shakespeare (with a dash of wit thrown in by the author), this is a good place to start. Nicely written and well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best Biography of Shakespeare, November 17, 2007
By 
Mark Taylor (Kiev, Ukkraine) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an avid reader of Bryson and a scholar of Shakespeare, I was very eager to read Bill Bryson's recent biography of the Bard of Avon. In the last year, I have read 3 other biographies of Shakespeare as well as one about his contemporaries. I also visited Stratford and the Globe Theater in London last year. Bryson wrote this book with his usual humorous and conscise prose. It is clear-headed, without hype and the usual baloney found in works about Shakespeare. This book is straight-forward, well-researched, and "amazingly without error." So many biographies of Shakespeare are more a projection than an explorationg of a life of which we know very little. There are none of the usual "he probably did this," "he must have done that," "he surely did something else," which normally fluff out typical biographies of Shakespeare. He also successfully addresses the silly notion that somebody else wrote the plays, an issue which Bryson handles perfectly. This book should be placed in the most prominant spot in both the museum bookstore in Stratford as well as the replica Globe theater museum bookstore in London. It's the only biography worth reading. I cannot find fault with either Bryson's scholarship or his interpretation of Shakespeare's life. Thank God, he didn't try to embellish this book as so many others have done. Once again, he has earned my respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sonnet on this Biography, February 16, 2009
Bryson's tale of our Will's good life,
His death, his plays and his poetry.
Can be summ'd up thus: he had a wife,
He wrote some stuff, the rest is all mystery.

Unlike all those, we learn, who came before
Bryson will not invent glorious fiction,
For Shakespeare's story without the made-up gore
'Still full o' glory, triumph, farce and friction.

So we read the facts, of which there are few,
Embellish'd only by "historical context".
Tall tales are cut short, and short hearsay too
Leaving us wiser with our all facts checked.

For none's more accurate about our Will,
Than Bryson, the new scribe: Our Charming Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's typical Bryson, and by that, I mean great..., April 3, 2008
If you're the type of person who would normally walk past a biography on Shakespeare because...well...it's a biography on Shakespeare, give this book a chance. If you're the type of person who's thinking, "Not another biography on Shakespeare," give this book a chance. And I'll give you one excellent reason: Bryson wrote it.

Bryson starts out by telling us that we know little about Shakespeare, and therefore, his book is going to be succinct. And while it is that, it is also rich with well-researched detail, a palpable canvas of 16th and 17th-Century England and 16th and 17th-Century theatre, and Bryson's normal intelligent wit.

This book is a quick, fun, and educational read. And to think I only picked it up because Bill Bryson wrote it. I would have walked right past it otherwise. Well, maybe I'd have picked it up if David McCullough wrote it, but then it would have been 800 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts, sir; and maybe a sense of humor, too, if you don't mind., February 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read TONS of books on Shakespeare--at least two major scholarly tomes a year. And I read Shakespeare constantly. I'll even see a bad movie of a Shakespeare play--or one of these "drive by," based-on type plays that leave me shaking my head wondering if we're working from different texts. That's how big my Shakespeare jones is. But when I first saw that Bill Bryson wrote a book on Shakespeare (I was looking for something more sober and scholarly) one eyebrow went up--way up. Bill Bryson? THE Bill Bryson? The guy whose other books--smart, humorous, 'this is life the way it is, so we might as well get a laugh out of it'--I adore? Is he some sort of closet Shakespeare scholar or something? Well, not necessarily. But this book was a major treat. Apparently, this is one of a series of short, 200-page bios on major historical characters by major contemporary writers (like the Penguin Series 10 years ago). The goal is to be popular, but factual. And boy does Bryson pull that off. There are so many theories about Shakespeare's life, the earth nearly looks level. Bryson brings a sober-eyed, tongue-in-cheek perspective to the problem, from "London in the time of..." to "Shakespeare since Shakespeare." That being said, this shouldn't be your first Shakespeare bio. Get one of those hefty tomes that will have your eyes crossed and your head swimming with academic scholarly conjecture and "I know more than you've ever dreamed of knowing"-ism. Then read the Bryson as an antidote. The final chapter about all the "Shakespeare didn't write Shakespeare" theories alone is worth the price of the book. After a brief exposition on the arguments, Bryson concludes: that de Vere, the Earl of Oxford "anticipated his own death [in 1604] and left a stock of work sufficient to keep the supply of new plays flowing at the same rate [as Will was already cranking them out] until Shakespeare himself was ready to die a decade or so later. Now that IS genius!"; that Marlow "had the requisite talent, and would certianly have had ample leisure after 1593, assuming he was't too dead to work."; regarding the Countess of Pembrook, "All that is missing to connect her with Shakespeare is anything to connect her with Shakespeare." Thank you, Bill, for the great read, and thank you Harper Collins/Atlas Books for pairing these two together. I'm ready for another 30 years of reading Shakespeare scholarship. Now, to get them to assign Augustin Burroughs to Suleiman the Magnificent and David Sedaris to Jesus. Them's two books I'd buy for all my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shakespeare: The World as Stage
Shakespeare: The World as Stage by Bill Bryson (Audio CD - October 21, 2008)
$14.99 $11.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.